Humans logo

7 Celebrities Who Secretly Got Married (Photos)

"I don't like to share our best moments, they belong to us."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 6 min read

"I don't like to share our best moments, they belong to us."

Love. It's a complicated thing. And when your love story is being played out in front of the public eye, it becomes even more complicated.

Celebrities have to deal with the public scrutiny and opinions about whoever they're romantically linked with. Are they too fat? Too slim? Too big? Too small? The internet is always willing and ready to provide their opinions solicited or not, and so for these celebrities, when it came to their big day, they decided to keep it quiet.

Here are my picks today for 7 Celebrities Who Secretly Got Married.

Before you jump in, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new interesting articles and lists that I post every single day.

1. Linda Ejiofor and Ibrahim Suleiman

Linda Ejiofor and hubby, Ibrahim Suleiman, were friends even before she and best friend, Adesua Etomi, convinced Ibrahim to audition for Tinsel.

During their time filming Tinsel, both Linda and Ibrahim grew closer but Ibrahim was afraid of expressing his feelings to Linda for fear that he might ruin the friendship. However, he later went on to express his feelings to her and her feelings were the same towards him.

While shooting the movie Up North, Ibrahim missed Linda so much that he made up his mind to marry her. He eventually mustered up the courage to ask her and 6 weeks later, they tied the knot in a simple private event filled with family and friends alone.

2. Simi and Adekunle Gold

Simi and Adekunle Gold kept pretty much everything about their relationship private up until the day they got married. Despite the rumors and speculations, the couple never quite confirmed or denied their relationship.

When their song, Promise, dropped in January of 2019 with the accompanying video that contained footage from their wedding, Nigerians were shook! We couldn't believe it.

On the 1st year anniversary of their wedding, Simi wrote a public letter to Adekunle Gold on her Instagram. She said:

Pretty baby. The very thing that you mean to me, I doubt you’ll ever fully understand. I don’t like to share our best moments, because they belong to us – so people might never even know the level of your special. It’s a really high level that is higher than other levels. No one is more in sync with me than you.

I love how you’re mindful of me. Nothing’s perfect. Not even with your Ikotun background 🤦🏾‍♀️ – but I love how you deliberately want to be better. You will see something inside film and ask me at 2am how you can be a better man for me. Lol. So cute a man.

Before we said I do, 95% of the advice I got was “Endure”. I was stumped cos I’ve never been able to relate. Endure? Forever and ever? Like till the end of your days? Lol. Quite rubbish. Thank you for never ever being someone I’ve ever had to endure.

Don’t like it much when people “couplegoals” us – cos as far as I’m concerned, we, i.e me and you, are on a personal journey. Our ups our downs (Olorun o ni je ka rogun down), our growth, our learning and unlearning, our Love (aww) is our story. Everyone’s standard should be their best self. Thank you for being someone that makes me want to be my best self.

Moruf, thank you for Year One. They said it’s normally hard. Again, I can’t relate because I loved it. I love you. I pray year two is even better by God’s infinite mercy and grace and love. I thank God for standing with us and giving us sense. And I thank you for being a man that makes loving you worth it. My beautiful dreamboat. My fellow feminist boyfriend. My husband. Ife mi. Onitemi. The love of my life. I will continue to eat your work in the eye of carton. 🥂 to all the forevers we will spend together.

3. Funke Akindele and JJC Skillz

Funke Akindele and her now-husband JJC Skillz tied the knot in 2016 in a private wedding ceremony held in London. Till today, not too many details or pictures from the wedding have emerged. However on their 1st wedding anniversary, both Funke and JJC Skillz had some sweet words to say.

JJC said:

One of the happiest days in my life ?I married my beautiful wife @funkejenifaakindele one year ago today. In blink of an eye 365 days flew by. May all the days of our lives be happy and filled with adventure. Love you my queen #marryyourbestfriend #oneyearanniversary

and Funke said:

It’s been you oh Lord!! Thank God for another year together! Happy anniversary to us boo. You are the best Bola! @jjcskillz ❤️❤️??? #happyweddinganniversary #allglorytoGod

4. D'Banj

D'Banj's wedding to his wife Lineo Didi Kilgrow was so private that up until today, we haven't seen any official pictures. All we know is that the wedding took place in his family home in Maryland, Lagos while a traditional wedding was done in Jos, Plateu State.

Speaking to the BEAT Fm about his decision to keep his big day so private, the singer said:

I decided to keep my marriage to Didi a secret because based on experience, relationships like this get mixed with media hypes and speculations and then it becomes complicated.

You know the pressure to get married was this high and mum told me she wanted to see the girl I was dating and would want to marry. I told her that there was this babe and we didn’t want to marry yet but she insisted that she was the one for me that we should have a small ceremony and the rest is history. I’m glad I listened to her.

5. Di'Ja

Di'Ja as we all now know is the queen of keeping everything private. The singer got married in 2015 and had a baby in 2016 yet official pictures of the wedding never came out until 2017.

The singer finally addressing it, said:

2015 I became a wife, 2016 I became a mother. 2017 we are all alive and well and ready to KICK ASS. I want to thank @bighstudios for giving us amazing pictures with our families and friends. @mamzabeauty @adunola.a for dolling me up on our wedding DAY and @maureen_oooo for creating all 4 outfits and change of clothes. To my wedding decorator (will confirm handle), You created a fairytale environment. My family, friends and Mavin records for all the support! Thank you all for your kindness and respect. Ma shaaAllah

I LOVE MY LIFE ANYTIME IM WITH YOU… To my fans.. thank you

6. Agbani Darego

Miss World 2001 and fashion icon, Agbani Darego tied the knot to her longtime lover, Ishaya Danjuma, in Marrakesh, Morocco early 2017.

The wedding was very intimate and attended by only close friends and family. Just how the couple wanted it.

7. Toke Makinwa

When Toke Makinwa got married to her husband, Maje Ayida, on January 15, 2014, she kept it so lowkey, she had to eventually apologize to family and friends who got to know about the wedding with the rest of the world when the news and pictures hit.

She said after the wedding:

On the 15th of January 2014, I got married to my lover and Best Friend. It was such an intimate event, I haven’t stopped apologising to family and friends who feel slighted that they could not attend. I really did not wish to keep it a secret, if anything we would have loved to have all our loved ones there with us but this was our registry and so much had happened between Maje and I in the last 3 months. Plus, it was such a huge surprise, I had no clue. I hate surprises but I must say, this one knocked me out of my elements because I usually suspect something is happening. Hehehehe! I am not fully over it yet.

Relationships are tough, people go through the ups and downs and we as a couple have had our share of that. Having a private moment was not to offend anyone, it was God’s appointed time and No, I am not pregnant. Lol. Having a baby is a precious gift from God and when that time is right, I am sure he will bless us with ours.

The couple officially divorced in late 2017.

THAT'S ALL.

I hope you've enjoyed reading this article.

To make sure you don't miss out on any future articles that I know you'll love, be sure to like and follow me on Facebook.

To read other interesting articles right now, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.