Humans logo

5 Nollywood Actresses Who Have Been Bestowed With Honorary Degrees (Photos)

Congratulations to these women!

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

An honorary degree is an accolade that a university awards a person after waiving traditional requirements for the candidate. It is usually given to people of influence and celebrities, and nowadays, our own Nigerian celebrities are being called all over the world to also receive these honorary degrees. Today, we'll be counting down 5 Nollywood actresses who have been bestowed with honorary degrees. Are you ready? Let's go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Sola Sobowale

The first actress on today's list is Nollywood icon, Sola Sobowale. The beloved actress was awarded with an honorary doctorate degree of philosophy from Estam University in Benin Republic. Taking to social media to announce the good news, Sola Sobowale wrote saying:

SOLA SOBOWALE: Welcome to a new dispensation - Sola Sobowale is now a Doctor. Big thank you to Estam University for this honour. Doctor of Philosophy in Arts.

2. Adesua Etomi-Wellington

Another Nollywood actress who has been conferred with the gift of an honorary degree is Gangs of Lagos actress, Adesua Etomi-Wellington. Adesua was awarded with a Doctor of Arts honorary degree by the University of Wolverhampton in the UK. Speaking about the honorary degree, Adesua Etomi-Wellington said:

ADESUA ETOMI-WELLINGTON: My experience at Wolverhampton was literally life-changing – it is the foundation upon which my career has been built. When I enrolled on my course in 2006 I was not confident at all. There is a silent confidence in that comes as a result of being informed and being knowledgeable. I was taught to believe in my natural abilities but also put those abilities to good use. I was taught that talent is great but you need to be hard working to achieve. This award is very humbling for me and I hope that it inspires prospective and current students to pursue careers in the creative industries.

3. Tiwa Savage

Nigerian musician and actress in such productions as Shuga, Jenifa's Diary, and her upcoming movie Water & Garri, Tiwa Savage, is another woman who has also been given an honorary degree. Tiwa received her honorary doctorate from the University of Kent in Canterbury, England where she was honored as a Doctor of Music. Speaking about receiving the degree, Tiwa Savage said:

TIWA SAVAGE: I am proud to be receiving this [honorary degree] alongside my fellow honoraries at this great university. My prayer is that you one day will stand like this addressing students because you too have gone out into the world… and you never gave up.

4. Hilda Dokubo

Another Nollywood legend who has also been given an honorary degree is the one and only Hilda Dokubo who received an honorary degree last year. Hilda's doctorate degree came from ISTM University in Togo where she was awarded as a Doctor of Literature in Leadership and Human Development. Taking to social media to share the news, Hilda Dokubo said:

HILDA DOKUBO: Keep doing what you are doing, you never know who is watching.

5. Nancy Isime

Finally, Nollywood actress Nancy Isime just this past week was also awarded with an honorary degree from Prowress University in Delaware, USA. Taking to Instagram, the actress wrote saying:

NANCY ISIME: Yesterday, I was conferred an Honorary Doctorate in Arts and Philosophy by Prowress University Delaware, USA in conjunction with Leadtimes Africa Magazine. I was also awarded the Leadtime Africa leadership prize for Quality Service Delivery and Professionalism. I’m beyond honored and grateful for this great consideration. To God be the glory!

Congratulations to all these ladies, and especially the most recent receipent Nancy Isime on their honorary degrees. Let me know what you think by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.