Humans logo

5 Celebrity Couples Who Didn't Fall in Love At First Sight

Even they didn't see this coming.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Not every love story starts with love at first sight. Sometimes, the people we end up falling in love with are people who we would normally never go for or people who upon first meeting didn't find all that impressive.

Here are 5 Nigerian celebrity couples who didn't fall in love at first sight but are now either in long-term relationships or married.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Lateef Adedimeji and Mo Bimpe

Nollywood actors Lateef Adedimeji and Mo Bimpe got married to each other just last month. However in an earlier interview that Mo Bimpe did, she said categorically about Lateef:

I can never mary Lateef Adedimeji, he is not my type, and he is like a brother to me. I can never marry a man that is popular. My ideal man is someone that is very low-key.

From not being her type and like a brother to her to now being her husband. Look at life!

2. Ireti Doyle and Patrick Doyle

Ireti and Patrick Doyle are another Nollywood couple that have been together for many years. Speaking about her initial thoughts about him, Ireti said:

I met him at my first official audition in Lagos State because I had done a production in Jos, Plateau State, before then. School was shut for a very long time; I was bored, I told a friend, this is what I wanted to do and she said I have somebody who can help, lets go to him. We went and he said there is an audition the following week. He asked me to come and try if I could get the role. The moment I walked into the room on the day of the audition, I became intimidated because people seated in that room that day were very big names, people I grew up watching. Names like Yemi Solade, Funsho Alabi, Justus Esiri, Joe Adekwa and then Patrick Doyle himself. That was the very first time we met, and it was purely business for many years before one thing led to another.

Initially, dating him was gauche. The first time he even mentioned that he was attracted to me, my inner reaction was like amusing. In the course of work, when we are done, we do go out for lunch, and it didn’t mean anything to me because we were three then and later we were two. It didn’t occur to me because all my time working, I was treated like a boy. The few days I wore a dress to work; the guys would sit and make fun of me. He told me of his attraction during lunch, and my first reaction was, oh no! And I was having so much fun here, where am I going to get another job? Where I could learn everything as I was doing? I spent a lot of time trying to tell him why this would not be healthy for the work and he said no. He was sure it would work out. So, he took his time to convince me.

3. Banky W and Adesua Etomi

Despite being one of Nigeria's most celebrated couple, Banky W admits that the first couple of times he saw Adesua, he didn't even pay attention to her. He said in an essay on Instagram:

We crossed paths 2 or 3 times since 2012, but I wasn't paying enough attention. Destiny was staring me right in the face and I was too caught up in my own hustle and paper chase, to know it. In June 2015 however, God brought you my way again, and this time, I really SAW you. I was smitten by your grace, aura, and beauty. So smitten infact, that even though I didn't get to say a word to you that day (because you were seated far across the room), I immediately called my best friend @captdemuren and told him I'd found my next girlfriend.

4. Temi Otedola and Mr. Eazi

Singer Mr. Eazi and actress Temi Otedola have been dating for quite some time now. What is a fun fact to know though is that upon their first meeting, Temi thought Mr. Eazi was an asshole. She said about the encounter:

Someone had told me “I’m gonna go do something in the club, I brought my friend here so just make sure he’s okay, give him drinks, he came on his own.” Me being someone who likes to be friendly to strangers I was like “Heyyy do you live in London? Can I get you a drink? What have you been up to?” I was just on my usual cute, let’s be nice, let’s meet people vibes. And I was like this guy is an asshole like why is he being so rude?

5. Simi and Adekunle Gold

Finally, beloved Nigerian singers Simi and Adekunle Gold are a powerhouse couple. However, while Adekunle really liked Simi before even meeting her, the first time she saw him, it wasn't love at first sight for her. Simi said:

He was chasing me all over Facebook and everything. No seriously, cause when I was still doing gospel music, he used to listen to my songs. He sent me messages on Facebook, that's how he reached out to me. I didn't know him at the time, I didn't respond.

First time I ever saw him I was supposed to do a show at Bogobiri and he said "I'm going to be there", I said "Oh sure" and then he actually came and I was like who is this skinny boy (laughs)

That’s the first time I ever met him, then over the years we were friends, and then…

And then indeed!

It's so fun reading these kinds of stories. I really enjoy them. Which one of them was your best of the bunch? Let me know by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.