Humans logo

3 Nigerian Celebrities Who Died This Week (Photos)

May the souls of these departed rest in perfect peace

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What is going on for goodness' sake? Over the last week, I have heard more news of death than I have heard at any other stretch of time this year. Please let us all just be safe out there, check up on loved ones, keep praying for yourself and those around you. Because these stories are devastating and so so hard to swallow.

In this past week alone, actually more specifically, over the last 4 days, not one, not two, but THREE Nigerian celebrities have been announced dead. Today, I'm taking time out to remember these lost souls, talk about them as well so their memory is not lost, and inform you also in case you do not know about what has been going on. Without further ado, let's get into this very heartbreaking list.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Sammie Okposo

This made the most headlines this past week. On the 25th of November, 2022, it was announced that Nigerian gospel singer Sammie Okposo who was best known for making such hit songs as 'Welu Welu', 'Oluwa E Tobi', 'Na Only You I Know', and more had passed on.

According to initial reports, Sammie Okposo cause of death was revealed as being that he "slumped and died", but according to new reports from Flourish Peters, the lead pastor of LOGIC church, that wasn't exactly the case. According to Flourish:

On Friday, I received a troubling call around 4.45am – a call I wish I never received. But it is what it is. It was Ozy Okposo on the other side of the phone saying ‘Sammie, wake up in Jesus name’. So, contrary to what blogs reported, he did not slump and die. He sat on the chair watching TV, before sleeping. But never went back upstairs to sleep. From his sleep, he slept into glory. I went there and saw the body. I conducted CPR and hit him hard. But nobody sees Jesus and looks away. It becomes challenging when a believer crosses over to the other side. It is deeply painful for me. I feel hurt.

2. Slami Ifeanyi

Nigerian singer, songwriter, and former Mr. Anambra Universe Slami Ifeanyi was just today also announced dead. According to reports, the 31 year old singer was driving his newly acquired Lexus 330, when he was attacked and shot dead at Umubere, Awka area of Anambra State.

The news was shared by Facebook user, Chijioke Okanmelu, who said:

Am Speechless When I Got The New Of Your Death IFEANYI, But Am Still Not Believe Yet Because This Is Not What We Discuss On Phone Last Week, What Do You Want Your Dad And Your Mum To Do ? You Don't Even Remember Your Sister Your Adanne That Leave With You? I can Not Question God, REST IN PEACE SLAMI,IFEANYI

3. Yemi The Plug

Finally, also just today again, another very young man, social media influencer Yemi The Plug was also announced dead. According to reports, he suffered from an asthma attack last night and was rushed to the University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital where he died.

This particular story is just so hard for me to write. Loss is so painful and so inexplicable, especially when it is so sudden and just out of nowhere. Ah! May the soul of these departed rest in perfect peace. I truly hope and pray this is the last death announcement post I would have to make this year.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.