Humans logo

22 Nigerian Celebrities React to News of Sound Sultan's Passing

"I refuse to accept this"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago β€’ 4 min read
Like

When I opened my phone this morning to scroll through Facebook, the last news I was expecting to read was that one of my favorite Nigerian artistes, Sound Sultan is no longer with us.

News broke on Sunday, the 11th of July through Dr. Kayode Fasasi in a statement released on behalf of the Fasasi family. The statement reads:

It is with a heavy heart that we announce the passing of Multi-talented veteran singer, rapper, songwriter, Onlanrewaju Fasasi a.k.a Sound Sultan.

He passed away at the age of 44 following a hard-fought battle with Angioimmunoblastic T-cell Lymphoma.

He is survived by his wife, 3 children, and his siblings. We, his family appreciate the utmost privacy as we come to grips with this tragic loss.

My heart is completely shattered by this news and I know that I'm not alone. Nigerians everywhere have taken to social media to express their sorrow at such a sudden and unexpected loss.

Taking to his last Instagram post, a number of fans and celebrities used that space to express their pain. This is how 21 celebrities reacted.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Femi Kuti

I am shocked and very SAD reading this news ( in the daily punch news paper )of the passing of Sound Sultan HE IS FAMILY 😞😞😞😞 I pray our Creator give his family strength at this time😞.

2. Ubi Franklin

What is going on please? Sound sultan? How?

3. Jhybo

NO I refuse to accept this πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”

4. Jumabee

Oh nooooooo this wasn't what you promised me πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”

5. Justin UG

Nooooo wayyyyyyπŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”

6. Real Warri Pikin

Omg😒😒😒😒😒😒😒

7. Duke of Spades

Greatness will never be forgotten πŸ”₯

8. Roby Ekpo

Oh Lord!!! No!! 😭😭😭😭 Your greatness lives forever❀️❀️❀️❀️

9. Omalicha 55

This hurts so deep 😒😒😒

10. Nikki Laoye

My brother, gosh, pls say something. Hope this isn't true πŸ˜”πŸ˜”πŸ˜”. We still chatted recently . πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”

11. Soso Soberekon

Tired of hearing bad news

12. Broda Shaggi

What!!!!!!πŸ’”πŸ₯Ί Rest on brother. Your music, your personality, your influence shall never be forgotten. My heart feels heavy and I don’t even know how to feel at this moment. Rest In Peace brother till we meet again πŸ•Šβ€οΈ

13. Chioma Akpotha

You knew Sultan , you knew and that's why you posted this 😒 . Rest in Power !

14. IK Ogbonna

You were a great man … a true champion and most of all a human being . Rest in power legend

15. Uche Nnaji

Hopefully this your last post and message would help us ALL become better humans to ourselves .

Social media is turning us to monsters , WE ALL must learn to appreciate people while they are alive as we can do better as humans.

Suddenly. those who find it too hard to CELEBRATE BIRTHDAYS and LIFE on their pages find it very convenient to post pictures of same person when gone .

.

Who and what is doing this to us really???πŸ’”

16. Simi Esiri

God! πŸ™πŸ½πŸ’”πŸ•Š We prayed, we hoped for the best. 😒 God please receive him with open arms. My thoughts and prayers are with his entire family. Rest in perfect peace big bro. God take absolute control. πŸ™πŸ½πŸ’”

17. Mercy Aigbe

This breaks my heart 😫 rest on King 😒

18. Lynxx

Love u brother…. Thanks for always being a light. Your Legacy is Forever Sulty! Can’t believe im writing this but in God we trust. Sleep well my brother. πŸ•Š πŸ•Š πŸ’›

19. DJ Neptune

Rest in Paradise πŸ•ŠπŸ•ŠπŸ•ŠπŸ•ŠπŸ•ŠπŸ•Š Egbo

20. M.I

πŸ•―β™₯️

21. Comfort Fedoke

Rest In Peace sir! This is a sad day....but I’m so thankful to have a met you and was blessed for our friendship...

22. Korede Bello

πŸ•ŠπŸ€

May the beautiful and perfect soul of the very beloved Sound Sultan rest in abundant peace. We love you and we will all miss you. Thank you so much for the amazing music you blessed us with in your time.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

πŸŽ₯ Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

πŸ“€ Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.