Humans logo

1 Yr Later Oxlade Reveals What Happened to Him Behind The Scenes After His Tape Leaked

Oxlade speaks about his scandal a year later

By Jide OkonjoPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1

In February of 2022, Nigerian singer Oxlade was hit with scandal when intimate videos he had recorded of himself, and his sex tape were leaked on the internet. At the time, Oxlade said nothing about the scandal except for one statement he made that said "I am conscious that my business is out in the public and I am not the type of person to put my personal business out there. Betrayals are very real and in this same token I want to apologize to the woman in the video, who did not deserve this type of exposure and lastly apologies to my fans and well wishers."

That was all the singer said at the time. Not too long after this, his song Ku Lo Sa blew up and the conversation around the tape leaked. Now, over one year after, Oxlade is talking a little bit more about the tape scandal and what it actually cost him during a new interview with Tea With Tay. Here's what Oxlade said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Oxlade during interview

Speaking about his tape leaking and performing Ku Lo Sa two days after that, Oxlade said:

OXLADE: I performed Ku Lo Sa at the Colors show two days after my scandal broke out. Depressed, rejected, outcast, done for. A boy that has accepted defeat and just wants to just sing. If you can watch the performance, I did not open my eyes all through the performance, I dey my realm. Two days after that, I went into rehab. It's not like I was even balanced so Ku Lo Sa is like in your lowest times, God can still bless you. It drowned that conversation, I did not even explain. I don't still explain and I will never explain. As long as mankind dey shit and mess, and they no dey explain, who am I?

"But how did all of it [the scandal] make you feel? Did you lose friendships? Did you lose stuff? What was the mental state you were in post-scandal?"

OXLADE: Beyond friendships, I lost endorsement deals. Brands just dey send me mail - "it's not healthy to be affiliated with you right now" - but that's the game for you. Na who dey hot wey people wan lick their soap. Na life. So like basically, it taught me a lesson that no matter how talented you are, if you go fall, you go fall. And when you go rise, you go rise.

What do you think about what Oxlade said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey7 months ago

    it is nice that he apologized to the young woman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.