Horror logo

Wifey

A short Story

By Sara WilsonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
7

Saturday night. The most lucrative night of the week and the easiest time for me to get what I needed while mostly staying under the radar. I would have to leave after tonight though. It was a small town and people were beginning to talk.

I didn't need to work hard to make myself look enticing, that part came naturally. In fact, I had to work on making myself appear less attractive than I actually was. So, that's what I was doing.

I stood in front of the mirror in the dirty hotel room caking on makeup to hide my beauty rather than to enhance it. I smudged on some black eyeshadow, applied three clumpy coats of black mascara and layered on a a few coats of clear lip gloss. I ran my hand through my blonde hair and sprayed an unnecessary amount of hair spray over it. I slipped into a purple dress that hugged every curve of my perfect body and slipped my feet into a strappy pair of heels before dousing myself with perfume, which was another step to making myself less attractive. My natural scent was more enticing than any perfume you could buy.

I headed out the door empty handed. My purse would just be in the way and I didn't need my cell phone going off in the middle of a job. I stepped into the night and closed my eyes letting my instincts take over. The air was heavy with moisture and I could smell the booze in the air. It was about 1:30 a.m. Everyone would be pretty drunk by now. The timing couldn't be more perfect. I ran to the bar a few streets over, stopping at the front door to prepare myself for the perfect entrance.

I pulled the door open and started to switch my hips back and forth as I strutted past the sea of drunks. As usual, every eye was on me. I pretended not to notice. They couldn't help but to stare. It wasn't often they saw someone as beautiful as me. They weren't used to it. Poor guys. I almost felt sorry for them. I walked to the end of the bar and propped myself up onto a stool, looking around the room for my target.

I always had my pick of the room. I never had to settle for less than I wanted. Looking from face to face, I couldn't help but smirk a little watching as they tried to quickly avert their eyes like they weren't staring at me. As if they had a choice. I could just hear their thoughts as I scanned each face. The things I knew they were thinking would make a normal woman blush the deepest shade of red. But I wasn't normal, I was used to being the center of attention by now.

There he was. At the pool table. He was wearing a white t-shirt and some ripped up blue jeans. Simple. Perfect. I could see a few tattoos on his arms and neck. His blue eyes flicked up to me as he sunk the 8 ball. I got up from my seat and started towards him, being careful not to move too quickly. I leaned up against the pool table and batted my eye lashes at him. "Can you teach me how to play?" I asked him, biting my bottom lip. He smirked as he chalked his pool cue. "I don't think you could keep up with me." He replied. "You should ask someone else."

Well this was a first, I hadn't been this taken aback for months. I always got my way. I hadn't heard the word "No" in almost a year and I wouldn't settle for it tonight. This guy smelled amazing. He was even attractive. Something I wasn't used to in this small town. Those lips. Perfect. His body. Muscular but lean. So sexy. He would be mine before the night was over. "Oh, come on." I smiled at him. "Just one game?" He tipped back his whiskey and smiled. "Seriously, there's plenty of other people here to choose from." He smirked and then literally shooed me away with his hand.

Was I some kind of annoying animal?! I was outraged. I could feel my body tense up. I wanted to rip his face off. This wouldn't do at all. I grabbed his pool cue and ripped it from his hands. "One game." I wasn't asking anymore. He would be mine. He was so close to my face I could smell the whiskey on his breath and literally hear his heart pumping blood through that perfectly toned body.

"Fine." He shrugged. "It's your funeral." He pulled his pool cue from my hand and racked up the balls. "You break." I smiled. I knew this would be easy. I was perfect at literally everything. I grabbed a pool cue and playfully pushed him out of the way. His skin was burning hot. I wasn't used to that. I mean, I knew I looked good enough to get blood flowing, but I was impressing even myself tonight. I bent over the table seductively and looked him right in the eyes as I broke and pocketed every single ball on the table with ease.

"What do I win?" I smiled. He rolled his eyes. "What do you want?" "Dinner." I held my hand out to him. He shrugged. I grabbed his hand and we headed towards the door.

"So," He began as we walked down the dark street. "How much do you normally charge?" I laughed. I knew he was interested. He was harder to read than most guys but I knew he was holding back. "Let's talk about fees later." I said, "I'm starving." He nodded. "Ok... so is there some kind of coupon for me buying you dinner? Do I get 15 percent off?" He laughed. I rolled my eyes. This prostitute look sometimes worked a little too well. I know I brought it on myself, but I still got annoyed sometimes.

I pulled him along behind me. This was probably far enough. "This is where you want to eat?" He asked skeptically looking up and down the dark street. I smiled. "I just can't wait any longer to sink my teeth into you." I put my arms on those strong sexy shoulders and opened my mouth to reveal my extended canines. His blood would taste absolutely amazing. I had never heard a heart pump that strong. His blood smelled so clean which was a pleasant alternative to what I was used to. Most blood I'd indulged on lately had traces of drugs all through out it.

I looked at that muscular neck, my eyes fixed on that vein pulsing that hot liquid gold my body was aching for. My throat was burning. I couldn't wait to put out the fire. I thrusted my head forward, my mouth filling up with venom in anticipation for the reward I was about to receive.

My head suddenly stopped just centimeters away from his neck. My lips could feel the heat radiating from his flesh. What in the world was my hair caught on? Whatever it was pulled me back violently and a hand grabbed me by the chin from behind turning my face to look at them. "He's taken, Sweetheart." The woman's green eyes pierced my blue ones like a knife. She pushed me onto the ground. This was the first time I'd felt weak since I'd turned. I sat there on the ground for a minute, stunned, and took her all in.

She had dirty blonde hair and porcelain skin. She was wearing a black dress with matching stilettos and a sparkling diamond ring on her finger. "Stupid newborns." the woman said, "So messy." I hopped up quickly, getting ready to run. She grabbed me before I could even take a step. I looked towards the man who I thought would be my dinner. His eyes were glowing yellow. "What are you?" I asked.

"You don't get to ask the questions." The woman said. "We live here.. and you're making it really hard to do that with bodies drained of blood turning up every weekend. I tried to pull away. "Give it up." She said. No one was stronger than me. I was a newborn. I was supposed to have some kind of super strength for years according to the other vampires I'd met.. and killed. How was this possible?

"I'm not just a vampire."

She laughed. "I'm not just a vampire." She said. "Are you?" I began. "Reading your mind?" She finished. "Yes." She smiled again. Her mouth was full of razor sharp teeth. Her green eyes switched back and forth from green to the same glowing yellow the man had. "I'm a hybrid." she whispered in my ear as she dug her fangs into my neck draining me of what little supply of blood I had left. She twisted my head completely around. I heard the bones snap and my body crumpled to the ground.

I watched in horror, unable to move my body, as her mate released a howl into the night. She stepped over my body effortlessly and walked towards him, her mouth dripping with my life blood. I laid there watching them kiss as the world faded to black.

fiction
7

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was amazing! Loved the twist!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.