Horror logo

Why not try a BEDTIME STORY instead?

Not quite the old fashioned way

By BeckyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.colourbox.com%2Fimage%2Fscary-dark-scenery-with-naked-trees-full-moon-and-clouds-image-2032733&psig=AOvVaw2u3mzyNdDa5EBvMS5J2elC&ust=1616682167980000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCJjbq8WQye8CFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

Have you ever experienced something that you just couldn’t quite figure out? Well not in a scientific or logical way but to you was as real as being alive! Do you still think about it? Has it left you confused and wondering exactly what it was you had seen, felt, heard or even interacted with? I had my first experience at the age of three. I have always remembered it and thought about it often. However, it wasn’t until my eighteenth birthday party when my dad had told me some history about the place we had lived in back when I was three. I was fixated on every word emitting out of his mouth. Completely wide eyed at what he was telling me and in that moment everything suddenly became clearly vivid and actually made sense to me. Almost as though what I had experienced all those years previous had been validated, made real. At least in my mind. It’s one thing to have an unexplained encounter on your own but to share certain happenings of an unnatural occurrence with others really resonates in a comforting , yet somewhat eerie way.

I have had lots of unexplained experiences occur throughout my life which has instilled my interest in all things supernatural! So if you have a love of all things quirky.Whether you have had an unexplained experience or not. Maybe you’ve had several experiences over time or have never had the hairs on the back of your neck stand up so therefore you remain skeptical.

I think we all have an inkling towards the unknown.

I have always enjoyed series such as The Supernatural, Ghost Adventures ( my favourite one!), Most Haunted, Ghost Hunters, Paranormal Lockdown, in fact anything with ghosts, myths etc I have probably sat down and watched. I enjoy these shows because they teach you about certain historical events, places etc and even if they don’t make you a believer they are very entertaining! Just google Ghost Adventures Zac rattlesnakes, hilarious!

Recently I stumbled across a whole new series that is somewhat very different but if you are like me and are on the same par when it comes to choices of what to watch then this may be worth a look. I was taking a pile of folded clothes into my sixteen year old sons room, something that usually may only take five seconds, maybe longer if we chat. But this particular time I glimpsed at what he was watching and WOW! Instantly hooked. I bombarded him with questions and he told me all about it and I must say I am now a dedicated viewer of Bedtime Stories! A weekly Youtube series and Podcast.

It is amazing!

The founding member of the team thus the creator is Richard While. He is joined by artist Mikey Turcano and writer Simon Andrews and together they present to us all things strange and unexplained. There are numerous sub categories which I believe would certainly appeal to all individual interests. From the supernatural to the paranormal, aliens, cryptids or if you are a fan of shows such as ‘Unsolved Mysteries’ or ‘Law and Order’ you may enjoy the true crime episodes or unexplained disappearances or even strange deaths. The stories, which have been described as creepy encounters from around the world, are based on documentation from detailed records of events and may even include footage or actual photographs that were presented as evidence. However, not all episodes are backed by such evidence but instead recount unexplained mysteries from myths to urban legends. There are also particular episodes that are recreated from viewers personal experiences and the Bedtime Stories team have even shared some of their own chilling events. With this in mind each episode will leave you with unanswered questions and leave you wondering or even putting your own twist on things. What makes this series even more appealing and enjoyable not to mention addictive, is the way that it is presented to the audience. And not just screen watching enthusiasts but to book lovers too. As an avid reader it really does tick all the boxes for people alike!

You can kick back in your favourite chair or if you prefer to drag a mattress into your living room, get comfy and be immersed in what I describe as having a story book feel. Not only are the episodes brought to life through amazing artwork to illustrate the stories but they are also narrated in a deep intriguing monotone. All in which concocts an eerily atmosphere yet somehow relaxing. And if you close your eyes you can have fun fabricating your own images in your head!

To all the horror fanatics, skeptics, believers and like minded people! If you’re daring enough to watch Bedtime Stories at night before going to bed, then dim the lights, lock your doors and cuddle up to your loved one (or if on your own you might want to consider a dog or cat) and get warm because you are about to be chilled to your very core.

tv review
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.