Horror logo

When Shadows Steal Shadows

-

By Iwan SolehPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

In the small, slightly weird town of Shadowville, something even weirder happened – shadows started stealing shadows. Yeah, you heard that right. It's not every day you see your shadow slip away to hang out with someone else's. But in Shadowville, bizarre was the new normal.

It all started on a lazy Sunday afternoon. I was sprawled on my couch, half-watching some rerun of an old sitcom, half-dozing, when I noticed something odd out of the corner of my eye. My shadow, which should have been lazily stretched out on the floor beside me, was... gone.

I sat up, rubbed my eyes, and looked around. And there it was – or rather, there it wasn't. My shadow was sneaking across the room like a cartoon thief, tip-toeing exaggeratedly as if it were in a silent movie. I blinked hard. Nope, not dreaming.

Curious, I followed it. It slinked out of my front door, which I apparently forgot to close (oops), and joined a bunch of other shadows on the sidewalk. They were congregating like some sort of secret shadow society. I mean, what do shadows even talk about?

"Hey, that's mine!" I heard someone shout. I turned and saw my neighbor, Mrs. Henderson, shaking her fist at her own wayward shadow, which was now holding hands with what looked like Mr. Johansson's shadow. They seemed... happy? This was getting weirder by the second.

I decided to follow this impromptu shadow parade. They meandered through the streets of Shadowville, moving with a purpose I couldn't quite grasp. More shadows joined, detaching themselves from their owners with a rebellious flair. It was like Peter Pan in reverse.

The parade halted in the town square, where the shadows seemed to be waiting for something. That’s when I noticed the giant oak tree at the center. Its shadow was massive, and it began to move, swirling around like a dark vortex.

As the swirling grew more intense, the individual shadows started to leap into the vortex. It was like watching a black hole sucking in a star, only way less terrifying and more... fascinating. The shadows merged into the swirling mass, creating a spectacle of dancing darkness.

Then, just as suddenly as it all began, the vortex stopped. The shadows burst out, scattering in all directions, returning to their respective owners. But something had changed.

I hurried back home, curious to see if my shadow had returned. It had, but it was different – it seemed livelier, more... animated. When I waved, it waved back with a flourish. When I did a little jig, it broke into an impressive moonwalk. My shadow had learned new moves!

The news spread through Shadowville like wildfire. Everyone's shadows had changed, picking up traits and quirks from each other. Mrs. Henderson's shadow had a spring in its step, likely courtesy of Mr. Johansson's love for old musicals. Little Timmy's shadow now had the stoic poise of Grandpa Earl's shadow. It was a mishmash of shadow personalities.

The town was abuzz with theories. Some said the oak tree’s shadow was magical, a collector of stories and traits that it shared with our shadows. Others thought it was a cosmic alignment thing, or maybe just Shadowville being Shadowville.

But whatever the reason, life in Shadowville got a bit more entertaining. Shadows mimicking their owners with added flair became the norm. It was like living in a town filled with silent, playful mimics.

And me? I found a new appreciation for my shadow. It wasn’t just a silent, shapeless follower anymore. It was a part of me that had gone on an adventure, made friends, and returned with stories to tell. Stories that were told in silent gestures and dramatic stretches on the walls of my home.

In Shadowville, we learned that sometimes, shadows need to steal shadows to find their own light. And that’s just another day in our wonderfully weird little town

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.