Horror logo

The Charm of Night Breeze in an Old Dormitory

-

By Iwan SolehPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
2

There’s something about old dormitories that new, shiny student residences just can’t match. I learned this firsthand during my sophomore year at college. The place? Hawthorne Hall, a creaky, ivy-draped structure that seemed to lean slightly to the left, as if it had long ago decided to settle in for a good, long nap.

My room was on the top floor, where the night breeze would wander in like an old friend, carrying with it stories from decades past. On one particularly starlit night, the kind where the sky looked like a spilled salt shaker on black velvet, I found myself unable to sleep. My room, with its ancient radiator and a single window that overlooked the campus, felt unusually stifling.

I pried open the window, letting the cool night air rush in, bringing with it the scent of old pines and distant ocean. That’s when I first heard it – a soft whistling tune, drifting up from somewhere below. It was strange because, well, everyone knew Hawthorne Hall emptied out after midnight. The RA was a stickler for rules, and curfew was curfew.

Curiosity tugging at me like a kid at a candy store, I grabbed my hoodie and tiptoed down the creaking stairs. The melody grew clearer with each step, a haunting, yet oddly comforting tune that seemed to echo through the hallways.

Reaching the ground floor, I realized the music was coming from outside, in the small courtyard where an ancient oak stood guard. There, beneath the gnarled branches, sat an old man with a harmonica. His fingers were gnarled like the tree's branches, but they danced over the instrument with the grace of a young musician.

"Can't sleep?" he asked without stopping his tune. His voice was as weathered as his face, lines carved deep like stories waiting to be read.

"Nope," I replied, finding myself oddly at ease. "The night's too alive."

He chuckled, a sound like leaves rustling. "Hawthorne Hall has that effect. Been playing this old thing here since I was about your age. I was a student here, too, long time ago."

I sat down beside him, feeling the cool grass under my hands. "Why do you come back?"

"For the charm of the night breeze," he said, eyes twinkling. "And to remind myself of days when life was simpler, yet everything seemed so complex."

We sat there, the old man and I, talking about everything and nothing. He told me about the 60s, how the dorm used to be full of life, music, and debates that stretched into early morning. I shared my own stories of college life, of stress and dreams, and the overwhelming feeling of being on the edge of something big.

The night deepened, and the stars seemed to lean in closer, as if eager to listen to the tales of past and present. The old man's stories painted a picture of a time I’d never known, but somehow felt connected to.

As dawn began to paint the sky in hues of pink and orange, the old man stood up, his harmonica silent now. "Remember," he said, turning to leave, "this old place has seen generations come and go. But some things, like the charm of the night breeze, remain forever."

He vanished as quietly as he had appeared, leaving me alone under the oak tree. I sat there for a while longer, watching the sun rise over Hawthorne Hall, feeling a strange connection to the past, present, and future.

Returning to my room, the first rays of sunlight warming the cold floor, I realized that the night had given me something special – a sense of continuity and comfort in the knowledge that some things, like the charm of an old dormitory and the stories it holds, endure through time.

From that night on, whenever the stress of college life weighed me down, I’d open my window, let in the night breeze, and listen for the faint sound of a harmonica, reminding me of the timeless magic that old places hold.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    Such a beautiful story and so beautifully told. Love it. You definitely have a way with words.

  • Cathy Deslippe4 months ago

    You described the atmosphere as a place of tranquillity. Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.