Horror logo

Vengeful Shadows on the Paved Road

An ill-fated journey down a paved road leads to a pact with a vengeful spirit, and a haunting curse that cannot be escaped.

By Ehsan KhanPublished about a year ago 5 min read
2

As I drove down the familiar paved road to my village, I couldn't shake off the feeling of unease. It was already 6 PM, and I had received an urgent call from my brother in the village, informing me that someone had died and needed my immediate presence. With a heavy heart, I left in a hurry, hoping to reach there as soon as possible.

The road was eerily empty, and darkness had already set in. The headlights of my car cut through the blackness, illuminating the path ahead. But as I continued driving, I saw a shadowy figure suddenly appear in front of my car. I slammed on the brakes, my heart skipping a beat, thinking I had hit someone.

As the dust settled, I peered through the windshield, but there was no sign of anyone. My car had come to a sudden halt, and the silence that followed was unsettling. I stepped out of the car to inspect for any damage, but there was none. Puzzled, I scanned the area with my flashlight, but there was no one around. It was as if the figure had vanished into thin air.

Feeling a chill run down my spine, I got back in my car and continued driving. The road seemed longer than usual, and the darkness closed in around me like a suffocating blanket. I couldn't shake off the feeling that I was being watched, and my nerves were on edge.

As I drove further, I started noticing strange things. The trees seemed to be swaying in unnatural ways, and the wind whispered in an eerie tone. The paved road that was once so familiar now felt unfamiliar, and a sense of foreboding engulfed me.

Suddenly, I saw the shadowy figure again. It appeared out of nowhere, standing in the middle of the road, blocking my way. My heart pounded in my chest as I slammed on the brakes once again, narrowly avoiding a collision. But this time, the figure was more visible.

It was a tall, dark figure with glowing red eyes that pierced through the darkness. Its body seemed translucent, as if it was not entirely of this world. I tried to rationalize it as a trick of the mind or a result of exhaustion from the long drive, but deep down, I knew something was terribly wrong.

With trembling hands, I tried to reverse my car and take a different route, but the figure moved with me, always staying in front of my car, blocking my way. Panic set in as I realized I was trapped. I couldn't escape this mysterious figure that seemed to be haunting me.

Frantically, I tried to call for help, but there was no signal on my phone. The only option left was to confront the figure. Summoning all my courage, I got out of the car and approached the shadowy figure cautiously.

As I got closer, the figure emitted an otherworldly shriek that sent shivers down my spine. Its red eyes glowed brighter, and I could feel an overwhelming sense of malevolence emanating from it. My instincts screamed at me to run, but my legs were frozen in fear.

The figure spoke, its voice echoing in my ears, "You cannot leave this place. This road is cursed, and I am its guardian. None who encounter me can leave without paying a price."

Terrified, I asked the figure what it wanted from me. It revealed that it was the spirit of a villager who had died on this road years ago, and it was cursed to roam the road, seeking revenge on those who dared to pass through. It demanded a sacrifice in exchange for letting me go.

I pleaded with the spirit, trying to reason with it, but it was relentless. It demanded the life of a loved one, and my mind raced as I desperately tried to come up with a solution. With no other choice, I reluctantly agreed, knowing that I had to protect my family.

The spirit's red eyes gleamed with satisfaction as it disappeared into the darkness. I rushed back to my car and drove with renewed urgency, my heart heavy with the weight of the sacrifice I had agreed to make.

Finally, after what felt like an eternity, I reached my village. My brother greeted me with a somber expression, informing me that the funeral had already taken place. I was devastated, realizing that I had arrived too late to say my final goodbyes.

As the night wore on, a sense of dread hung in the air. The villagers spoke in hushed tones about the cursed road and the strange occurrences that had been happening lately. I couldn't shake off the feeling of guilt, knowing that I had made a pact with a vengeful spirit to save my own life.

Days passed, and I couldn't shake off the sense of being watched. I started experiencing vivid nightmares, seeing the spirit's glowing red eyes every time I closed my eyes. My health deteriorated, and I became increasingly paranoid, constantly looking over my shoulder.

One stormy night, as I lay awake in bed, I heard footsteps outside my window. My heart raced as I cautiously peered out, and my blood ran cold when I saw the shadowy figure standing there, its red eyes piercing through the darkness. I knew it had come to collect its due.

I tried to flee, but the spirit was relentless, chasing me through the village. Desperate, I sought help from the villagers, but they could not see the spirit, and I was labeled as mad. I was trapped in a nightmare that only I could see, and the spirit's presence grew stronger with each passing day.

As I reached the paved road that led out of the village, the spirit appeared in front of me once again, blocking my way. Its malevolent laughter echoed around me as I realized that my fate was sealed. I was destined to be trapped on this cursed road forever, tormented by the vengeful spirit that I had made a pact with.

In a final act of desperation, I crashed my car into a tree, hoping to end my torment once and for all. But as I lost consciousness, I saw the spirit's red eyes glowing brighter than ever, and its laughter echoed in my ears, knowing that it had claimed another victim.

To this day, my soul roams the paved road, forever trapped in the curse of the vengeful spirit. The villagers speak in hushed tones about the haunted road, and travelers who dare to pass through speak of a shadowy figure with glowing red eyes that appears in the darkness, seeking its next victim. My warning to all who hear my story: beware the paved road to my village, for it holds a dark secret that can never be escaped.

supernaturalmonsterfictionart
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.