Horror logo

Unfinished business

A thrill seeking adventurer stumbles upon a cabin with a big surprise! Just when you think ghosts aren’t real, you may just find out the same way this young adventurer did.

By Wyoming PetersPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Darkness started to surround me with the coldest of wind on this winter night. Sometimes I wonder why I get myself in these situations. I just love to explore, and plus, this forest is rumored to be haunted. I knew the only place I could take shelter for the night would be that creepy old cabin. I’d rather be scared to my wits than freeze to death right? My hands were shaking as I entered threw the broken wooden door. “Hello, is there anyone in here? “ upon asking I heard a loud thump of what seemed to be a box that fell right by my feet! Startled, I just had to investigate. “A notebook? “ how random is that right? Not only was the notebook Ridiculously heavy, but their was also an envelope with the words, “do not open, until list in black book is complete!”. And to my surprise, I heard another thump! I was starting to believe that I wasn’t alone. I searched the entire cabin, and still found no one, but felt the presence of something..... something other worldly. I wasn’t the type to believe in ghosts, but I was starting to get creeped out for sure! I decided to light candles that I stumbled upon on the counter. Now that I had more light to see, I noticed pictures of a beautiful woman. It was a memorial of her. “Mildred Mcdillon, 1990-2020.” I thought to myself, “ok Mildred, what crazy adventure do you have in store for me tonight!” I chuckled to myself, and in that moment I heard a woman’s voice right behind me. “Ooopen”! Screeched the creepy voice. I felt my sole turn around faster than my body did, at that moment I knew it was Mildred. I collected my courage and opened the black book. To my surprise, only one page was written on. “Bring the red box under the seventh wooden tile, vertical from the fireplace to, 1709 sw cardinal street.” It seemed so easy, but why would their be just one simple thing on that list? I asked myself. I walked slowly towards the fireplace and counted the tiles, finally getting to the seventh one. It was very loose, and very dusty, but I was able to get the tile off without a struggle. I couldn’t believe my eyes! The red box was there! My heart was beating so fast, on the top of the box was bumps, almost like braille writing. I was so tired but I knew I had to get that box to that address as soon as possible. I grabbed the box and ran threw the darkness towards the main road until I finally made it to the town. I almost felt like Mildred was with me the whole time, I didn’t feel cold, and I was able to see threw the darkness. Every time I stoped, the wind would blow even harder, almost like her spirit was guiding me to get there in a fast pace. Taking a deep breath, I finally made it to the address in the book. The wind started to blow fiercely towards the door, almost like Mildred was knocking on the door for me. I heard footsteps behind the door getting closer with the sound of a consistent clicking noise. As the door started to open I tinderly introduced myself. “Hi, um im Ashley, and I have a red box from Mildred for you.” The tall boy excitedly reached his arms out and started to cry. “Mildred is my mother, she passed away, I’ve been looking for that red box for months! But I am blind!” I walked up to the boy, and put the box in his hands. He moved his fingers across the top, with so many emotions in his face. He put his hand out to me and I gave him my hand. With an exited voice, he told me to open the envelope. I reached into my jacket pocket and grabbed the envelope, and started to gently open it. My eye widened, “I don’t think this was for me!” Inside the envelope was a blank check for 20 thousand dollars. The boy smirked, “ yes Ashley, Mildred wants you to have it, no gratitude can compare to how happy this makes our family. Sign your name, and enjoy.” He turned with the red box and went inside his house. I stood there in shock and confused. 20thousand dollars! I jumped up and down and ran home with the biggest smile, and felt that Mildred would be a part of my life forever. Even though I was so scared, I still helped her finish her unfinished business from beyond the grave. It brings light to how mothers will be there for their children even after death! I looked up to the sky and yelled out with relief. “Thank you Mildred!”. I still don’t know what was in that red box, but I have that black book. In fact, I am writing this story in that black book as you read this. Maybe someone will find this black book again, and share the story of Mildred. Until then, I will leave it here in the cabin, with my address and a small list with a surprise envelope.

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.