Horror logo

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 7

The next installment of diminutive demented diegeses

By Mark J. Wilcoxen Published 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Two Sentence Horrors Volume 7
Photo by fotografierende on Unsplash

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 7

By

Mark J. Wilcoxen

301. A sudden scream pierced the night air startling George. "Damnit Greg," said George trying to calming his heart, "You said your basement was soundproof."

302. Entering the dark room Marcus saw the familiar form of Hunter on the bed. "Hello Hunter," said Marcus sitting at the foot of the bed, "How gratifying it was removing everything but those ears of yours; knowing that you're stuck hearing me gloat over your broken body is the prefect revenge."

303. Looking over Richard's chart, I learned that he eat healthy and exercised religiously. Excellent, his organs would fetch a high price on the Black Market.

304. My friends and I thought it'll be fun to do an escape room. Three minutes in they started pumping concrete into the room.

305. Charlie's prized instrument, a magnificent glossy black grand piano, played the cleanest notes, even though he refused to have it serviced. He knew the spirit trapped inside would exact its revenge on him if it ever managed to escape.

306. With a sigh, I open the door to my shed and gather my tools to push back the encroaching vegetation. Everyday I have to burn the vines or they'll drag some poor soul off into the woods again.

307. After my grandfather's passing, I inherited a large chest containing an urn. What scared me the most wasn't that the urn had been smoldered shut or bound in chains, but that I could heard something shifting around inside.

308. The valley was alive with the cries of battle; weapon clashing against weapon, a myriad of horns filled the air, powerful drums shook the ground and men cried out in pain and anger as they died. Gazing across the deserted valley, I pray that the poor souls who fought here long ago will one day find peace.

309. Hannah found solace from stress in her glass blowing. Encasing her victims in molt glass always left her feeling refreshed.

310. "You need to improve you diet," said the doctor as he examined my eyes. Once the physical was over the vampire physician stated firmly, "You're well over the healthy weight for a lycan; you need to start eating healthier humans."

311. Glennburg was once a town full of laughter and lovely music. That all changed when the Silencer passed through; anything he glared at fell silent and died.

312. Jade and her husband Rick were devastated when they found a crack in their house's foundation. The couple became terrified once they saw a pair of decayed arms worm their way up and out of the crack.

313. Everyone knows about the monsters that lurk in closets and under beds yet one no has heard of the drawer monster. It lies in wait at the back of drawers; biding its time until an unwary hand blindly comes within reach and then it's feeding time.

314. After the accident Louis had to readjust to life with only one arm. All his progress of physical and mental healing did nothing to prepare him for the night his dead arm came to kill the rest of him.

315. The building's superintendent, Chris, grumbled as he repaired the gouges in the room 125's bedroom floor. Ever time the apartment became available, he had to fill in the fingernail marks of the previous tenant.

316. Unable to go outside, I flew my drone around the neighborhood. From the drone's video feed I could see that the corpses were still scurrying about the cul de sac.

317. Few remember the incident at the Harper House. Those that do try to forget; less Old Man Harper reawaken and complete his curse.

318. My fingers grow clumsy and drawing the bow becomes difficult, as I struggle to stay awake. "Got to keep playing," I mutter for the millionth time; as my eyes lock on the creature infront of me, "Music soothes the savage beast."

319. An odd series of deaths struck the city; people were found slumped over their toilets, most if not all their organs were missing. Hundreds of the National Guard were sent into the sewers, the few that returned carried the remains of an undiscovered species of giant leech.

320. There are two unspoken rules involving shadow puppets; don't give them a voice, and most importantly don't give them a name. Break both these rules the puppet won't be controlled by you any more.

321. Kala tried hard not to vomit as bile rose up in her throat. On her plate a face grinned up at her and said, "What's the matter, too fresh?"

322. "Can you tell me what happened in your own words?" asked the detective. The coroner's laughter instantly fell silent when the corpse started to speak.

323. Many know that our reality is like a video game; a simulation if you will. Ever wonder what would happen if the file got corrupted?

324. "Our kid's meal meets all nutritional need of a child," related the company's founder to the members of the board. "Once the younger customers come of age many will be harvested for distribution," he said with a wick smile as the board applauded, "Each loop of the cycle sees a ten percent growth in profit."

325. Do you know the importance of music; consider that it's found in ever human culture and across a wide spectrum of earthly creatures? Notice how ever heavenly body that is devoid of song is also lifeless; music keeps the Scourge at bay.

326. Jacqueline gave up on finding true love years ago. Instead, she was in the process of taking the parts she needed to make her perfect soulmate.

327. Downstairs in the basement, I could hear the sound of shuffling and someone whispering, "Come down and play." Unlike the renters before, I heed the landlord's warning; saving myself from becoming another meal for that thing.

328. Time is a living thing, and unfortunately it's sick. Slowly, bits and pieces of our world are fading from existence and memory; the disappearance of the twenty-seventh letter of the alphabet illustrates this perfectly.

329. A shadow fell across my house. There wasn't anything around my home or in the sky.

330. J.B. was alarmed when the dog bit his forearm. No blood seeped out of the open wound.

331. Many know of the commercial of a kid asking an owl, "How many licks does it takes to get to the Tootsies center of a Tootsie Pop?" I have a similar question; how much of my victim can I peel off before I need to replace them?

332. Jesse had been falling apart for a while now. The floor of his apartment was littered with pieces of him.

333. The oldest Iron Maiden was discover to date back to 1398 A.D.; this new information put to rest the debate that the device existed in the Middle Ages. The carbon dating didn't however explain the screams that were heard from the implement of torture whenever it was closed.

334. B.J. was mere steps away from freedom. The noose grew taut, dragging his soul back to the hangman's tree; where he was doomed to hang with all the others for eternity.

335. The groundskeeper found a pair of sneakers near a pile of disturbed earth. "They got another one," sighed the groundskeeper as he flatted the dirt around the grave.

336. Someone's silhouette is bleeding through the heavy curtains of my living room window. The camera feed of my front yard doesn't show the source of the shadow.

337. "Mister Patrick R. Tanner you stand accused of murdering Walter Penn," stated the Judge solemnly, "How do you plead?" "Guilty, but he wasn't a man," declared Patrick boldly, "The bullet I put through his skull didn't faze him; fire seemed to be his only weakness."

338. I received a most curious pop up book today in the mail. A recreation of my house emerged from the pages when I opened the book; pulling a paper tab covered the structure in paper flames.

339. George had his pet, Allen, taxidermied. The old crow would often speak to the dead human as though he was still alive.

340. I just love learning spoilers. Want to know how humanity ends; no, you'll learn that tomorrow.

341. Following the fortune teller's instructions Daniel drew three cards. A empty black was revealed on each card as the teller flipped them over; once all three were face up a heavy darkness flooded the room.

342. We all have a particular chore that we're not fond of and put off as long as possible. For Garrett it was feeding the corpses under his house.

343. Through the front window of the Slivergate hotel I saw a grand ballroom party in full swing. Being a local, I knew better then to enter the derelict building; the dead don't like their gathering being interrupted.

344. When his Irish Shepard, Maggy, got infected with fleas, Milo did everything he could to get rid of the pests. As he treated his dog, Milo noticed to his horror that the flea began burrowing into his flesh.

345. Everyone knows that when you see rats flee a ship something is seriously wrong with the vessel. Can anyone tell me what rats fleeing the land and frantically swimming out to sea means?

346. The park rangers watch the massive forest fire consume acre after acre of the dense forest. The three survivors prayed that the flames would destroy the creature that had killed their friends and tormented them for the last week.

347. Rex was the test subject in a clinical trial focused on extending human life indefinitely. The trial was a success, making Rex practically immortal, the one side effect being oxygen intolerance; with each breath Rex felt like his lungs were on fire.

348. While repairing my car I tune out the world around me. Seeing and hearing the panic from my comrades, due to the hordes' approach would only hinder my repairs.

349. From my front porch, I can hear the sound of children singing lullabies. This is a common occurrence ever sense the murders ten years back; before then the woods had been a quiet, welcoming place.

350. "Dammit!" shouted R.J. in annoyance. Picking up an organ from the chest cavity, he said in disgust, "These smoker lungs aren't fit for a dog; let alone one of my pies."

fiction
1

About the Creator

Mark J. Wilcoxen

Dreaming up stories is like breathing to me. I'm a fan of horror, fantasy and science fiction. I'm seeking to add my own small contribution to the literary world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.