Horror logo

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 6

Yet another batch of mini monstrous myths to enjoy when it's storming outside.

By Mark J. Wilcoxen Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Two Sentence Horrors Volume 6
Photo by Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 6

By

Mark J. Wilcoxen

251. I did my best to ignore the knocking sound like my parents told me too. "Now if the pallbearers will take their position," stated the pastor; causing the knocking from inside the coffin to become more insistent.

252. Have you heard of the tooth fairy's dark counterpart the Toaka? On occasion she'll steal the mouth of an unlucky, sleeping victim by removing the tongue and teeth; then seamlessly seal the jaw and lips shut.

253. Amos sang a gentle lullaby as he walked the grounds. His peaceful melody kept the dead from waking.

254. Nate couldn't salvage his pickup truck after it got bogged down in the mud. The hands coming out of the muck relentlessly pulling the vehicle deeper into the earth.

255. My eyes were locked on the lonely road as I drove home. Like every night before, I ignored the ghastly face in my side mirror.

256. Passing Andrew's den I heard him cursing and cheering his team to victory. Entering the room, I saw his urn on the coffee table; the big game was playing on the flat screen.

257. Looking for batteries, Martha blindly felt around the back of the junk drawer. She let out a scream when something cold and gooey clasped her probing fingers.

258. Mateo lost his love for humanity years ago. After his transformation humans were simply food to him now.

259. An avid bird watcher, Paula marveled as the she spotted a Cardinal flying beside a Blue Jay. Her enthusiasm turned to confusion then dread when she saw a massive flock of bird fleeing the area.

260. Wesley was stuck. Now matter what he or the paramedics tried, over the last two days, his feet wouldn't budge from the ground.

261. My dogs, Daisy and Brutus, hungrily bark to get my attention. Opening the freezer I pick up a thigh, one that bears a wicked dragon tattoo, and toss it into their pen.

262. Tommy polished his prized black river-rock everyday. In its glossy surface the entity, that dwelt within the stone, drew warmth from the teen.

263. My aunt, a skilled fortune teller, offered to read my tea leafs. When she looked into my cup she let out a piercing cry, clutched her eyes shut then fell out of her chair, stone died.

264. "Mister Tagert, I'm calling to tell you that your mother is at it again." said the manager over the phone. After sighing deeply he continued, "The groundskeeper found her grave empty, again."

265. The old willow tree in my backyard was planted by my grandfather decades ago. He planted that tree over the body of his thieving business partner.

266. A few years ago I was visiting a relative in the hospital. On my way up to see them, the elevator stopped and opened its doors to a floor that held a giant set of doors that were chained shut.

267. It was by the marvel of modern medicine that Arthur was still alive. He'd much prefer to be dead then be used as the processor in the latest super computer.

268. My great uncle left me his prized compass in his will. I quickly learned that his corpse follows who ever possesses the antique.

269. When I was a kid I hated when my parents would make me take a nap; believing I'd miss something interesting. Now I'm terrified of falling sleeping, because each time I do more and more of my world disappears.

270. With a steady hand I melt the fragments back together. What makes this job so difficult is that Morty's killers had to chuck his body through a wood chipper.

271. The iron bars of the ancient cell were thicker then my arm. Eight of the great bars were bent and broken; forming an opening that was easily five times my size.

272. I couldn't help but dance to the music as I travel through the dark city streets. For a being like me, human screams had a magnificent melody to them.

273. I can't stand people. When they die and sink into my dull realm I can thoroughly unleash my disdain on them.

274. If you're reading this that means they got me. I'll try my best to help, but truthfully I'm not sure if I have memories left to escape from the Shadow Embers a second time.

275. You ever wonder why the government prohibits black box records from being released to the public? They knew that details accounts of the visitor's spacecraft would "unsettle" the public.

276. Dirk's grandmother had this expression that she'd often say, "When I death, rotten and forgotten." Many years after her death Dirk was cursed to endure the opposite order of the phrase.

277. The houses around the Black Creek were abandoned long ago. The body of water's hunger for flesh was known throughout the state.

278. Finding the heart of the fog, the fog's source, requires both luck and a haunting melody. Be forewarned that escaping the heart takes even more luck and countless hours of running.

279. The wood floor bowed under my weight. Without warning my lower body sank through the floor as though it was quicksand.

280. Trying to see his surroundings, Joel tapped his flashlight in frustration. His actions grew more frantic after he heard the scrapping.

281. We all watched Perry from the window. He staggered across the lunar surface toward the airlock; his head exposed to the airless void.

282. The starlight we see each night took years, sometimes thousands, to reach our planet; hence the term Look-back Time. All those stars are now dead; killed and devoured by beings that are currently on their way here.

283. Without taking my eyes off the newspaper I take a bite of my bagel. Among the bits of bread and cream cheese I feel hair like threads wrap around my tongue; squeezing tight enough to cut into the muscle.

284. You've heard from the numerous space agencies across the planet about the probe missions to the Moon, Mars, and Venus, but what about the Mercury Rover, Jackal? The rover didn't find any signs of life; only ancient monuments to death.

285. Derek fumbled with the lug wrench as he tried to remove the deflated tire. A low growl came from the large creature he'd hit minutes ago; causing him to hasten his repairs.

286. The screen door of the old farm house creaked on its hinged before slamming shut. Having lived in the house for decades Rachael knew to ignore the entity's presence when it was active.

287. "I know you're there," said Darrell laying in his bed; not bothering to opening his eyes, "I'm tired and am in no mood to play games." The shadow bend close to his ear and hissed, "One day, I will take your place and you will be trapped in my."

288. All the residents of Turner Dr. stood either on the edge of the road, their lawns or at the doorway to their perspective houses; all of them watching the ambulance parked in front of the old Grainger place. The sight was an annual occurrence that coincided with the old house growing hunger.

289. "A little time alone is just what the doctor ordered," Jude said to himself as he meandered down the path. A grating voice rasped behind him, "Who says you're a alone."

290. Bud looked out at the landscape from the basket of the hot air balloon. Below him the ground was awash with screams.

291. Sam quickly tossed the large plastic envelope on the deck and hurried back to his truck. He normally treated his deliveries with more care but that envelope had kept trying to wrap around his hand.

292. Brad's felt his drill break through the last of the ice. As though in retaliation, a large spike shot up out of the ice beside him.

293. I don't know if anyone will find this; let alone read it, but what the hell. They were waiting for us on the ground; the opening of the colony ship's door was the ringing of a dinner bell to them.

294. Indulge me while I ask, "Why do we fear the dark?" Consider that fear of the dark is eerily similar to the feeling of being watch.

295. The human body is completely dark inside. I love shedding light on all the interior workings.

296. The skies over the city were a heavy gray. Nearly a million bloated discolored bodies floated aimlessly among the skyscrapers.

297. I savored the last vestige of the sun's light as the sky grew dark. Eight orphaned planets were engulfed in darkness after the death of their home star.

298. With a speed defying his age, Benjamin flew up the steps of the lighthouse; reaching the top he refilled and reignited the giant lantern. Down below he could hear the shrieks of the sirens as they were once again denied access to land.

299. Avoid the smokehouse on Old Augustine Rd. If you eat there, even once, no other meat but human will satisfy.

300. "What did you do?" Maria asked fearfully clutching her abdomen; shocked to find there wasn't any blood. "Relax, this pistol is special; it inflicts all the pain but none of the damage," said Caesar once again taking aim.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mark J. Wilcoxen

Dreaming up stories is like breathing to me. I'm a fan of horror, fantasy and science fiction. I'm seeking to add my own small contribution to the literary world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.