Horror logo

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 5

Another dose of tiny terrors

By Mark J. Wilcoxen Published 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Two Sentence Horrors Volume 5
Photo by Alistair MacRobert on Unsplash

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 5

By

Mark J. Wilcoxen

201. I love watching the sunrise. Each morning the sun takes longer to return.

202. The doctor gingerly unwrapped the bandage around my arm. The bloodless fracture, that looked exactly like a cracked piece of porcelain, had only gotten worse.

203. My great great grandfather whittling a wooden bear statue that's been in my family for over a century. Upon carelessly breaking the heirloom I learned that the carved bear wasn't an ordainment but a prison.

204. Nobody could stop listening to the latest song to hit the top ten. Once anyone heard it their brain's jelly like state changed to liquid.

205. Hector started to feel dizzy as he blew up the balloon. Little did he know the creature masquerading as a balloon was drawing the life out of him.

206. Chris often wake up to a hypnic jerk that made him feel as though he was falling while he slept. When he jerked awake this night however Chris realized that he was falling through the floor of his basement.

207. My friends often tease me because of my superstitious nature. You try being a cynic when everyone you meet has a spider like creature wrapped around their neck.

208. "Fine, we'll flip for it," I said in frustration. "We'll use this hand," I said glancing to the orge beside me, "Palm up I get the heart; palm down you can have it."

209. I use to have this recurring dream of this beautiful woman beckoning for me to join her. After nearly a year I was finally able to reach her; that's when the dream became a nightmare I couldn't escape.

210. I drew a smiley face in the dusty glass of the window. The finger drawn image gives me a wink then disappears when all the dust flew at me.

211. "This fits perfectly," I said with a smile. While putting on the human's skin I ponder how best to dispose of it's corpse.

212. "Sir, we have a visual on the Russian fleet," reported Captain Jackson, "Should I pass the order to open fire?" Admiral Walker glanced to the screen displaying the latest telemetry of the massive nightmarish monster, and prayed that the combined firepower of his fleet and the Russians' was enough to put it down.

213. "Look at me," I said calmly making eye contact, "I need you to run." I then smile at the human, "It much more entertain when my prey runs."

214. The new brand of gum had a funny taste so I spat it out. With it came a large blob of blood and two of my back molars; it was eating my teeth.

215. Vicky had won the drawing and got first pick out of the lost and found box. She grunted as she fished through the pile of arms, legs and organs searching desperately for a new set of teeth.

216. The doctor and my husband stared at me as I just stood there. Turning, my eye locked on the still line of my cardiac monitor.

217. From a neighboring hilltop T.J. watched the fog bellow around the tombstones. He was hoping to see what was propelling the headstones across the countryside.

218. "Come on already," I grumble impatiently as the elevator slowly descended to my floor. My irritation turned to horror when the elevator doors open revealing a massive mouth.

219. "Duncan, stop running your finger through that cake's icing!" Phil yelled to his son. That cake, with its special ingredients, was their means of escape from the woman of the house.

220. Some say that Sheldon taught himself how to play Chess; while others insist that he was tutored. Only his parents knew that he learned by playing against his split personality.

221. The old Nelson Bridge sat peacefully and seemingly deserted on the banks of the Ohio River. The spider goblin and the souls of all its victim slumbered on the underside of the structure.

222. Marge had been wondering the hall for what felt like hours. Occasionally, one of the living would walk alongside or through her with only a shudder to indicate they'd noticed her presence.

223. Jill felt something scratch her shoulder. Pulling back the blanket she discovered dozens of fingers tearing through the bed sheet from the box spring below.

224. Edward and Stanley had been hated rivals for years. The two of them fought for full control of the body they both shared.

225. Hastily, I shut the door behind me and jam a chair under the knob. A great shadow darkens the window as all the walls crack and groan; just before they surrender to the jaws of the great beast.

226. I was always told by my grandmother to never walk the old train tracks in the forest. After getting drunk one night, I trekked on the steel girder and lost my leg when a creature, equal parts machine and organic tissue, came rolling up the rails.

227. Silence gripped those present as the I got to work. With a skill honed over countless years I swung my scythe; harvested souls that either begged, fought, or excepted the transition.

228. Getting complaints of a power outage, Dal was sent out to fix the problem. Opening the door to the transformer she ignored the moans of the battery, a man in his late twenties, and reattached the dislocated wires.

229. Everyone has binge watched a series or two. Just like the streaming companies have planned; that's how they're reprogramming you.

230. "Three hundred sixty-five degrees," sang Olan happily, "Burning down the house." In his rear view mirror he could still see the city alight from the fires he started earlier.

231. "Miami control I'm currently hundred miles out and have some odd cloud formation to my north," reported Andrew, "Almost looks like a face." That was the final message to be received from charter flight twenty-five.

232. Medication had no effect on Josh's chronic heartburn so his doctor decided that surgery was the only remaining option. As soon as the surgery team opened him up the room was engulfed in flames.

234. "A soul shattering scream tears through the night air," you read aloud. The source of the scream crawls closer toward you.

235. The community of Shady Oak filed a lawsuit against the developer to keep the ancient oak trees from being removed. They weren't motivated by environmental conservation or tourism, but out of fear that the ancient trees would awake and massacre the township like they had a century ago.

236. "Increasing defibrillator voltage to a thousand," I said over the monotone sound of the heart monitor. My patient jolts up upwards and their eyes flutter open; to which I say, "Good, now to kill you all over again."

237. I hate working late at night. The ghost's of the dearly departed are much more active when the hospital is nearly deserted.

238. Anytime there was a thunderstorm Roger would run to his parent's room. Once in their bed he'd struggled up close to their rotting bodies.

239. The tempo of the horror music picked up. I glanced around my surrounding, but was unable to see its source.

240. Tonight I'd like to tell you the story of how I gained my wealth. Tomorrow, you'll help me get even richer after your organ are removed and sold.

241. Once explorers fully combed over the surface of the Earth cartographer no longer depicted monstrous creatures on their maps and globes. They folly was forgetting that there's an underside to every map and a inside to every globe.

242. I once was an avid online gamer, but now strictly play single player games. I still can feel the touch of that spector's hand on my cheek as it caressed my avatar.

243. The cold winter night fell with a heavy darkness. The approaching shadow of Earth crushed every structure, vehicle and person it came in contact with as it chased after the fading sunlight.

244. Suffering from a splitting headache, Erik knew he needed to pull himself together. Taking the separated sides of his skull in his hands he pushed his divided head back together.

245. Cory light another flare immediately after it's predecessor was exhausted. His quick action wasn't fueled by thoughts of rescue or even a fear of the dark, but was his only means of keeping the spider-like creatures at bay.

246. My mother has a picture of her deceased uncle standing atop this grand staircase. When I'm alone, the image changes to one of him falling down the stairs; perfectly reenacting his death.

247. I hastily grab my keys and wallet as the light in the living room flickers. That light is my only warning that the previous tenant is coming by for a visit.

248. "In light of recent events we are forced to confirm that alien life does exist," announced the secretary of defense. He let out a violent coughing fit before he added, "It's currently unclear how many are infected."

249. As Albert rocked in his favorite chair on his front porch he contemplated his looming demise, and knew he was more ready then most. Looking up to the sky he could see the rogue black hole, Apocalypse, begin to effect the Earth's atmosphere.

250. Looking out my window I see a man standing there, waving at me as I pass him. Beside me my co-pilot asks if I'm okay.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mark J. Wilcoxen

Dreaming up stories is like breathing to me. I'm a fan of horror, fantasy and science fiction. I'm seeking to add my own small contribution to the literary world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.