Horror logo

True Asia's ghost stories

Hospitals

By Wong ShahrulPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
True Asia's ghost stories
Photo by Brandon Holmes on Unsplash

Working as a nurse is undeniably one of the most challenging occupations I have ever experienced. It consistently puts my patience and endurance to the test. While handling sick patients poses its own difficulties, encountering the supernatural is an unforgettable encounter. I began my usual night shift routine by visiting my ward to ensure the patients were asleep or if they required any assistance. Upon entering a separate area, I noticed that the room was nearly empty, saved for an elderly man peacefully sleeping in the corner. Everything seemed fine until approximately 3:35 am when I suddenly heard a faint laughter coming from outside the room. Though barely audible, I was almost certain it originated from a child. However, considering the fact that the floor I work on does not accommodate children and lacks the necessary facilities to treat them, I was instantly filled with unease. Despite not being able to hear it clearly, I could unmistakably identify the laughter as that of a child.The incident abruptly ended, leading me to believe it was over. As I ventured into the hallway adjacent to the wards, I suddenly heard laughter again. This time, however, the laughter was accompanied by the sound of footsteps, almost as if someone was running around. Frightened by what I heard, I instinctively ran to the opposite end of the hallway. In my panic, I accidentally collided with a colleague. Curious about her destination, I inquired where she was headed. She informed me that she was going downstairs to a nearby convenience store. Intrigued, I decided to follow her and we took the elevator down. Noticing my rapid breathing, she asked what was wrong. I explained that I had heard a child's laughter outside the wards. She shared that the wards used to accommodate child patients in the past, suggesting that it might have been what I heard. As the remainder of my shift passed and the clock struck 5:30 am, some patients began to awaken gradually. With time, the feeling of fear diminished.

A few months have passed since then, and I found myself working the night shift once again. Everything appeared normal as the patients prepared for sleep, and it was my responsibility to ensure their well-being. During this time, the nearby toilet was closed for construction, so I had to take a longer route to a more secluded restroom whenever I needed to go. It had always seemed unremarkable during the day, but at night, it was a different story. At 2 am, feeling a bit drowsy, I decided to make the journey to the toilet to freshen up. The dimly lit path gave me an eerie feeling, as if someone were following me. However, I dismissed it as my imagination playing tricks on me. Upon reaching the restroom, I sensed that someone was watching me, which made me uncomfortable. As I washed my face and hands in the sink, I suddenly heard a deep, growling voice behind my ear. Startled, I saw the cubicle door slam shut. Filled with fear, I hastily left the toilet. What I later learned was that nurses typically avoided this particular restroom at night due to rumors of it being haunted. Unfortunately, I discovered this firsthand. Another unsettling incident occurred earlier this year. I had a patient in the neighboring room, a cheerful elderly Malay woman in her 70s. She always wore a prayer cap and seemed deeply religious. However, one night during my shift, when I entered the ward, I found her sitting on the bed instead of sleeping. She wasn't wearing her prayer cap, and her hair was disheveled. Her eyes darted from one corner to another, and she muttered under her breath. This behavior sent shivers down my spine, as it was a stark contrast to the lovely woman I had known. Alarmed by her strange actions, I called upon one of my colleagues to accompany me. As my friend reached out to check on the patient's medical equipment, the elderly woman lunged towards her, as if she intended to attack. That night, I had a suspicion that the elderly woman had become possessed. I tried to call a staff nurse to help us with this but everyone was busy so we had to wait it out till about five in the morning and we went to check on the machine so when we entered the ward to check on her she was peacefully sleeping the next day she was acting normal right until her discharge but i could never forget that night as i did not know if she was possessed or something else happened entirely…

fictionsupernatural
1

About the Creator

Wong Shahrul

Hi! I'm Shahrul.

I'm a full-time chemical blender, mixing raw materials to produce and sell. I'm living in Singapore a good yet boring country, boring=(for those aged over 40) [{-_-}] by this age you have gone places, done things enough.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • E.Amalia8 months ago

    Whoaaa! Was this inspired at all by any experiences you had? My mom works in healthcare and has so many stories.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.