Horror logo

Tree Spirit

How I Ruined Halloween

By Daniel FigueroaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

The Ho-Chunk, or Hočągara, were a Siouan-speaking Native American people who considered all trees to be shrines. Animist druids also recognized the spirit of all things. Many cultures believed that spirits and ghosts used trees as a temporary dwelling while on Earth.

When I moved into this apartment, about five years ago, I noticed this tree outside. With the way the light hit it, it appeared as if there was a face on the trunk. It was a casual observation, and I didn’t think much of it, but many nights I would be taking a walk or standing out in front of the apartment and notice the face.

The face was small and peeked out from just under the lowest branches of the tree. It had an odd way of appearing to be looking at you, regardless of the direction from which you watched it.

Years passed and I guess I forgot about the face. Until tonight. I went out to see if the face was still there, on the tree. My intent was to take a creepy picture to share. To my dismay, the face was no longer visible on the tree trunk.

So, in the dark, I made my way to the tree and realized that over the years, vines had grown on the trunk. Without thinking about it, I reached out and pulled away the vines. Tossing them to the ground, I exposed the trunk once again.

I walked away, disappointed that the face was gone, but when I turned around… the face was back. Even more worrisome, however, is that the face was… bigger. It wasn’t just a small, creepy face just under the branches of the tree any longer.

Now the face took up the whole of the trunk under the branches. The face now had a creepy smile. I had pulled away the vines that had grown over the face. I had opened its eyes again, brought it out of hiding and sleep.

If these societies and cultures understood the truth of the matter, that trees had spirits or housed ghosts… what have I awoken? The Hawaiian magical shamanistic philosophy of Huna holds that everything is alive, aware, and responsive.

If so, just how alive and aware is this tree? How will it respond to my actions? Halloween is soon upon us, the time of year where spirits are supposedly most active. It also falls on a full moon this year. Should I take this all as an ill omen?

The folklore surrounding tree spirits, however, is generally positive. Tree spirits are said to act as guardians and protectors. Tree spirits are said to provide wisdom to those who listen. Maybe, just maybe, unveiling the face of this tree spirit should be seen as auspicious. This year has been a fantastic disaster, and perhaps this is an omen that things will get better.

Pareidolia is the scientific term for seeing patterns in nature like faces in trees. Research suggests that it is a sign of creativity in those that see these patterns.

But this face. This image in the tree in front of my apartment. This image that I have seen for years and disappeared. This form that I exposed and restored vision to. This… thing. This spirit. With its large, evil eye, its long nose, and its wicked grin. It mocks me. It stands vigil into the dark night, haunting me and glaring at me whenever I dare to leave the comfort of my home. The face that stares at me does not promise protection, comfort, or wisdom.

What have I done? What have I unleashed? Nature herself tried to hide it away, and I, in my hubris, brought it back.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Daniel Figueroa

I am a freelance and creative writer living in Colorado. My professional work has included hundreds of articles on finance, credit, and investing.

My creative writing is in speculative fiction and urban fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.