Horror logo

The Whispering Woods

The Whispering Woods: Confronting the Darkness Within

By Cole sutcliffePublished 28 days ago 4 min read
The Whispering Woods
Photo by Filip Zrnzević on Unsplash

"I don't know how much longer I can take these dreams, Dr. Mallory. They consume me, leaving me terrified of sleep. It's as if the only escape is never waking up."

"Tell me about these dreams, Mr. Harper. How long have they been plaguing you?"

"They started when I was six years old. At first, they were just odd, but now... now they feel like they're eating away at my sanity. They change in detail but the core remains the same. It's hard to explain."

"Dreams often evolve over time, taking on new forms as we grow. Let’s try to untangle this together. Start from the beginning."

"Alright. The first time, it was a garden. An endless, beautiful garden. I was happy there, exploring, playing. It was full of life and light. My mother said she could hear me laughing in my sleep. It was my sanctuary, my refuge from the world."

"Many children dream of idyllic places. It’s a common way to process feelings of safety and joy. What changed?"

"On my tenth birthday, the garden started to darken. Shadows crept in, and I began to notice the forest at the edge. One night, I ventured in. The trees whispered my name, their voices hollow and haunting. I felt something lurking, always just out of sight. It was thrilling and terrifying."

"The forest represents the unknown, a natural part of growing up. Did anything specific happen on your tenth birthday?"

"No, nothing out of the ordinary. But the dreams grew darker. By my fifteenth birthday, the whispers had turned to screams. The trees were gnarled and twisted, their branches like skeletal hands. I could feel eyes watching me, and I knew something was hunting me."

"That's a significant shift. Did anything change in your waking life around that time?"

"School got harder, friends drifted away. I started to feel isolated. The forest became a reflection of my inner turmoil. But there was something else. A presence. I couldn't see it, but I could feel it. And then, it revealed itself."

"What was it?"

"A wolf. Huge, with glowing eyes. It stalked me, always just beyond the next tree. I couldn't escape it, no matter how fast I ran. It whispered to me, taunted me, saying it was only a matter of time before it caught me."

"A wolf is a powerful symbol. It could represent fear, power, or a part of yourself you're trying to avoid. What happened next?"

"On my twentieth birthday, the wolf spoke clearly. It told me I had to face it, that running was futile. The dreams became a nightly hunt. I was no longer the prey, but a hunter as well. The forest became a battleground. I learned to fight, to stand my ground."

"And did you ever confront the wolf directly?"

"Yes. It happened a few nights ago. I cornered it in a clearing. We fought, but it wasn’t a battle of strength. It was a battle of wills. And then, just as I was about to defeat it, I realized... I was the wolf. I had been hunting myself all along."

"That's a profound realization, Mr. Harper. It sounds like your subconscious was trying to tell you something crucial about yourself."

"Yes, but that’s not the end. The moment I accepted the wolf, the forest transformed. It became a mirror. The trees reflected my life, my fears, my desires. And there, in the heart of the forest, I saw a figure. It was you, Dr. Mallory."

"Me? But why?"

"Because you’ve been guiding me through this. Every night, we have this conversation, trying to untangle the dream. And each time, I realize it’s you who’s trapped here, in this endless loop. You're the one who can't wake up."

"That’s impossible. I’m awake right now, talking to you."

"No, Dr. Mallory. This is your dream. I am a part of your mind, trying to help you understand. You have been lost in your own subconscious ever since you... since the accident."

"What accident?"

"The one that claimed your life. You were driving late at night, coming back from a conference. You never made it home. You’ve been in a coma ever since, and this is where you’ve been—lost in your own mind."

"No, this can't be true!"

"It is. And now, you need to wake up. It's time to let go. Your family is waiting for you, Dr. Mallory. Wake up."

As the realization dawned on Dr. Mallory, the forest began to dissolve, the whispers fading into silence. And then, there was only light.

Mr. Harper sat in the dimly lit office, staring at the empty chair where Dr. Mallory used to sit. The clock ticked on, and he knew it was time to leave. The dreams had ended, and so had the therapy sessions. Dr. Mallory had finally found peace.

psychological

About the Creator

Cole sutcliffe

Passionate content creator driven to share captivating stories and valuable insights across diverse topics. With a keen eye for detail and engaging storytelling, I specialize in crafting content that captivates, informs, and inspires.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sherif Saad28 days ago

    good story

Cole sutcliffeWritten by Cole sutcliffe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.