Horror logo

The Visitor

a haunted house story

By Georgianna NielsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Self Portrait

My boyfriend has always said his house is haunted. I have always laughed at that. He’s told me stories about hearing strange running sounds on the stairs when no one else was in the house, sometimes even a loud THUD on the landing, like someone had jumped down onto it. He talks about hearing knocking from the downstairs bathroom, or from the kitchen where the refrigerator sits. Sometimes a closet door swings open on its own, or a chair creaks beside him when he watches a movie.

I’m always skeptical. I have been there many times, alone even, and had never heard anything unsettling. A few startling rattles from the bathroom pipes, and the occasional sound of the freezer making new ice, but nothing too alarming. Nothing ever happened while I was there...until it did.

This past weekend, I stayed at the house alone. The first day there I spent my time sitting by the warm fireplace, reading, and nothing out of the ordinary occurred. Before bed, I grabbed some rum from the liquor cabinet and made myself a cup of hot buttered rum(puts you right to sleep!). The cabinet has those annoying overlapping doors that wont close right unless you close one after the other in a specific way. I made sure to close them properly. The next morning, while sitting at the dining table with coffee and breakfast, I heard a CREAK next to me. At the same moment I looked over at the liquor cabinet, one of the annoying doors opened on its own. I watched it slowly swing open wider and wider, and gently tap the wall next to it. I was confused by this because I made sure to properly latch the annoying cabinet doors the night before. It seemed like a random time to suddenly open on its own. My mind didn't immediately jump to ghosts, but I was weirded out.

Later the same day, I heard the strange sound of someone running up and down the stairs, like my partner had mentioned. I knew no one was in the house with me, but I took a worried peek anyway--nothing. I bounced on each step for a bit to see if they were just naturally creaky, because it is an old house, but I didn't hear a single sound. I went about the rest of my day, keeping an ear peeled.

The third day was uneventful until the evening, just before it got dark. I was in the kitchen making tomato soup for dinner when I heard the distinct sound of the garage door opening. I ran to the door, thinking maybe my boyfriend was back, but no one was there. I peeked through all of the windows and didn’t see a thing; no kids or neighbors around. I shut the garage door from inside the house, closed all of the blinds, and double checked the locks on the doors. I didn’t feel like I was in danger, but things were getting strange. I stayed alert all night. Luckily, my partner was off of work late at night so I didn’t have to sleep alone. He kept telling me, “see! I knew it was haunted! I told you!

The following day, all seemed well. No creaks, or rattles, or opening of doors. I kept an eye open and an ear peeled just in case.

I took the photo above in the house, both as a form of expression through self portraiture, and to make my experience a little more tangible and understandable. Was the house just old and creaky? Did I not close the liquor cabinet completely? What about the garage door? I’m not sure what happened, but I will probably believe my boyfriend when he tells me a story about hearing noises in his house now.

2

About the Creator

Georgianna Nielson

Instagram: @georgienielson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.