Horror logo

The Visitor

Death always knows where to find you.

By Maurice BernierPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Malcolm Green on Unsplash

It was a long, hard weekend. I was just plain tired. First, it was teaching the children in the morning. Then, it was the things that my buddies and I had gone through with the dead. Why can't the dead stay dead? In any case, I am looking forward to a good night's well-deserved rest.

I just finished washing my clothes and put them in the dryer. I want to go out tomorrow morning and do some shopping for work. I saw a nice suit that I want to buy for work. For now, I am going to sleep the night away. Let me put on some nice music. I need something to lull me to dreamland.

My pillow is so comfortable. It is just too cool for belief. My blanket is so toasty warm. This is ideal. My mattress feels like a softbox of feathers. I am ready to shake hands with the Sandman. I haven't had any sleep for the last few nights. This will be the best night of my week.

I love my new apartment. It seems to give off some strange feelings, though. I did get a great deal on it. I don't know anything about the previous tenant. The owners just wanted to dump the place as fast as possible. They gave me such a good deal on the place. I had to take the offer. I didn't get a chance to move all of my things in yet. I only have a few things here to tide me over until a later date. For now, I just need some rest. Let me turn off the light.

For some reason, though, I don't feel like I am alone here in my own room. It feels like someone is looking at me. They are staring at me. It's too dark for anyone to see me. Besides that, I double bolted the door. How can they get past a tightly secured door? I must be alone. Still, I feel that strange feeling.

Let me put the light on and see what is the matter. All I have to do is flip the switch. There. Now, let me scan the room. Nothing over there by the dresser. Nothing near the closet.

Wait! Who is that sitting in my easy chair? It is a woman. She is an old woman. She looks like she is 95 years old. Her hair is white. Her face is kind of contorted. She's staring at me. Who is she? I am too scared to scream. Let me reach for my night light.

Good. The room is well lit, but where is she? She's gone. Where did she go? I didn't see her leave. The door is still closed. How did she get out? More importantly, how did she get in? I am scared. She was really gruesome, practically ghoulish. I am really scared. I can't sleep like this. What did she want?

Nobody told me that the place is haunted. Why is she showing up in my room? I don't know her. I have to find out her identity. I'm going to have to sleep with the light on for the evening. Oh no! The light blew out. Good thing I still have my mini flashlight. Let me find my clothes. I'll put them on and go sleep in the living room. I am sure that she must be the reason why the former owners left as quickly as they did. They must know something about this specter.She seems to be a grim reminder of something.

Why am I still living in this place? I think that I'll go and sleep in the car. Wait a minute! I don't have a car anymore. Let me call the boys. I'll stay with them until morning. Nope. The phone is still inside with the ghost. I'll just go outside and use a pay phone. On second thought, this sofa is very comfortable. I can easily fall asleep right here. I will leave the light on.

Gee, I had a good sleep. It's eight o'clock in the morning. I wonder if that creepy woman is still in my room. Let me go inside and check.

No, she isn't here. I still want to know where she came from. I am going to first replace the light bulbs. Then, I am going to call the former owners and see if I can find out who this lady is. She seems to come from nowhere and it scares the daylights out of me.

Where is that number? Oh, here it is.

"Hello.It's me, Marcel. I got a problem here. I went to bed last night.During the evening, some wo---. (pause) You know about her? And you felt that I wouldn't need to know this? I beg to differ. She has visited me last night. I don't recall inviting her to my room. I would like to believe that I have much better taste than that. She looked rather pale. (pause) She's dead???She wants her place back? (pause) She can have it!!! I want my money back. (pause) Thank you."

I think that I will go to a nice resort next year and stay.....WITH THE LIVING!

THE END

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Maurice Bernier

I am a diehard New Yorker! I was born in, raised in and love my NYC. My blood bleeds orange & blue for my New York Mets. I hope that you like my work. I am cranking them out as fast as I can. Please enjoy & share with your friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.