Horror logo

The Shadow of the Beast

The Horrifying Tale of Millfield’s Cursed Transformation

By Umut ÇalışkanPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

I had always dreamed of escaping the noise and chaos of the city and settling down in a quiet, peaceful village. And when I stumbled upon the quaint little town of Millfield, with its picturesque cottages and friendly residents, I knew that I had found my new home.

I rented a cozy cottage on the outskirts of the village, and at first, everything seemed perfect. The villagers were welcoming, and I spent my days exploring the nearby woods and fields, reveling in the beauty and tranquility of my new surroundings. But things quickly took a dark turn. As soon as I moved in, I noticed that something was off about the villagers. They were always watching me, their eyes following me wherever I went. And there was something unsettling about the way they spoke, as if they were reciting memorized lines rather than speaking from the heart. But it wasn’t until the first full moon of my stay that I realized the true nature of the village. As I lay in bed, trying to drift off to sleep, I heard the sound of screams and howls in the distance. I tried to ignore it, thinking that it was just a wild animal, but the noise grew louder and more frenzied.

I couldn’t take it anymore. I got out of bed and looked out the window, and what I saw made my blood run cold. The villagers were outside, their bodies contorted and twisted, their eyes glowing with an otherworldly light. They were monsters. I tried to run, but I quickly realized that I was trapped. The villagers had surrounded the house, and their howls and screams were deafening. I was sure that I was going to die, that these monsters were going to tear me limb from limb. But then, just as suddenly as it had started, it all stopped. The villagers returned to their normal forms, as if nothing had happened. They acted as if they didn’t even remember the events of the previous night.

I was terrified, but I tried to convince myself that it was all just a nightmare, that I had imagined everything. But as the nights passed, the howls and screams grew louder and more frequent, and I knew that I wasn’t just imagining things. I tried to leave the village, but every time I tried to escape, something would stop me. My car would break down, or the roads would be blocked, or I would get lost in the woods. It was as if the village didn’t want me to leave, as if it was trapping me there. Desperate for answers, I turned to the only person who seemed to understand the true nature of the village: a local historian named David. He was a strange man, with piercing eyes and a haunted look about him, but he knew more about the curse that had befallen Millfield than anyone else.

David revealed that the curse had been placed on the village centuries ago by a group of witches who had been betrayed and killed by the villagers. In retaliation, the witches had cursed the village, condemning its inhabitants to transform into monsters every full moon. I was horrified. I realized that I was trapped in a village of monsters, a place where the lines between reality and nightmare had been blurred beyond recognition. And I knew that I would never be able to escape. In the end, I was just another victim of the curse. Another lost soul trapped in the twisted, haunted village of Millfield. A warning to all those who dared to enter its borders.

Years later, long after I had left Millfield, I received a package in the mail. Inside was an old book, the same book that David had shown me so many years ago. On the inside cover, there was a note from David. It read: “I’m sorry for what happened to you in Millfield. I hope this book will help you understand the curse and perhaps even break it. Be careful, and don’t come back to the village.” I was torn. Part of me wanted to burn the book and forget everything that had happened in Millfield, but another part of me was curious. Could there be a way to break the curse? Could I save the village from its terrible fate? Ultimately, my curiosity got the better of me. I returned to Millfield, armed with the knowledge from the book and a determination to break the curse.

But when I arrived, I found that the village had changed. The cottages were abandoned, and the fields were overgrown with weeds. The only sound was the eerie silence of a place long forgotten. As I walked through the empty streets, I realized that I had made a terrible mistake. I had come back to a place where I was no longer welcome, a place where the curse still held sway. And then, just as I was about to turn and leave, I heard a sound behind me. It was a low, guttural growl, and it was coming from the shadows.

I turned around, and what I saw made me wish I had never returned to Millfield. The villagers had returned, but they were different now. They were no longer the twisted, contorted monsters that I had seen before. They were something far more terrifying. Their eyes glowed with a cold, inhuman light, and their bodies were covered in a thick layer of fur. Their jaws hung open, revealing rows of razor-sharp teeth, and their claws dug into the ground, leaving deep gouges in the dirt. I tried to run, but it was too late. They were upon me in an instant, tearing at my flesh with their sharp claws and teeth. I screamed for help, but there was no one around to hear me.

And then, just as suddenly as it had started, it was over. The villagers returned to their human forms, and they acted as if nothing had happened. But I knew that something had changed. The curse had taken hold once more, and there was nothing I could do to stop it. I stumbled out of the village, battered and broken, but alive. As I walked away from the cursed village of Millfield, my mind kept returning to the note that David had left inside the book. It had seemed so kind and apologetic, but now I wondered if there was more to it than met the eye. The more I thought about it, the more I began to realize that David might have been behind the curse all along. He had always been so interested in the village’s history, and he had been the one to suggest that we explore the abandoned cottages.

And then there was his strange behavior after we had witnessed the villagers’ transformation. He had seemed almost too calm and collected, as if he had known what was going to happen all along. It was all starting to add up, and I couldn’t shake the feeling that David was somehow connected to the curse. But how could that be? He had always been such a kind and gentle person. As I walked back to my car, I decided that I needed to confront David and get some answers. But when I reached my car, I found that it had been completely destroyed. The tires were slashed, and the windows were smashed in. And then I saw him. David was standing just a few feet away, a look of pure malice on his face. His eyes glowed with a cold, inhuman light, and his body was covered in fur. “You shouldn’t have come back,” he growled, his voice low and guttural.

I stumbled back, my mind reeling in horror. It was true. David was the real curse of Millfield, a monster in human form. He lunged at me, and I scrambled to get away. But he was too fast, too strong. He knocked me to the ground and began tearing at my flesh with his sharp claws and teeth. As I lay dying on the ground, I realized that the curse of Millfield was not some ancient legend or supernatural force. It was a man, a man who had been consumed by his own greed and thirst for power. And as my life slipped away, I knew that David would continue to haunt the village of Millfield, spreading his curse and terrorizing anyone who dared to cross his path.

urban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalfiction
Like

About the Creator

Umut Çalışkan

Motivation stories sometimes tech related stuff

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.