Horror logo

The Rabbit Hunts for her Fox at Night

Will the rabbit find her fox?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
The Rabbit Hunts for her Fox at Night
Photo by Bara Cross on Unsplash

A soft summer breeze blew my purple sundress as the solar eclipse began, darkening the world around me. My copper eyes blinked once, my normal world of a hot sticky summer day dissolved to a forest of dead twisted trees. Strange fog drifted up trying to reach the fingers of the branches. A murder of crows gathered in front of me, beady black eyes staring back at mine. Dew clung desperately to the dead brown grass beneath my worn black flats. Winter-like breezes nipped at my pale skin.

“You must be from the other side of the eclipse.” A handsome man in a top hat mused. “Welcome to the dark side.” My heart sank in my stomach, watching his red eyes meet my frightened eyes. His raven black hair hung around his shoulder in soft waves, his black suit standing out against the thick unnatural fog. A golden stopwatch ticked loudly on his silvery vest threaded with faded lines of purple. The biggest crow landed gently on his shoulder, cawing in his ear. His black-gloved hands ruffled its feathers playfully, the bird closing its eyes in pleasure.

“Who are you?” I demanded angrily, nervously tugging at my long side braid. “Why am I here?” Holding his finger to his lips, he shrugged lightly. Fury throbbed in my veins, giving my temper a good rise. He sauntered over to me, and took off his fancy coat. A blanket of warmth surrounded my shoulders as his coat covered my shivering hourglass figure. The smell of vanilla and mint drifted into my nostrils, relaxing my tense muscles. Curiously, he tucked a stray hair behind my ear, examining my glass raven earrings. The cold prevented me from hitting him in the face.

“Are you Raven, or something like that?” He queried, stepping back. “Do you want refreshments?” A crooked grin danced across his kissable lips, making my heart skip a beat. This was not the time to fall in love, definitely not. Hell was he even human? Also his child-like avoidance was irking my very soul right now. This was not a moment akin to one breaking their mother’s favorite vase.

“No, it is Yvette.” I grumbled, rolling my eyes. “And you didn’t tell your bloody name. What are you anyway?” Chuckling to himself, he wrapped his arms around my trembling shoulders. My hand immediately shoved him off. Hurt dimmed his eyes, breaking my heart ever so slightly. It was probably his fault I was here anyway.

“I am Declan Guilton, and I was trying to escape.” He explained, looking gloomily at the large black mushroom next to him. “I was doing a spell, but it only brought you to me.” Shock and wonder filled my eyes, wondering how I did not recognize him. He was my crush from my workplace last year. One odd night he disappeared, never to be seen again until now.

“You are the guy I used to li-” I began but stopped. His eyebrows raised quizzically, his lips pressing together tightly. Shoot, my freaking mouth almost blew it. He opened his mouth, but stopped as a large cloaked figure stood a few feet from us. A black iron scythe glistened in the one ray of gray moonlight. His slender hand tugged me deep into the deep forest, our chests rising up and down with shortening breaths. Fright froze my body, three figures appearing in front of us. My heart is nearly beating out of my chest, already burning from the running.

“Come on, Yvette!” He shouted, pulling at my frozen body. “We have to go, or they will suck out your soul.” His gruff voice woke me up, telling me to move or lose my soul forever. Ice crept towards our feet, cooling the atmosphere thirty more degrees. Snow started to fall around us blanketing the ground around in a fresh blanket of white. We tried to run, but panic burned in our eyes at the sight of our feet stuck to the ground.

“Take off your shoes.” I hollered, kicking my shoes off, feeling for my dad’s golden lighter in my pocket. “I am not going this way, and nor are you.” Snow burned at my ankles, my feet sinking further into the freshly laid snow. He grunted and groaned picking me up off the ground. With a strange ease, he tossed me over his shoulder. Snowflakes rushed around my head, cold air nipping at my face as he leapt onto a tall cliff behind us. The cloaked figures moaned chillingly as the winter evening they created. A cold skeletal hand grasped my ankle tightly, my heart stopping in its track. Afraid to look down, his black hood fell down to reveal a rotting face. Yellow teeth dropped to the ground, nauseating my stomach. Horror widened my eyes, his body climbing up my body. Iciness washing over me with each touch of his dead hands. A bright light blinded us, tossing us into a sticky summer night in New England. The figure was gone, relief washing over me. Crickets chirped, and owls hooted in the green lush forest next to us.

“Are you okay?” He fretted, pulling me to my shaky feet. “We did it though. We got out of that god forsaken place.” Tears were welling up in his red eyes, his arms wrapping around my small waist. Two fangs grew from his teeth, his arms pushing me away. Spiderwebs of ice crept towards us, a large gust pulling my hair out of my braid. Three cloaked figures darted towards him scythes out. Cool air rushed around me as I leapt in front of him, taking the brunt of the hits. Pain and chills shot through my body, bleeding out my lifeforce.

“No!” Declan called out, sprinting towards us. “Leave her alone.” One skeletal hand raised up, knocking him into a nearby tree. Thump, thump thu- , my heart stopped beating. Fangs grew from my teeth, my hair growing to my waist. My body seized until smells and millions of voices exploded around me. A severe pounding imploded my brain, making the world blur around me.

“Now you are one of us.” The biggest one hissed monstrously, chilling me to my bones. “Join us and rule the world.” An evil smile curled at the corner of my lips, my feet kicking all the scythes out of their bony yellowed fingers. Snatching one up, the blade sliced neatly all of their heads off. Black ooze flowed from their necks, onto the ground below. Their heads clanked against my feet. Pain exploded in my chest, my heart roaring back to life. Fresh air streamed into my lungs, relieving the world's largest headache. A warm summer breeze melted the ice, owls and crickets sang their sweet summer night songs. The body faded away into nothing, leaving no evidence behind. Declan looked over at me with a look of pure joy. Relief washed over me when his emerald green eyes glanced over at me. His boots thudded against the ground, wrapping his arms around my waist. The stickly hot air clung to my skin as he spun me around.

“How are we alive?” I wondered out loud, noting the lighter energy in the air. “It must b-” His lips pressed against mine hungrily. Time melted away, leaving just us in the cruel world for a moment. Pulling back, both of our faces were scarlet. Clearing his throat, he let go awkwardly.

“Sorry about that.” He apologized, scratching the back of his head. “I guess this would be a bad time to tell you that I-” Leaning up to him, my lips kissed his soft lips passionately. A dazed look entered my gaze when he held me tightly around my waist.

“I like you too.” I admitted sheepishly, looking over at the river flowing next to us. “I was going to tell you that the day you disappeared. I am just glad you are back.” Laughing to himself, he patted the top of my head like he used to do at work. My heart fluttered excitedly, hoping he would do it again.

“Little Rabbit, don’t you go hopping away from me this time.” He mused, tucking the hair behind my ear. “Can we go back to your little hutch, and figure things out? Do they still have my job open?” Chuckling to myself, a bright smile illuminated my face at that last statement. A crooked grin threatened to curl at the corner of his lips.

“No my Fox.” I groaned, face palming my dainty face. “I do happen to own my own book store named the Fox and the Rabbit. I bought our old workplace. Would you be my fox to my rabbit?” Shaking his head, he intertwined his fingers with mine. My mind raced waiting for his answer, hoping it would be a yes.

“Doesn’t the fox always get what he wants?” He teased, smirking warmly. “Come now. The hunt is over.” The stars twinkled over us, a large blue moon illuminating the path ahead. Our future was bright as the moon above.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.