Horror logo

Pine Tree Camp

The worst, but maybe the best night.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2
Pine Tree Camp
Photo by Dylan Hunter on Unsplash

The trees towered over me. Stars twinkled in the navy night sky. A large campfire roared in front of me. My red-headed friend Misty chatted away in her white t-shirt and blue leggings. Her dark-haired boyfriend sat on the large log ignoring her and looking at me in my black band t-shirt and spiderweb leggings. Nervously, I played with my long wavy hair that was trimmed inverted. She cleared her throat, and grinned with sinister intent.

“I have a scary story to tell you guys.” She announced, placing her beer gingerly on the ground. “It is about the Pine Tree Slasher. It was nineteen eighty-four and three friends went camping in this very spot. They were a couple and one friend. The boyfriend was cheating with her best friend. She got so jealous that she ripped out the vehicle’s battery, and tossed it in the woods. A hatchet glimmered in the moonlight as blood splattered her face with each swing into the lovers. Laughing maniacally, she cooked a stew called cheater stew.” Something felt off. It was almost as if she was accusing me of cheating with her boyfriend. His green eyes flitted between my copper eyes and her gray eyes. Her chest rose angrily.

“Are you okay?” He asked, rubbing her arm. “I love you. Perhaps we should go to bed. I will put out the fire.” Shrugging, my feet dragged over to my tent. The zipper echoed in the still night air as I crawled into my small green tent. Sighing, my fingers twitched as I zipped it shut. Two sleepless hours passed when I heard a person messing with the Jeep’s hood. A loud thud rang out in the chilly night air. A silver blade cut my tent revealing Misty’s crazed face. Black eyes bore into mine. My heart fell to my stomach when the zipper started to move. Fear widened my eyes, making me panic in my mind. What the hell! Cold hands ripped me out of my tent and tied me to a large trunk. Her boyfriend Todd wiggled away on the tree next to me.

“Admit it!” Misty screamed, waving a hatchet around. “You two are seeing each other.” Confusion twisted our faces. Daggers shot from her dark eyes, causing my heart to race even faster. Cold sweat poured down my forehead. The knot was pretty loose, so maybe I could work out an escape route.

“I only love you, my dear.” He pleaded with fear-stricken eyes. “I don’t even think she is attractive.” Ouch, that hurt. I thought he was handsome. The rope around my waist dropped to the ground, making her turn towards me. Rubbing my wrists, my feet slowly approached her.

“This isn’t you.” I said, eying the hatchet. “He loves you, and only you.” His ropes fell around his feet. A vein throbbed on her pale forehead. Her fist clenched as we sprinted to his green jeep. The key wouldn’t turn over. Shit she removed the battery! A silver blade smashed inches from my head. A tire rod sat on the seat behind me. Howls poured from her lips as the metal cracked her skull.

“Get the battery in while I distract her.” I ordered, sprinting into the thick woods. Her boots crunched behind me. Rocks cut into the soul of my feet. Branches scratched my cheeks. Pain ran through my back as her hatchet slammed into my shoulder. Gritting my teeth, I ripped it out of my shoulder. Blood soaked my back as my shirt clung to my hourglass figure. Stopping to catch my breath, my cut screamed I lleaned up against the nearest tree. Breathing deeply, my lungs stopped burning for a moment. Evil laughter rang all around the woods, making my head throb ferociously. Panic rose in my body when her black eyes were staring into mine. A second hatchet shimmered in her hand. Metal scraped against metal, ringing from the blades hitting each other.

“You can’t hide from me.” She teased with a dark smile. “I know these woods like the back of my hand. I have been living here for the last two weeks. She was easy to kill, and then to contort her mind into hating you. By god she really thought you two were together. Although I can hardly blame her. He gives you that look, and ignores her.” Gulping, her blade stuck into the tree. Taking my opportunity, my feet ached as I sprinted towards the jeep, whose lights were now on. The passenger side was open as I leapt into the seat. He sped off the moment I was there secure. A fever was setting in as we pulled onto the main drag.

“What the fuck was that!” He exclaimed, looking into the dark night. “Are you okay? I should have known, she was not the same after a hike a couple of weeks back.” He tossed me a t-shirt from the back. Frowning, the skin stung the moment I pressed it to the wound. A loving look flickered over in my direction.

“Can you just be honest with me?” I inquired, searching for the ibuprofen. “Do you like me, instead of her? Please tell me that you didn’t date her to get to me.” His mouth opened to speak, but a gray face appeared in my window. Misty was back to finish the job. Dirty fingernails dug into my skin, scraping my dirty skin. Yellow teeth fell onto my lap the moment she smiled. Dinner almost came to visit again.

“I love her, not you Misty!” He screamed, shocking the both of us. “I used to love you, but damn you talked too much. She always listened to me, not you.” A shrill inhuman screech erupted from her black lips. Moths flew from her mouth, nearly causing us to crash. The moment they were gone she was. Orange rays rose over the green mountains. Sighing in relief, he drove me to the town hospital. Two hours and sixty stitches later, we were heading to our apartment.

“Did you mean it?” I questioned, looking into his eyes tiredly. “I like you too. I didn’t make any moves because you looked so happy. I still wouldn’t have cheated though.” The silence was deafening as he peeled into the driveway. He leaned over and pressed his lips against mine passionately. Time melted away, leaving just the two of us. Our faces flushed scarlet when he pulled away. Urges rose in me, but a thump on the window interrupted us. A cop flashed a bright light into our window.

“Can you tell me why you fled the campsite tonight? What can you tell me about your friend?” He conceded, clearing his throat. “Your girlfriend was found dead on the side of the road. The weird part is that she had been dead for a couple of months now.” Weird looks darkened our faces.

“Truth is sir, that she dumped me two months ago. She left the apartment and her stuff behind.” He explained calmly. “I tried calling her, but she never picked up. As for the campground, a bear was on our site. I did not want to inhabit a bear’s stomach.” The officer smiled and tilted his hat. The cruiser peeled out, leaving us on our own. An odd look darkened my face as he held my hand.

“Why did you lie?” I uttered, gripping his hand tighter. Shaking his head, he rubbed his forehead.

“I don’t think the cop was going to accept that my girlfriend was possessed and tried to kill us.” He said sarcastically. Shrugging, I hopped out of the car and into my white boring apartment. Something pulled me to her bedroom. A rotten smell wafting into my nose, making my dinner burn up my throat. A bunch of dead animals lay on their bed. The cop pulled back in after we waved him back down. Cautiously, we led him to her room. A visible look of disgust flashed on his face.

“She must have committed suicide in the forest. We have seen this before.” He explained, dialing backup. We gathered up a couple of outfits, and headed to my mother’s house. Finally we were in the clear. My mom waved us in, and we ran up to my Gothic bedroom. In exhaustion, we collapsed into an exhausted pile.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.