Horror logo

The Psychic doctor and the Widow

A horror fiction

By AmetafPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
The Psychic doctor and the Widow
Photo by Katsiaryna Endruszkiewicz on Unsplash

The reputation of Doctor was always at its peak in Ashtead, a small village in the south of central London. It was around the year 1810. With only a few reputable doctors in the whole of London, especially those who practiced modern medicine, Doctors amassed quite a lot of attention. It was reported that he had a good number of patients every day which derived from the practice of medicine and counseling, resulting in one of the highest incomes in the community.

Doctor Petrick Johnson is actually an American who traveled all the way to London to fulfill his desire for adventure and knowledge with an itsy bit of intention for service to the people. This is the rational Doctor usually presents when peers question him why he traveled so far for the practice of modern medicine. However, the true reason lies in his history back in his hometown.

One good evening, Doctor had just finished his favorite supper time with steak and roasted veggies- when he picked up the list of visits pending for the next day. Sipping on his earl grey tea, the Doctor counted up to six patients to fill up his day when suddenly a knocked at the door startled him.

“YES!” the Doctor responded sharply.

Looking up, he recognized his assistant, Lay, holding on to the doorknob; hesitant to announce what he came for. Doctor quickly noticed the panic all over Lay’s face.

“Is it a patient? How bad is the condition that you turned this pale?” the Doctor asked.

“No, Sir.”

“Well, go on then. You know I don’t see anyone out of my consulting hours, especially a stranger.”

“It’s a widow, sir. She says she needs to talk to you.”

“A widow! Tell her the hours and send her away.”

“I told her, sir. She just won’t leave.”

“Won’t leave?” the Doctor smirked as he repeated the words. The oddity of the situation brought out the humor in him instead of the anger that Lay is so familiar with.

Doctor turned towards the window right behind his desk. A wide 7 feet long window with stained glass art and a hauntingly beautiful view of the village. Perhaps the favorite spot for him to shelter the endless thoughts. Doctor considered for a moment.

“Did she give a name?”

“No, sir. She just kept repeating- it can’t wait till tomorrow.”

“Alright. Let her in.” No matter how bizarre it sounded to Lay, he followed the order without a single question.

Lay has been the only assistant that consistently stayed by Doctor’s side for more than 3 years. Doctor meet his variety of personalities over a decade and none of them carried the position for more than a year and a half. Lay was special from the very beginning. He never questioned Doctor’s wishes. He was like a calm breeze in Doctor’s life. A partner and friend, Doctor always imagined. Quite yet intelligent; Disciplined yet kind.

Lay led the widow to the consulting room. A cozy armchair, few books on the shelf, a dim source of light, and a few green plants. Lay left the mysterious woman in the undisturbed possession of the room. He noiselessly closed the door and effortlessly left the area without a single sound.

After a couple of minutes in hand for preparations, Doctor entered the room. Covered in black attire, the woman quickly caught the attention of the doctor. With a handsome presence and piercing blue eyes, the women definitely looked of foreign race.

“It has been quite the wait to meet you Doctor.” The women proceeded. “I wouldn’t be here if they didn’t lead me your way.”

Taken aback by the peculiar first impression, Doctor led the women towards the patient’s sit. Sitting against the window, the women looked awfully pale. Her lips were as red as the cherries but lined with hints of purple and blue. The unwrinkled skin and the cold posture of her strangely looked familiar to the Doctor.

“What is it that troubles you at this hour that you demand to seek my assistance right away?” Doctor asked in a determined tone. More than anything else, Doctor is curious about the motive behind her visit at the hour of sunset.

“I want to know whether I am losing my mind or not.” The widow turned her head gracefully towards Doctor and replied in a soft yet agitated manner.

Doctor looked at the widow. “I thought this would be the case that might satisfy my search for interesting cases, medical miracles but it is rather a madwoman.” Doctor thought to himself.

“I don’t treat insanity. Why don’t you consult a doctor specializing in such studies and beliefs?” Doctor replied to the woman’s request with a clear disappointment.

“I don’t go to doctors of such kind as my cases are beyond their studies.” The women insisted. “They said you are keen to solving questions outside the scopes of knowledge of the society. It is the very reason I seek your advice.”

One of the reasons for the Doctor’s massive popularity is his ability to cure remote and terminal diseases that had no hope in magic or medicine. He was greatly satisfied by the answer the widow gave on his professional capacity.

“I am ready to examine you. Let me try and find out what the matter is.” Doctor said.

And so, the questions begin followed by a thorough examination of her health but physically and mentally. Doctor double-checked all the procedures as it was a matter of oppressional pride. After great patience and devotion, Doctor concluded to the widow, “Other than your atypical complexion, you are of great mind and health.”

“Or so is what you conclude- I guess this was actually a lost cause.” The widow murmured.

Doctor felt pity at the desperation of the widow. Doctor insisted on telling him all the stories she feels are relevant and not hiding any details from him.

The widow started her story with the great depression.

We met at the local church- the first time, she came across as one of the sisters of the church. I and my husband would always make sure to wait and say a few words to the sister. She was very friendly and would strike the conversation with lots of care and love. Maybe that is the reason we felt at ease with sharing our problems with her. Sister Noah and her heartfelt prayers helped strengthen our marriage. Until the day- I found a letter in my husband’s bible. I wasn’t spying on him but just doing my chores for the day. While tidying the shelf, I could see a letter protruding from the pages of the bible. I was only curious if that letter was of grave importance and I opened slightly, revealing the name, “Yours devotedly and lovingly, Noah.”

“So, your husband was having an affair with the sister from the local church?” The Doctor interrupted.

“If only it was that simple.” The widow continued.

I read the letter from top to bottom. I couldn’t believe what was going on, so I read twice. The letter was a confession of love, betrayal, and misdeeds. Slowly, my life started to make sense as I piece my memories and hers together. I could understand why my husband had two sides to him.

“What did the letter say?” Doctor broke his silence with curiosity for the first time.

“They fancied each other before I was married to my husband. Why their love didn’t work out? I am still not sure. But I always felt something special was between them, every time we visited Sister Noah after the Sunday prayers.”

The widow continued her story.

“The letter confesses how Sister Noah regrets turning down the only man she ever loved after God. She regrets it because God blessed her with the sign. That sign is their child together.”

Doctor assured his undisturbed attention to the widow’s story with a strange smile. Despite the humor and gravity of the story, Doctor still can’t figure out how he fits in this plot. He wanted to stop her there. In the already complicated maze of stories, Doctor began to doubt whether he can afford to make the widow get to the point. His mind is fixated on finding miracles of nature or mysteries of science in her story but so far it looks like a typical mad woman worried over her husband’s affair. Doctor had his excuses ready- his approach drastically changed as he saw her tender fingers tremble. With the desperate pauses in between her sentences and the firm anger to compose herself to finish the story of her ordeal, Doctor found the necessary compassion and stood committed to the story.

The widow added to her story.

“I was in no condition to blame her. For it was I who robbed her of her lover- I felt ashamed yet fixated at returning the lovers, their rightful place. I am hesitant to clarify but we were a household with two wives. Soon Noah gave birth to the child, a beautiful daughter that reminds of the brightest spring days. We were living a content life. Or so I thought. But I know they saw me as a burden to their relationship. The perfect elimination to complete their perfect family. They fed me slow poison in every meal. I lost my sense of taste. I lost my womanhood and my dream for a child, ever impossible. The poison left me limping on one foot. I can see and hear but people choose to ignore my existence because of my ghostly appearance. Most of the time, I don’t leave my room. I avoid interaction with anyone. I turned cold head to toe since that day when I think the poison was heavy. Fortunately, I still woke up and hid. Please, good sir, tell me if I am a madwoman?”

“Your story does show the hidden capabilities of wicked people, but I can assure you, you are mentally sane and emotionally stable.” Doctor claimed.

The widow sank in her chair. Doctor implored her to say what she wishes the Doctor to help her with.

“I want you to come visits me tomorrow and have a talk with my husband. Noah gives me poison in the disguise of medicine for insanity and my husband believes her. Kind sir, can you help me and explain to my husband I am not insane. It’s your specialty to save lives.”

“I have already completed my inspection. There is no sign of insanity or intellectual impairment. I can very much rely on the same message to your husband.” Doctor spoke in a low tone. He rose from his chair and closed the consultation. The widow drew her veil and left with a fatal impression of both Doctor and his assistant Lay. Doctor was left with a difficult feeling ever since the story of the widow and so he orders his assistant to find the house of this famous widow. Lay somehow managed to follow the scandal of two wives in the village and found the location.

It was around noon when Doctor and his assistant Lay arrived at the mansion of Mr. Brown. A tall man with a strange mustache. Apparently, he owns quite a few businesses in the village and in London. As uncomfortable and out of place Doctor felt, he still had to strike the first conversation.

“It’s a pleasure to be in your presence today. I come here to have a few words about your wife.”

“Doctor, it is my pleasure to actually have met you at this important hour. I was wanting to visit you for the same concerns. My wife has been feeling ill these days.” Mr. Brown said with a worried face.

“May I see her then to ask some questions regarding her illness?” Doctor was focused to see if the woman. The previous night Doctor suddenly realized that the woman was dressed in black, but she didn’t say her husband passed away. She talked as if her husband still lives. Then why the black dress? The widow attire? The whole time Doctor felt curious to know why she dressed up that way.

A few moments later, Mrs. Brown enters the room. Doctor was left with disbelief. His assistant Lay caught on. Mrs. Brown is not the woman who visited than the previous night.

“Mr. Brown, sorry for being blunt but I meant the other wife.” The Doctor attempted to conceal his hesitation.

“What do you mean by the other wife?” Mr. Brown raised his eyebrow.

“Your real wife. Isn’t this woman named Noah, the sister from church?” Lay, the assistant panicked.

“What are you talking about? This is my one and only wife Michele Brown. Why are you suddenly talking about our housekeeper Noah?” Mr. Brown rose from his seat. His face was filled with doubts and confusion.

“Housekeeper?” Doctor’s memory and his present started to contradict.

“Yes, our housekeeper who died of an unknown cause. She used to be a sister in the local church. Since the church burned down, she had nowhere to rely upon. So, we took her in our care, and she lived here, helping us with the chores and kids.” Mr. Brown tried to clarify the situation as much as he could.

Doctor and his assistant disbelievingly left the mansion. What was the truth of the widow? Who was the woman? What was the woman? All these questions remained unanswered in the disturbing records of Doctor’s case records.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Ametaf

I love writing horrors and mysteries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.