Horror logo

The People of Oakhaven Forest

The Second Cabin in the Woods

By Theresa M HochstinePublished 2 years ago 5 min read

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. A foul smell and thick black smoke erupted from the tattered brick chimney and an echoing of crows squawking filled the lavender sky as the sun slipped slowly beneath the Earth. We had been visiting this cabin annually for the past five years and never had it been occupied by another.

“Well, where do you want to camp now?” questioned Josh with his eyebrow furrowed. His tone was flat and he had this grimace across his face. Camping here was the highlight of my husband's year. His disappointment was almost contagious.

“There’s a second cabin a little further back. Do you want to give that a shot?” I replied with an enthusiastic jitter. (Josh was normally the positive one but he seemed so upset and I wanted to attempt to save our trip.) Josh forced a half-wide smile and nodded so we continued another two miles into the forest until we came to the second cabin. The logs of the cabin were chipped and brittle and the patio was tilted down.

“Phew, we made it!” I exclaimed as I wiped the sweat dripping from my brow.

“Yup.” Josh commented.

“What’s wrong mister grumpy gills?” I teased.

“This place is a lot more beat up than the other cabin.” he frowned.

“I know baby but we’ll make the best of it. After all, it is still a creepy cabin in the middle of nowhere.” Josh chuckled.

“Alright, let’s go inside and check it out then.”

We climbed up the steps. (Careful to avoid the ones that were busted or caved in.) Josh knocked twice and the door creaked open at a glacial pace. Josh poked his head in cautiously. \

“Hello, anyone using this cabin?” he shouted. We heard nothing. No wind, no birds. There was absolutely no sound.

“Guess not!” I cheered as I flung the door open and skipped inside. Josh followed close behind smiling and shaking his head.

“You are a nut.” he pointed out.

“Well I guess I’m a cannibal then because I like your nuts!” I joked. Josh exploded with laughter. (Thank goodness too because I was worried that our weekend was unsalvageable.) We dropped our bags on the wooden floor and used our flashlights to search the cabin. In the first room was an elegant brick fireplace which we used to bring some light into the room. Hand in hand we explored each room of the cabin. The kitchen appeared to have been unused for nearly fifty years. There was dirt glazed on the sink and dust cloaking the countertops.

An hour of scrubbing and the kitchen gleamed in the candlelight. The sun had set and the cabin was lit only by the candles we had found laying about. Still, I was hungry. I pulled a rusted pot from one of our bags and began to boil water. Josh roasted hotdogs on the fireplace while I made Mac and Cheese. (Specifically the Velvetta shells. That one is Josh’s favorite.” We sat side by side on the maroon and gold floral print loveseat and ate until our stomachs were ready to burst.

“Are you just about ready to call it a night babe?” Josh questioned as he snuck his arm around my neck. I smiled and snuggled closer.

“I sure am.” I responded. “I’m beat.” My eyes were drooping and my body trembled. He jumped out of the loveseat and offered me his hand which I took without hesitation, and I followed him to the bedroom peering back at the dark hallway which grew colder the further we got from the living room. By the time we reached the bedroom, I was shivering and my teeth were chattering. Josh laughed at me.

“How are you always cold?” he asked.

“I don’t know. I’m just defective I guess.” I clapped back. He just slapped his forehead with the palm of his head.(My guess is he was wondering what he was doing while still being married to me. Ha! Sucker.)

Josh placed the candle he was holding on the nightstand that sat beside his side of the queen sized bed. The bedsheets were black with silver roses, and felt much newer than we had expected they should but still, he pulled back the covers and we climbed into the bed. I snuggled close and placed my hand on his chest.

“Goodnight Elise. I love you, you goofy girl.” he whispered. Josh blew out the candle and kissed my forehead. I looked up at him.(I couldn’t see him but I managed to feel around his face until I found his lips.) I popped up and gave him a kiss.

“I love you too, Goodnight!” I layed back down beside him and he held me tight. I knocked out so quickly I hadn’t even realized I was falling asleep.

Suddenly, we woke to a gaggle of whispering voices. Male and female alike. I couldn’t understand their words. Josh shone the flashlight in every direction and in every direction were figures in hooded black cloaks with red trim around the wrists. Their arms were folded and their heads were facing down.

“Who the fuck are you people?!” Josh screamed. Terror was swimming in his eyes and his lip quivered. One figure lifted his head and smiled. His teeth were stained and shaved down to a point. The creature extended his arms, revealing a stick-like black arm with claws at the tip of his four fingers in place of nails.

“You will be coming with me.” said the monstrous being in a low-guttural voice.

“The fuck I am!” he shouted back. The figure scratched his claws against the footboard as he slowly made his way towards Josh. I could hear my heart pounding faster with each stride it made closer to us.

The pack flooded towards the bed and draped a black body bag over Josh and zipped him inside. I hit, and kicked, and screamed until a blow to the head caused my world to go dark.

When I woke, the sun was bright and humming birds sang in the near distance. (I thought I had just had a bad dream.) I stretched my back and reached my arms toward the sky as I let out an extended yawn. Josh wasn’t in bed. (I figured he had got an earlier start then I did.) On the table was a mouth-watering breakfast. There was ham, bacon, eggs, toast with butter and a glass of orange juice laid out at the round oak table. I took a seat and began to feast. The taste seemed strange and unfamiliar though. This was like no meat I have ever tasted. Josh wasn’t much of a cook so I assumed he just didn’t season it right but still I ate. Then I found what I thought to be a note from Josh explaining his whereabouts, it read:

We thank you for your sacrifice and hope that it will do you well to know your lover will still be with you for a little while longer..

Our sincerest regards:

The People of the Oakhaven Forest.

fictionurban legend

About the Creator

Theresa M Hochstine

I am a stay at home mom who writes for the love of it. I am passionate about writing as it is a constructive way for me to process negative emotions and work through my PTSD. Many of the stories are pulled from nightmares I have had. Enjoy!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Theresa M HochstineWritten by Theresa M Hochstine

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.