Horror logo

The Other Side

Divergence

By Kukua AfraPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
The Other Side
Photo by Donald Oliver on Unsplash

Blurb

This fiction is about female twins who don’t seem to see eye to eye. The oldest, Laurie is by nature a reticent person and one hell of a nerd. Laura on the other hand, is free spirited and she’s not admired by many because of how blunt she can be, she’s however nice when she chooses to. Laura's fate is determined after her sister passes away in a pedestrian-car accident. Follow through with me, as we unravel certain mysteries that will blow your mind.

Chapter 1

Introduction

Laurie and I were like two different worlds. We hardly agreed on anything, liked different things and didn't really get along. Don’t know if it’s because we had divergent view of things. And our parents certainly didn’t make it any better. The one thing we could agree on were certain TV shows and songs I guess, yeah yeah that does not really count I know.

It seemed to many that I didn’t care about almost anything especially when it came to my sister. If we didn’t have a striking resemblance, I bet people would think I was adopted or something, because I even thought so at a point.

Let’s face it, she was whip-smart. Well, I’m not dumb or something, just not good at the areas she was. She was more courteous than I am and probably will ever be, just saying. She was always in the good graces of whoever she came into contact with. And as reserved as she was she even had friends, well I for sure don’t. Well, except for this annoying guy Jason. He's a pain. Man, he gets on my last nerve. But he's the only one who likes me for me. I mean we’ve had our fights, but that’s besides the point. He’s a real one. Never admitting it to him though, I’ll be damned!

Rewind, rewind. Wondering why I keep referring to my sister in the past tense? well let’s not rush this just yet. It will all make sense very soon, trust me.

One year ago…

It’s Monday already! Grrr, I hate these early starts. The thought of waking from bed alone, really wished I wouldn’t resume school today. I hear footsteps approaching, bet its mum here to question why I’m still in bed other than prepare to leave for school like Laurie, their ‘perfect daughter’ had done already. And all the other grumblings I had grown used to. I sometimes wonder why she complains about everything I do; she even hates the program I’ve chosen to read in college. I mean not everybody is cut out to read pharmacy like my sister, reading fashion is equally cool. And it comes easily to me because it’s something I actually like and I’m pretty good at it, y’all looking at the valedictorian of Fashion 101 so you better show some love and respect yeah.

There’s a reason to be happy anyways because school has reopened and I can finally go be in my dorm, it is my safe space except for when my roomie decides to show. I mean technically she has the right to be sleeping there but she prefers to be at her boyfriend’s almost all the time which grants me the liberty to keep the room to myself. It may seem funny or should I say weird, but whenever she comes back, I feel like she’s invading my space. Thank heavens she doesn’t invite her boyfriend to stay over like ever. The three of us could actually fit since the room is big enough, but hell no!

Aneshka, my roomie seems cool though even though I barely know her. Well, is not exactly my fault, is it? She doesn’t exactly avail herself to be known, literally. I don’t really care how she is though, provided she doesn’t do anything that gets me uncomfortable or pissed off we’re fine and so far, she’s been okay so that’s fair enough.

Laura! what’s keeping you in your room for so long mum shouted interjecting my thoughts.

I’ll be down in a minute! I shouted back.

It’s the start of school year so I don’t see the need for a rush, but I had to listen to her and get down soon enough for my own peace of mind.

I dragged my suitcase down the stairs and headed to the door, not having breakfast with us before leaving? Dad asked.

I’ll eat later at my dorm, pops.

Why are you always like this Laura? Why not sit and eat with us, it didn’t look like you wanted to come out of your room if I hadn’t called out for you, and now you’re scurrying away as though you wanted to get to school this early, c’mon.

Ma, thanks but I’m honestly okay.

Don’t even know why your dad thought you would act any different; he tends to forget you’re not your sister. She didn’t need anybody telling her to join, she just did because it wouldn’t hurt to bond as a family before she leaves for school. Humph!

Oh really, what is it with you ma. I really can’t do this right now, got to leave. Bye.

supernaturalfiction
1

About the Creator

Kukua Afra

This writer believes in writing her heart out and letting her words paint a world that captivates and inspires

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

  • I know this is supposed to be the comment section, but just wanted to make this known. This story is not complete yeah. Will continue pretty soon so we can all appreciate what I intended to actually write about. Stay tuned yáll.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.