Horror logo

The Old Woman and the Burning Candle in the Window

It could be worse

By FindingYourFlowersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Old Woman and the Burning Candle in the Window
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

I am a ca re giver. The old woman I sit with, Diane, has dementia and Alzheimer's, so she can't remember much at any given time, and that's ok, I've known her my entire life and is a dear friend. Her house is a 5 minute drive from mine and we live in the backwoods. However, her house, is now a home for a demonic spirit. How do I know you ask? Well, sit tight, and enjoy my days of terror.

The first time I noticed anything strange, was that I felt someone or something watching me from the entry way from the garage, it was such an intense feeling, dread, fear, and extreme anxiety, were constantly at the forefront of my emotions while working for her. Along with the anxiety came the physical disturbances. She had this tiny little broom sitting against the wall in a corner, then one day all of a sudden it fell over to the floor on its own. I kind of just stared at it for a minute before going to pick it up, and I did look around incase there was something that could've caused it to fall, and I came up with nothing. So I put it back in its rightful place, and as me and one of my friends like to say, "ignore it until it gets serious", so that's what I did.

The next day, we were sitting in her room as usual and then sometime that afternoon, I heard 3 knocks on her bedroom window...I don't know about you, but who the heck would be coming onto private property to knock on an old lady's window? Exactly, Satan himself. Anyway, we both got still, I side eyed her to see if she noticed, and she did. She got up to check even, however there was nothing there.

So I contacted my reliable source for all things supernatural, Jeri, we've been good friends most of our life and I trust her most. The advice I received was to cleanse the house, or wear an amulet with a crystal that has protective properties, so I bought a necklace, it helped for about 2 weeks. After the 2 weeks I went to the kitchen to prepare lunch for me and Diane, and I was confident, I walked into her house like I owned the place, with my head held high, and felt protected and safe for the first time in weeks. Then as I walk in, I feel the hairs on the back of my neck raise to attention, I felt cold, and an overwhelming sense of dread welled in my very soul. There was a knock, 3 raps on the door that leads to the garage from the kitchen, I froze in fear. It felt like ice around my body, and I ended up having a panic attack.

I called my friend that night and she said it sounds like a demon of some sort, but very evil to say the least. So, I decided to wait and see if anything else would happen before trying to take any sort of action, and of course more stuff happened. The doll on her nightstand moved positions, there was more knocking within the house, doors opening on their own, and it was absolutely frightening.

To wrap up this story, the woman, Diane, moved to another city to be with her daughter and son-in-law, and I went to take care of her there, everything was fine after that. But me and Jeri went to her old house to see if Jeri could sense anything, when we arrived, there was no car in the drive way, we just kind of sat in the drive for a second. We got out and looked at the window, there was a tall, dark figure standing behind a burning candle in the window.

Like

About the Creator

FindingYourFlowers

Hello, I'm 24 years old and an amateur poet, I hope you all like what I write! I also post on Wattpad under Findingyourflowers

I look forward to my time here :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.