Horror logo

The man, The running, The dream

A dream I had is leaving me with unanswered questions. Have you had one like it?

By KiaraabbieellaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
The man, The running, The dream
Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

Recently, I had a dream. It was about a ghost town that I was stuck in. I bumped into a man and we were the only two people in the dream. The man told me that something was coming at 12am and that I needed to run, so when I woke up after my dream and saw that it was 12am, I needed to figure out why I had this dream. The morning after I decided to do a bit of research. The internet told me that if I am running in a dream then it means I need to leave a situation in waking life and that it is important I need to realise what it is I was trying to run away from. It could be anything from a relationship to a family conflict. I still to this day have no idea what it is I'm running from.

The man in my dream I have never seen in my life. I am aware that your brain can't make up faces so I must have seen the man at some point in my life. I have so many questions that still need answering. Is it just a coincidence that I woke up at 12am when the man told me someone was coming for me at that time? Is someone trying to reach out to me? I don't think I will ever get an answer. I have written my dream below, maybe someone else has had a dream like it?

Even though I can see frost on the floor and I'm only wearing black jeans, a short sleeved top and a blue denim jacket, it's really not that cold. What's strange is that I've never seen this place before. Cobbled streets, slim pathways, tall but thin houses and if it wasn't for the lamp posts glowing then it would be a scene from what I can only imagine the Oliver Twist film. I'm walking down the cobbled street by myself, an uneven street and it's like a ghost town. There's no one around and there's no noises, not even the sound of birds. There's no lights on in the houses, just light from the moon and street lamps. I keep walking but every house seems to be the same, I turn corners but its like I'm stuck on replay.

I stop and look around. What is this place? How did I end up here? I tried knocking on a door to a house next to me and looking through the small window next to it. I couldn't see anything. I tried opening the door and it was locked. I tried opening the door to the next house I just knocked on and that was locked too. Suddenly I start to feel trapped and alone, the only thing I can think of doing is curling into a ball and crying. There's nothing in sight to help me. I start running and heading towards the end of the street where I know it will just be the same as the other corners I've turned. I run and run but this street feels longer than the others, this street feels like it's much wider too. I eventually turn the corner but then suddenly I'm hit by a solid force and I'm flat on the ground.

I stare at the floor a minute and feel a shadow towering over me. I'm too afraid to look at whats in front of me but I can't stare at the floor forever. I lift my head slightly and see old looking leather boots with thin laces, black dirty trousers hanging just above the ankle. There's someone stood in front of me. I look up and see a man in a long black coat and a black jumper over the top of what looks like a polo shirt. The man has a white beard and is wearing a fisherman's hat. Small pieces of white curly hair are sticking out from underneath his hat. I stare at him looking down at me for a moment, there's no expression on his face. "who are you?" I ask and the man blinks. There's a long pause between us as he stands there staring at me with his brown eyes, I begin to ask him again but before I can get a word out he says "you need to run far and as fast as you can, he's going to be here at 12am. He's coming. Run, run!" He shouts at me to run and I scramble up to my feet and back away from him. He shouts "run" over and over again so I do as he says. I run straight past him and I can still hear him shouting after me. Who was that man? Who's coming at 12am? There are so many questions I want to ask but I have to run. I keep running and running, down the cobbled streets, houses repeating themselves just like earlier on. I feel something behind me but I don't want to look back. I can hear the footsteps. I don't stop, I just keep running...

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.