Horror logo

The Last of Humanity

The Keepsake

By K-jayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I don't really know where to begin nor do I know if this will even be heard, and if it is heard I do not know what the relevance will be to the listener in terms of worth. I guess a good a place as any to start would be with the date and year and a little bit about my self My name is Walter last name unimportant irrelevant really something I stored far back in the recesses of my mind long ago to numb the pain, I am excuse me was a police officer, it's funny something that once held so much significance in my life is now little more than a tidbit. currently it is the year 2055 September 8th 10 years after the incident.

Armageddon when the leaders of the world decided to go at it full on nuclear war, when the bombs stopped dropping, and the smoke cleared and what was left of humanity bubbled up to the surface. That's when Armageddon truly Begin, the bombs in their self where devastating, but for all they took the worst was a sense of humanity, the thing that separated us from the animals that brought us together. Had we just pulled together strived to rebuild to make things better we may have had a chance, but fear bred chaos, and chaos bred discord, and discord bred hatred, and now here we are. excuse my rant that is not the point of this recording, and I think it's time I get to that about a week ago, I was salvaging around what used to be California when suddenly I heard a frail wail looking in the direction the sound came from i noticed a glint of light the distance caught my attention it was about a half a yard from where, I was standing I felt both a sense of curiosity, and dread a bizarre mixture that drove me forward. what I saw both slated my curiosity and increased my dread it was A baby lying in an makeshift wicker basket wearing a gold heart shaped locket necklace a keepsake, A couple yards from the baby was a couple hurriedly applying wood to a pile I Immediately felt sick did this disgusting couple have a baby just to eat it. how many times had they done this, why would they do this starvation was the obvious answer but why not just hunt. I did not have long to try and rationalize the situation before shock gave prejudice to rage, and before I know it I was in action. I keep a large Bowie knife and a make shift bow on me at all times, I was never what you would call a survivalist but one adapts to their situation, I came up just as the man signaled for the woman to get the baby perfect timing. The man was so engrossed in his perversions that he never even heard me sneak behind him before he could react, I slit his throat. wasting no time I dropped the knife and notched an arrow just as the woman was about to reach the baby. A shot and a miss unfortunately it flew right by her she turned and let out a horrid scream that sends shivers up my spine even now, it was so full of hate so full of anger. She rushed at me with what looked like a femur bone and that's when I understood this was not this couples baby at all it was dessert, by the time I snapped to and went for my knife she was on me she swung her makeshift weapon with a strength and speed that was unexpected, but she was wild, and uncoordinated as well she was aming for my head and caught my shoulder instead. still, even with my adrenaline pumping that hurt, I leaped back with my knife out in front of me used her forward momentum to plunge my knife deep in her stomach she doubled over, and fail on her back I pulled out my knife and sunk it in her chest just to be sure. With that over I went over to inspect the baby a green eyed baby girl I've taken to calling Abby I had a sister named Abby once, I could not help but to notice the keepsake the thing that started this whole adventure inside of the locket was a slip of papper with a singular word hope. Upon closer inspection of the wicker basket I found this tape recorder, and a letter about a place in Nebraska where civilization is beging to reform hope seems to be the password. Abby and I will begin our travels immediately, I am leaving this recording in the hopes that it will help some one else out here and spread hope, I would like to think that was Abby's parents intentions. I still believe their is a god despite all this,and I know he is watching I can only pray that this doesn't fall into the wrong hands, some small minded people can't stand progress. In any case that's my tale please pray for me, and Abby their are alot of starving people from here to Nebraska including me.

fiction
1

About the Creator

K-jay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.