Horror logo

"The Knock at the Door"

"A Descent into Madness"

By IsraPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
"The Knock at the Door"
Photo by Dylan Freedom on Unsplash

I had always been drawn to the old mansion on the hill, with its turrets and gargoyles reaching towards the sky like skeletal fingers. It was a place of dark legend, where people whispered of strange occurrences and unexplained events. But I didn't believe in ghost stories. I was a skeptic, a seeker of truth and reason.

That was until the night I heard the knock at the door.

I had just moved into the mansion, determined to uncover its secrets and put the rumors to rest. As I settled into my new home, I began to feel a creeping sense of unease. It started with small things: doors creaking open on their own, the sound of footsteps in the hallway at night. I told myself it was just the old house settling, but deep down I knew something was off.

And then, the knock came.

It was a loud, insistent rap at the front door, like someone was trying to break it down. I froze, my heart racing, as I made my way to the entrance. I hesitated for a moment, wondering if I should answer it, but my curiosity got the better of me.

As I opened the door, a chill ran down my spine. There was no one there. No one, that is, except for a small, antique music box sitting on the porch. It was old and dusty, with strange symbols etched into its surface. I picked it up, feeling a strange energy emanating from it.

Suddenly, the music box began to play a haunting melody, the notes echoing through the empty halls of the mansion. I felt a presence behind me, and I knew I was not alone.

That's when I saw it. A figure, tall and imposing, standing in the shadows. Its eyes glowed with an otherworldly light, and I knew in that moment that I was in grave danger.

The figure began to move towards me, its presence filling the room with an unspeakable horror. I tried to run, but my legs were frozen in place. The music box continued to play, the melody growing louder and more intense.

And then, everything went black.

When I awoke, I was lying on the floor, the music box still clutched in my hand. The figure was gone, but I knew that I had been changed forever. I had caught a glimpse of something ancient and evil, something that lurked just beyond the edge of our reality.

I knew then that I had to get out of the mansion, to escape the horror that lurked within its walls. But as I stumbled towards the door, I realized that it was too late. The knock at the door had been just the beginning, a warning sign that I had ignored.

Now, I was trapped in a living nightmare, with no escape from the terror that haunted the old mansion on the hill.

As I stumbled through the dark and dusty halls, desperate to find a way out, I realized that the mansion was shifting and changing around me. Doors led to nowhere, corridors looped back on themselves, and the sound of my own footsteps echoed back at me like a mocking laughter.

And then, I saw it again. The figure loomed before me, its eyes blazing with an otherworldly light. I tried to scream, but my voice was silenced by some unseen force. The music box, still clutched in my hand, began to play a new melody, one that seemed to match the beat of my own heart. I knew then that I was doomed, trapped in this place forever, at the mercy of forces beyond human understanding.

fiction

About the Creator

Isra

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IsraWritten by Isra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.