Horror logo

The King Of The Forest

A new king has emerge to rule the forest.

By Oscar VelazquezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
The Hybrid King

Once upon a time, very distant from society, a magical forest exists. A forest where all the creatures lived in peace, until two different species came wanting to take over; they fought over the years to try to rule the forest. they caused a lot of fears and worries around the forest creatures. the good ones praying to the gods for a savior and protector. But little do they know that their prayers will be answer quicker than they think. because on this Halloween 2020 a prophecy will come to effect. That a new king will emerge to rule over. A hybrid king, half tree and half rock more powerful than any creature. Nothing will come on his way and will save and protect all the forest creatures for ever.

The making Process

For the head piece, I started by making a head cap base with a plastic bag and duck tape, then I placed the head cap on a mannequin. Then I use expanding gap foam to form the rocks ruff shapes. And used a retractable knife to slice the surface pieces away to form the rock like shapes. And for the tree side I used isolation foam tubing, cutting tube pieces to glue them together to the head piece and regular foam. Then I used a soldering iron in a well ventilate area to give the wood like shape. And then it was time for painting. I used spray and acrylic paints. for the rock, I started by giving them a base coat with gray spray. and brown spray paint for the tree side as a base coat. then I let it dry for a few minutes since I use a quick dry spray paint. I then used dark gray acrylic paint diluted with water using an airbrush to give the rock side depth. And dark brown on the tree side. Let it dry. And then I used a stipple sponge with white acrylic paint lightly passing it on the highest surfaces of the rocks creating the highlights and giving it more dimension. I then finish up the paint job for the head piece with a black acrylic paint using the airbrush to make everything pop and add that extra dimension. And added decorations with different plants and flowers and forest moss. And I added some florescent paint to the plants and flowers so they can glow under the blacklight.

The Body

Then for the body I purchase a morph suit on which I built using the same constructions and painting techniques. with the gap filling foam I form the all the different rock shapes on the shoulders, forearms, chest stomach and thighs. Having in mind movement and comfort so we can move easily around. I then used the tubing isolating foam to form all the tree like side gluing with hot glue and using the soldering iron to create the tree like shape. I then added the spray paint for base and used regular acrylic paint with the airbrush. and florescent paint to the plants, flowers, moss to give that glowing look.

Tree leg

I used the same techniques for the legs. I started by using some old Pumps and I added a wood block on the bottom to make them taller. the I added the foam layers on top. then I used the soldering iron to create the tree like look. then I made some mushrooms and added to the bottom and random places. And paint them by hand with the regular acrylic and florescent paint. I downloaded some pictures of the internet as reference when painting everything.

Rock leg

For the rock leg I used the gap filling foam and then shaped it with a retractable knife slicing the surface giving them a rock like look. And I added spray paint base coat and let it dry and followed with dark gray acrylic paint to give dimension and white for the highlights. I then let it dry and added forest moss to finish the leg.

Final Look

Materials List:

Expanding foam (gap filler), polyurethane foam mats, tubing isolation foam, morphsuit, fake flowers and plants, forest moss, spray paint (gray and brown), acrylic paints (brown, black, white, green) florescent paints, hot glue gun and hot glue refills, foam adhesive spray, leather fabric and two working gloves.

halloween
4

About the Creator

Oscar Velazquez

Oscar Velazquez is a celebrity makeup artist with more than 15 years of experience. He has studied at the best known professional makeup artistry and beauty schools like Academy of Art University, Stan Winston School, Etc

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.