Horror logo

The Hitchhiker

"The Deadliest Game"

By BASKAR MPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
"Adventure Awaits"

It was a dreary and stormy night when my life took a dark turn. The rain was pouring down in torrents, and I could barely see through the windshield of my car. It was a long and tiring day at work, and I was looking forward to reaching home and getting some rest. But then, I saw a figure standing on the side of the road.

Initially, I thought it was a man, but as I got closer, I realized that it was a woman, drenched to the bone and shivering in the cold. She was holding out her thumb, trying to hitch a ride in the middle of the raging storm.

Something about her made me stop my car. It could have been the way she looked or the fact that she was all alone, stranded in the middle of nowhere. But I felt compelled to offer her help.

"Hey, do you need a ride?" I yelled out, rolling down the window of my car.

At first, she appeared hesitant, looking at me with a wary expression in her eyes. But then, she nodded her head and climbed into the car.

"Thank you," she said, wringing out her hair. "I have been walking for hours, and I thought I'd never make it."

I nodded in sympathy, but I had a nagging feeling that something wasn't quite right. I couldn't put my finger on what it was, but I felt that there was more to her than met the eye.

As we drove through the storm, we exchanged pleasantries, but I couldn't shake off the feeling that she was hiding something. She avoided answering my questions about where she was headed or why she was out in the storm.

Eventually, I dropped her off at a gas station and wished her good luck. But as I drove away, I couldn't shake the feeling that I had narrowly escaped a dangerous situation.

Over the next few weeks, strange things began to happen. I would return home to find my front door unlocked or my windows open, even though I knew I had secured them before leaving.

Initially, I thought it was my imagination playing tricks on me. But then, I started discovering notes left in my house, signed with a single letter "E."

They were cryptic and ominous messages, like "I see you" or "Don't trust anyone." They left me feeling paranoid and on edge, unsure of what to do next.

One day, I returned home to find the woman from the side of the road sitting in my living room, staring at me with a chilling smile on her face.

"Hi there," she said, her voice syrupy sweet. "I've been waiting for you."

I tried to make a run for it, but she was too quick. She tackled me to the ground and bound me up, leaving me completely vulnerable to her whims.

For days, she kept me captive in my own home, tormenting me with her vague threats and mysterious messages. I had no idea what she wanted or why she was doing this to me. But I knew that I had to find a way out before it was too late.

Finally, I managed to break free from my bonds and escaped to the police station. They caught her and put her behind bars, but even after she was apprehended, I couldn't shake off the sense of terror and dread that she had left me with.

I had always believed that helping someone in need was a noble act of kindness. But this incident showed me that even the smallest acts of compassion could lead to unforeseeable and dangerous outcomes. From that day forward, I vowed to be more cautious and aware of the seemingly insignificant moments that had the potential to change my life forever.

psychologicalfiction
Like

About the Creator

BASKAR M

Nothig 2 Say.....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.