Horror logo

The Hilltop Hotel.

At first, I thought it was just the wind outside, but as the whispering grew louder....

By williamPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
 The Hilltop Hotel.
Photo by adriaan venner scheepers on Unsplash

I never believed in ghosts until that fateful night when I checked into the Hilltop Hotel. It was an old hotel, built in the late 1800s, and it had a reputation for being haunted. I thought it was just an urban legend, but as soon as I stepped into my room, I felt a presence that I couldn't explain.

The room was dusty and old, with creaky wooden floors and peeling wallpaper. The furniture was antique, and everything looked like it hadn't been touched in years. But it wasn't just the room that gave me an eerie feeling; it was something in the air, something I couldn't quite put my finger on.

I tried to ignore the feeling and went to bed early, hoping to get a good night's sleep before my big meeting the next day. But as soon as I closed my eyes, I heard a faint whispering sound. At first, I thought it was just the wind outside, but as the whispering grew louder, I realized it was coming from inside the room.

I opened my eyes and saw a figure standing at the foot of my bed. It was a woman, dressed in a long, flowing gown. She had long, curly hair and a sad expression on her face. I tried to scream, but no sound came out of my mouth.

The woman didn't move, but she stared at me with her piercing blue eyes. I couldn't look away, and I couldn't move. I was paralyzed with fear.

Suddenly, the woman disappeared, and the room went silent. I sat up in bed, gasping for air. I knew I couldn't stay in that room for another minute. I packed my bags and headed to the front desk.

When I told the clerk what had happened, he just nodded his head and said, "You're not the first person to experience something like that in this hotel. It's haunted by the ghost of a woman who died here many years ago."

I didn't know what to say. I had never believed in ghosts before, but now I had no choice but to believe. The clerk offered to move me to another room, but I didn't want to stay in the hotel any longer. I checked out and left, never to return again.

But the ghost of the Hilltop Hotel didn't leave me. I started having nightmares about the woman, and I couldn't shake the feeling that she was still with me. I knew I had to do something to make things right.

I did some research and found out that the woman's name was Elizabeth. She had been a guest at the hotel in the early 1900s, and she had fallen in love with a man who was staying there. The man had left without saying goodbye, and Elizabeth had died of a broken heart.

I felt sorry for Elizabeth, and I knew I had to help her. I went back to the hotel and asked to speak to the owner. I told him about my experience and asked if there was anything we could do to help Elizabeth's spirit move on.

The owner was skeptical at first, but he agreed to let me try. We went to the room where I had seen Elizabeth, and I sat down on the bed. I closed my eyes and focused on Elizabeth's spirit.

At first, I didn't feel anything, but then I felt a faint breeze brush against my cheek. I opened my eyes, and there was Elizabeth, standing in front of me.

She looked at me with her sad eyes, and I knew she was trying to communicate with me. I asked her if there was anything she wanted me to do, and she nodded her head. I asked her to tell me what was on her mind, but she just stood there, silently staring at me.

Suddenly, I felt a sharp pain in my head, and I fell to the ground. When I opened my eyes, Elizabeth was gone, and the owner was standing over me, looking concerned.

"What happened?" he asked.

"I don't know," I said, rubbing my head. "I think Elizabeth tried to communicate with me, but something went wrong."

The owner helped me up, and we went back to his office to talk. He told me that he had done some research on Elizabeth, and he had found out that she had been trying to contact her lost love all these years.

"I think she's still trying to find him," he said. "Maybe you can help her."

I didn't know how I could help Elizabeth, but I was willing to try. I went back to the room where I had seen her and sat down again. I closed my eyes and focused on Elizabeth's spirit, trying to tune out all the distractions around me.

Suddenly, I felt a presence in the room, but it wasn't Elizabeth. It was a man, and he was looking at me with a mixture of fear and surprise.

"Who are you?" he asked.

"I'm here to help Elizabeth," I said.

The man looked at me skeptically. "What can you do?"

"I don't know," I said honestly. "But I'm willing to try."

The man sighed and sat down on the bed. "I'm her lost love," he said. "My name is James. We were supposed to get married, but I got cold feet and left without telling her. I didn't know she would take it so hard."

I could see the pain in James' eyes, and I knew he regretted what he had done. I asked him if he wanted to try and make things right with Elizabeth, and he nodded his head.

Together, we focused our energies on Elizabeth's spirit, trying to bring her back to the room. It took a while, but finally, she appeared before us, looking sad but relieved.

"Elizabeth," James said softly. "I'm so sorry for what I did. I was young and foolish, and I didn't know how much I loved you until it was too late."

Elizabeth looked at James, and I could see the tears in her eyes. "I forgive you," she said softly. "But I need to move on. I can't stay here anymore."

James looked at me, and I knew he was asking for my help. Together, we focused our energies on Elizabeth, helping her to move on to the other side. It was a difficult process, but finally, Elizabeth's spirit disappeared, and the room was quiet.

James looked at me with a mix of relief and sadness. "Thank you," he said. "I never thought I would be able to make things right with Elizabeth."

I nodded my head, feeling a sense of satisfaction. I had helped two lost souls find peace, and it was a feeling that I would never forget.

As I left the Hilltop Hotel, I knew that I would always remember the haunted hotel and the ghost of Elizabeth. But now, instead of feeling fear and uncertainty, I felt a sense of peace and closure. The ghost of the Hilltop Hotel had changed me in ways that I could never have imagined, and I was grateful for the experience.

psychologicalmonsterfiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.