Horror logo

The Heathers

Chapter 2

By Mariah CruisePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Heathers
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

The boyfriend was a dead end. He had been out of town for a month on a “dudes” trip as he put it and had just gotten back last night. He didn’t even know Evelyn was missing. Part of the arrangement with “the dudes” had been no phone and no girls.

“It was supposed to be the ultimate male bonding experience.” We left soon after we got there.

“Oh brother,” I rolled my eyes after we stepped out into the hallway of his apartment building.

“What?” Jack looked at me curiously.

“ ‘The ultimate male bonding trip’,” I said with mock bravado throwing air quotes in for good measure, “Give me a break. There’s no way a group of guys in their mid-twenties go a full month without girls.”

“Do you want to look into it further,” Jack pressed the elevator call button, “He’s got the pictures and receipts to prove he was not in the city around the time Evelyn died.”

“No, I just don’t buy the whole ‘dudes trip’ thing. But I think we should go talk to her boss.”

Evelyn had worked at a local restaurant and bar called Spruce. It was one of those places where hipsters gathered to talk about the newest way to eat avocado over high priced beer. Because it was early afternoon when we arrived, the bar was mostly empty. A few patrons occupied the tables and the staff milled around behind the bar.

“Is this about Evelyn?” The manager asked as soon as he opened the door to his office. He ushered us inside and I waited to answer until we were all seated.

“Yes. Unfortunately she was found dead this morning.” His face went pale. I was watching him for any signs of guilt and I knew Jack was doing the same, but I didn’t see any.

“She was such a sweet girl. Hard worker, everyone loved her.”

Yeah, yeah, I’d heard it all before. The deceased was a saint, right up there with Mother Teresa. I couldn’t deny that Evelyn wasn’t a hard worker and a nice person, but when someone is murdered, you tend to forget all of the negative things about that person.

“We’d like to ask you some questions if you’re up for it.” Jack said, and given by his tone I could tell that he didn’t think this man had anything to do with Evelyn’s death either. Jack asked the manager the standard questions about Evelyn’s family, her relationship with her coworkers and restaurant patrons. Nothing stood out. On the way out, one of the staff members caught my eye. She looked scared. Her eyes were wide and something in her slim face told me she knew something. I told Jack to hold on and walked over to her.

“Looks like you need to get something off your chest,” I gave her a knowing look. Her pale eyes darted from side to side like she was expecting someone to jump out from the shadows and grab her.

“Is Evelyn dead?” I nodded my head. No sense in lying to this poor girl. She would find out sooner or later, so why not from me.

“Do you know who did it?” She asked.

“No, but if you have any information you might think is helpful, I would like to hear it.”

She swallowed.

“Um…I don’t really know anything I don’t think, but there is this guy in here sometimes. He gives all of us the creeps, but he doesn’t do anything so we can’t kick him out or anything. He just sits in the corner and watches girls. It’s probably nothing. He never even talks to them, just stares.”

“No that could be something. Do you know his name?”

“No, like I said he never talks to anyone and he always pays with cash so we don’t have a credit card or anything. I’m sorry,” She looks as if she’s about to cry.

“It's ok. Thank you. If you think of anything just call the station and ask for Detective Quinn.” I reached across the bar and gave her hand a squeeze hoping it would make her feel better. Jack waited until we were outside to ask about the girl.

“Nothing useful at this point. Just some creep in a bar,” I said sighing.

“Tale as old as time,” Jack chuckled.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.