Horror logo

The Haunted House on the Outskirts

Escape from the Haunted House: A Tale of Terror and Trapped Souls

By Askarali Mohammed BasheerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

It was a dark and stormy night and the winds were howling like a pack of wolves. I had heard the rumors about the abandoned house on the outskirts of town, and despite the warning of my friends, I decided to go check it out for myself.

As I approached the house, I noticed that the windows were boarded up and the door was hanging off its hinges. I pushed open the door and stepped inside, my flashlight illuminating the musty interior. The floorboards creaked beneath my feet as I made my way down the hall. I could feel a chill run down my spine as I heard strange noises coming from the upstairs.

I cautiously climbed the stairs, my heart pounding in my chest. When I reached the top, I found myself in a room with a large four-poster bed. I approached the bed and suddenly, the bed sheets began to move on their own. I backed away, my heart racing. The sheets parted to reveal a ghostly figure with long white hair, dressed in a tattered nightgown.

I screamed and ran back down the stairs, tripping on the way down and tumbling to the bottom. I lay there, gasping for breath, when I heard a voice whisper, "You should not have come here." I scrambled to my feet and bolted for the door, but I found it was locked from the outside. I pounded on the door, but no one answered. I was trapped.

I turned around and saw the ghostly figure standing at the foot of the stairs, her eyes glowing with a pale light. "You will not leave," she said, her voice filled with malice. "You will join us and suffer the same fate as the others."

I realized then that I was not alone in the house. There were others, trapped with me, and they had all met the same fate. The ghostly figure was the spirit of a woman who had been locked inside the house by her husband, who was a mad scientist. He had conducted experiments on the prisoners he locked inside, causing them to suffer and die.

I knew I had to find a way out of the house, but every door and window was locked. I searched the rooms, hoping to find a way out, but the more I searched, the more trapped I felt. I was running out of time and the ghostly figure was getting closer, her eyes glowing with a malevolent light.

Just as I thought all was lost, I stumbled upon a hidden passageway leading to the basement. I raced down the stairs, hoping to find a way out. The basement was a horror show, with bodies of the other prisoners strewn about. I tried to ignore the bodies and focus on finding a way out, but I heard the ghostly figure coming down the stairs behind me.

I heard the door to the basement slam shut and I knew I was running out of time. Suddenly, I remembered the rumors about the mad scientist who had locked his prisoners inside the house. They said that he had hidden a secret escape route in the basement. I frantically searched the room, looking for any signs of a way out, and finally, I found a small lever hidden in the corner. I pulled the lever and the floor opened up, revealing a tunnel that led to the outside.

I quickly made my way down the tunnel, my heart pounding in my chest. I emerged outside and ran as fast as I could, never looking back. I never went near the abandoned house again, but I heard that others had disappeared after visiting the house. The rumors about the mad scientist and his ghostly wife still haunt the town, reminding everyone of the horrors.

monstersupernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.