Fiction logo

The Whispering Walls: Tales of Secrets and Unforgettable Moments

The Tales of the Wall That Remembers...

By Askarali Mohammed BasheerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Once upon a time, I was just a wall. A simple structure meant to provide shelter and security. But over the years, I have witnessed countless secrets and events unfold in front of me.

The first thing I remember was the day I was built. The workers laughed and joked as they put me together, stone by stone. They didn't know then that I would become the keeper of their secrets.

I have seen love blossom and hearts break, laughter and tears, life and death. I have seen battles fought and wars won, peace treaties signed and alliances formed.

I have seen families grow and prosper, and others fall apart. I have seen people come and go, some leaving their mark on the world and others forgotten like they never existed.

I have seen the joy of the holidays, with the Christmas tree lighting ceremony and the New Year's Eve party. I have heard the laughter of children as they played in front of me and the sounds of the music that have performed.

One day, a group of thieves snuck in through the window, using the cover of darkness to their advantage. They thought they could get away with their crimes unnoticed, but little did they know, I was watching their every move. I heard the sound of glass shattering, the rustling of paper, and the clinking of coins as they made off with their loot.

The first family to live here was a young couple named Jack and Sarah. They were deeply in love and their happiness was contagious. They would sit on the front porch for hours, talking and laughing. They would hold hands and kiss under the stars, their love for each other shining brightly. I loved to watch them, and I was filled with warmth and joy every time they were near.

Years passed and Jack and Sarah grew older. They had children and the house was filled with the sounds of laughter and tears, arguments and make-up hugs. The family was happy, but life was not always easy. They had their share of hardships and struggles, but they always found a way to make it through.

One day, Jack fell ill. He was confined to his bed and Sarah stayed by his side, nursing him back to health. It was during this time that I saw their love deepen, and I felt honored to be a witness to it. Jack recovered, but Sarah was never the same after his illness. She became distant and unhappy, and eventually, she left. Jack was devastated and the house was filled with an emptiness that I had never felt before.

A few months later, Jack passed away. His children took care of him, but their laughter and happiness were gone. The house was quiet, and I felt like a part of my soul had been taken away with Jack. The children eventually left, and a new family moved in. They were a young couple with two small children, and they brought new life to the house. They were happy, but they also brought a new kind of darkness with them.

The husband was abusive, and the wife was afraid. I could hear her cries through the walls, and I wished I could reach out and help her. The children were caught in the middle, and I could see the fear in their eyes. The husband would come home late at night, drunk and angry, and the wife would hide in the closet, praying for it to end. I felt helpless and powerless, and I hated the feeling.

Years passed and the couple grew older. The husband became ill and the wife stayed by his side, nursing him back to health. I was struck by the irony of the situation, and I wondered if life was a cruel joke. The husband died, and the wife was left alone with her children. She finally found the strength to leave, and the house was once again filled with emptiness.

But despite all the chaos and turmoil, there is one thing that remains constant - the memories etched into my stone. Memories that I hold close and keep safe, waiting for the right moment to share them with the world.

And so, I continue to stand, a silent sentinel, proud and tall, watching as the world changes around me. And I will continue to stand, bearing witness to the tales of those who have come and gone, a silent witness to the secrets and events of the ages.

familyShort StoryScriptMystery
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.