Horror logo

The Figures In My Apartment (Part 1)

A Scary Story

By TrykePublished 3 years ago 5 min read

I had taken a couple of days off work just to go apartment hunting since my current apartment was about to go under renovation for a while. I started looking online for an apartment with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom as well as a parking spot for my car. After looking around for a couple of hours, I stumbled upon this listing for an apartment that was built quite recently and just so happened to have what I wanted and was in my price range. I searched the page and quickly found the number of the owner of that apartment, I thought to myself that I had to check this out before anyone else gets it. I called them up and made an appointment to go take a look at the place the next day.

I woke up early and headed down to the address of the apartment listing to meet the owner. On the way there, I noticed that the area the apartment was in looked empty and there weren't many people walking about. I parked a few streets away and walked the rest of the way to the apartment. When I got there, I met up with the owner of the unit. He was an older gentleman with grey hair and wore glasses with thick frames. We spoke a bit about the apartment as he showed me around the building and eventually to the apartment unit. I noticed again that there were barely any people occupying the other units which led me to question him. He said that the area was just getting to be developed and soon there would be more people. I had done some research prior to this and it did check out.

Inside the unit, there was a kitchen, living room, bathroom and 2 bedrooms exactly as I wanted. There was a strange feeling when I was there but I just shook it off. The best part of the apartment was that it came furnished. However, the owner did mention that there were two other people that came to see the apartment before so if I wanted to stay here I would need to act fast. I went straight back home after seeing the apartment and thought about the other listings that I went to see before this. I decided on renting that apartment and confirmed it with the owner.

A week later, I moved in with my belongings. As I got myself settled in, I happened to notice something strange. The apartment complex had an outdoor playground that just happened to be outside my window. It seemed like there was a lot of people gathered there for some unknown reason. I decided to go check it out and introduce myself to my neighbours.

When I got there, I was slightly confused and shocked as the playground was empty. They couldn't have left so quickly and they would run into me at the entrance anyway. I went back home and sat down thinking more about what just happened but still not being able to process what I experienced. Eventually, I moved on and stopped thinking about it since I had some work to do.

By the time, I got done it was already midnight so I went straight to bed. I awoke to the sound of something but I couldn't quite make out what it was. I reached for my phone and checked the time and it was 3 am. I got up and walked to the living room but I could still hear it. This time however I could make out the sounds to be people talking. It was coming from outside, the same window that looked over the playground. I peeked through the blinds and saw something that shook me. It was a crowd of black things that resembled people. They had no distinguishing features other than their figures and their blood-red glowing eyes. I took a step back and as I did one of those eyes turned to face my apartment but luckily the blinds stopped them from being able to see me. I ran back and lied in bed awake for the rest of the night.

The next morning, I went to work in the morning until 5 pm. When I got back, my furniture looked odd as if it had moved from where it originally was. I couldn't exactly remember where everything was but it definitely had moved. I shrugged it off and went to relax after the hectic day at work dealing with clients and my co-workers. I turned on Netflix and fell asleep on the couch with my windows open. When I opened my eyes, something felt wrong. I looked around and at the time, it was 12 am. The temperature of the place was freezing as if I stepped into my refrigerator. My instincts were screaming at me to run and it made me shiver. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw it. They were moving at a snail's pace but it was the things I saw at the playground, but this time in my apartment.

I jumped up and ran to the front door but it was stuck for some reason. I turned around and they were just shy of 10 feet away. Their menacing eyes told me that it wasn't going to be friendly at all. I ran to my kitchen window and opened it, there were stairs for fire escape. I quickly jump out the window and down the fire escape as it started to move faster and faster towards me. Once I was on the ground, I started sprinting out the alley where the escape had led me to. I kept sprinting for a while before I had to stop to catch my breath being the unfit office worker that I was. The thought of being caught by that thing terrified me. I peeked behind me and saw that it wasn't there anymore. It made me realize how tense I was that as soon as I calmed down, my legs became weak and I had to sit down.

I stayed there until the sun had come up before I walked home. Once I got home, I knew I had to either move or call someone to deal with this because I couldn't exactly stay there with these things roaming around trying to get me.

supernatural

About the Creator

Tryke

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TrykeWritten by Tryke

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.