Horror logo

The Exorcist: A Battle for a Young Girl's Soul

The Story of a Priest's Harrowing Journey to Banish a Demon

By Martian Published about a year ago 4 min read
17

I'm a young priest, freshly ordained and eager to serve the Church. I had always dreamed of becoming a priest, and now that I was finally ordained, I was excited to begin my life's work. Little did I know that my first assignment would involve something so terrifying and otherworldly that it would test my faith and sanity to the limit.

It all began with a call from my superior, Father Merrin. He was an older priest, a seasoned veteran of the Church, and someone I looked up to as a mentor. When he told me that he needed my assistance with a case of demonic possession, I was stunned. I had heard of exorcisms before, but I had never witnessed one. Nevertheless, I knew that this was an opportunity to serve God and help those in need, so I eagerly accepted.

As I arrived at the home of the possessed girl, Regan, I was immediately struck by the intensity of the situation. The air was thick with an ominous energy, and the girl herself was writhing and contorting in her bed, making guttural noises that sounded like they were from another world. It was unsettling to say the least, and I felt a chill run down my spine.

Father Merrin greeted me at the door, and we exchanged a few words before making our way to Regan's room. As we walked down the hallway, I felt a sense of unease wash over me. This was unlike anything I had ever experienced, and I wasn't sure if I was ready for what lay ahead.

When we entered Regan's room, I was immediately struck by the girl's appearance. Her face was twisted in agony, and her body was contorted in ways that seemed impossible. I could tell that she was in immense pain, and I felt a surge of compassion for her.

Father Merrin began to perform the exorcism, and I watched in awe as he recited prayers and sprinkled holy water over the girl. But as he continued, I began to feel a sense of unease. Something about this whole situation felt off, and I couldn't put my finger on it.

Over the next few days, Father Merrin and I worked tirelessly to perform the exorcism. We tried everything we could think of - holy water, prayers, and physical restraints - but nothing seemed to work. Regan's body continued to contort and twist, and her voice became more and more guttural with each passing day.

As time wore on, I began to feel like we were fighting a losing battle. I was drained both physically and emotionally, and I could tell that Father Merrin was feeling the same way. But we couldn't give up. We were determined to see this through to the end.

One night, as we were performing the exorcism, something changed. Regan's body stopped contorting, and her voice grew quieter. We thought that we had finally succeeded in banishing the demon, but we were wrong.

Suddenly, Regan's body jolted upright, and her eyes rolled back into her head. I could feel a sense of dread wash over me as I watched in horror. This was something unlike anything I had ever seen before, and I was scared.

The demon inside Regan began to speak, and its voice was cold and malevolent. It taunted us, mocked us, and even threatened us. I could feel my resolve beginning to crumble, and I wondered if we would ever be able to banish this demon for good.

As the days wore on, the situation only grew more and more dire. Regan's body became weaker, and her voice grew fainter. It was clear that time was running out, and we needed to act fast if we were going to save her.

One day, Father Merrin came to me with a plan. He had heard of a ritual that had been performed in ancient times to banish demons, and he believed that it might be our last hope. It was a dangerous and risky plan, but we had no other choice.

We prepared for the ritual with trepidation, knowing that we were putting ourselves in great danger. As we began to perform the ritual, I could feel the energy in the room shift. It was like something was trying to stop us, but we pushed through, reciting the ancient prayers and performing the necessary actions.

Suddenly, there was a loud roar, and Regan's body convulsed violently. I could feel the ground shake beneath us, and I wondered if this was the end.

But then, just as suddenly as it had begun, it was over. Regan's body slumped back onto the bed, and her eyes flickered open. She looked around the room, confused, as if she had no memory of what had just happened.

Father Merrin and I let out a collective sigh of relief. We had done it. We had banished the demon and saved Regan's soul.

In the weeks that followed, I struggled to come to terms with what I had witnessed. The exorcism had tested my faith and my sanity in ways that I never thought possible. But in the end, it had only strengthened my belief in the power of God and the importance of our work as priests.

I knew that I would never forget the experience, and that it would stay with me for the rest of my life. But I also knew that I had been given a gift - the gift of being able to help others in their time of need. And for that, I was grateful.

The End.

supernaturalbook reviews
17

About the Creator

Martian

Fantasy - Writer

Secrets - Teller

Information - Provider

Sometimes - Teacher

Awareness - Maker

Come along with me as I investigate the limitless possibilities of Everything. Together, let's make something spectacular.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.