Horror logo

The Dinner Invite

Part 2/Follow-up to Intrusive Thoughts of a Psychopath?

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
10
The Dinner Invite
Photo by Jonathan Pielmayer on Unsplash

Author's Notes: This is the second part or follow-up to Intrusive Thoughts of a Psychopath. I had thought about doing more with that character and as it recieved a lot of encouraging feedback, I figured I'd continue this warped tale.

You can find the first part here:

***

I hope you don't mind if I ask you a question. It's more a theory...a thought that's kept me awake at night, that I want to run past you.

There's always someone isn't there? A righteous member of the community - one of those far-too-good individuals that will appear on the news. After a horrific double, triple or KFC 12-piece share bucket murder has occurred next door or in a house on their street. They are the kind to say "I always thought there was something strange about him...he kept himself to himself and was very awkward around other members of the community. He didn't...seem right for the neighbourhood...if you know what I mean".

You know what I mean? I mean, I'm sure you do. You're a smart man, aren't you?

Look at him...sitting there...gormless idiot. The way he walks around the street like he owns the place, helping the elderly, doing all these good deeds, I'm sure as sure that he has some dark secrets. What his wife sees in him, I'll never know. His wealth and car, likely. His glasses are always sitting on the edge of his nose, like he's a headmaster or something and his comb over his fooling no one. He does have a very punchable face...I'll give him that. She's all legs with a very kind face, dark brown hair and eyes filled with pain and wonder. I often wonder what her head or just her eyes might look like on my wall or on my bookcase.

"Well, the reason I'm bringing this up. Is that I always wondered why others before me never targeted those people first. A good spree is easier without suspicion at your door."

"Before me? Oh...slip of the tongue. I meant, I don't know why people don't target their neighbours first. Maybe it's to do with crapping on their own doorstep. Still...Anyway, enough about me...I see your petunias are coming on nicely, friend. It really brightens up my late-night viewings from my window. I admire your lovely wife here and her dedication to maintaining them."

"Thanks"

What kind of reply is a single "thanks"? He looks as joyful and grateful as someone who has just been told they have 2 months to live.

“I was delighted when you accepted my invitation to dinner. So, she's running late you said? Well, we can have a couple of beers while we wait for the special guest, can't we?”

I hate his laughter, sounds so forced. I mean, mine is forced, but his is just ridiculous. With his mouth taped shut, there'd be peace and quiet, I imagine.

I wonder about the mess he might make if I walked into the kitchen and grabbed my meat cleaver and cut his throat. Wait...that's too cliched...maybe a thousand little cuts...sounds poetic, I think? It'd ruin the sofa...but on the other hand, I have been looking to refurnish this place. So...every cloud...every sofa....

I’m not sure he would make for a particularly good first victim though, he’d be a bit too easy to overpower and then beat to a pulp. Might be fun to immolate, though. Not enough people use the term immolate in my opinion or practice it in the west enough. But then, I can’t remember if he would be my first victim or my fifth…a lot happens from day to day and leaves me losing track sometimes of whether I’m coming or going. His wife, though, she’d make for an excellent first victim. All the rags would be interested in plastering her face over their front covers. Would they use a picture of the couple together or one of her smiling on her own. I imagine she smiles a lot when she’s on her own.

“Heard anything back from the wife, yet?”

I don’t really care much – just trying to put on the pretence that I’m just like him…

"She's not texted back...but I'm sure she will be here soon. Something smells nice"

If only he knew what I could see.

By Jadell Films on Unsplash

*

Thanks for reading!

Hope you enjoyed this latest installment.

If you have time and inclination, here are a couple of other things:

You can also check out my profile for the rest of my work here and head to Amazon and buy my book on Kindle or paperback here.

fictionslasherpsychologicalinterviewCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Sara Wilson4 months ago

    This is very good and creepy as hell. Kinda gave me "You" (the show) vibes the way he seems so nice on the inside, but inside, he's mad. Great work!

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    I felt a chill crawl over my skin from all his dark thoughts.🥶 As I read this, I thought of the show "You". I bet this would make an excellent screen play- that inner monologue included.

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Whew! Fantastic follow up Paul! Loved it, your psycho has quite the imagination doesn’t he? Of course, putting tape over an annoying neighbor’s mouth doesn’t have to be a violent fantasy . . . 😂

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I enjoyed the punchable face line too!! Will there be police officer in this 👮 will good overcome evil… yeah I don’t think so somehow! I’m concerned what he is making for um dinner… 😅😂

  • He has a punchable face! Hahahahahhaha! Omgggg I thought I was the only one who felt that way when I looked at people! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Oooo, thousand little cuts. All the better for their meat to marinate well before cooking it 😋😋 Also, that ending that and that pic, priceless! Chef's kiss!

  • Tasty. Very tasty.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Ooh, nasty. Very nasty.

  • Celia in Underland5 months ago

    Bloody hell! That ending! And this made me chuckle, "He does have a very punchable face...I'll give him that" I know a few of them! Loved the plot of this and the voice of the psycho is so well done! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.