Horror logo

The Darkness That Haunts Me

Recurring nightmare

By JaymaeVPublished 7 days ago 3 min read
The Darkness That Haunts Me
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

I had always been plagued by recurring nightmares, but none had ever been as vivid or unsettling as the one that had haunted me for weeks. It began with a sense of unease, a feeling that something was off, and then the world around me would begin to distort and twist. I would find myself standing in a dark, desolate landscape, surrounded by twisted, gnarled trees that seemed to reach out to me like skeletal fingers.

In the distance, I could hear the sound of distant screams, growing louder with each passing moment. The air was thick with an eerie, unsettling energy that seemed to seep into my very bones. I knew that I had to move, to escape this place, but my legs felt heavy and unresponsive, as if rooted to the spot.

As the screams drew closer, I saw a figure emerging from the darkness. It was a woman, her face twisted in a mixture of pain and terror. She stumbled towards me, her eyes pleading for help, and I felt a surge of fear as I realized that I was powerless to stop her. Her eyes seemed to bore into mine, and I felt a deep sense of connection to her, as if I knew her from somewhere.

The woman reached out to me, her hand grasping for mine, and I felt a surge of fear as I realized that I was powerless to stop her. She pulled me closer, her grip tightening around my wrist, and I felt myself being dragged deeper into the darkness. The screams grew louder, and I felt myself being pulled towards them, as if drawn to some unseen force.

The nightmare was always the same, yet it never failed to leave me shaken and disturbed. I would wake up in a cold sweat, my heart racing, and the memory of the woman's pleading eyes would haunt me for hours. I tried to push the nightmare out of my mind, to focus on the mundane routines of my daily life, but it was no use. The image of the woman's face lingered, refusing to be erased.

I began to feel like I was losing my grip on reality, as if the nightmare was seeping into my waking life. I would find myself staring at the trees outside my window, wondering if they were reaching out for me. I would hear the sound of distant screams in my mind, even when I was awake. I knew that I had to do something to stop it, but I didn't know what.

One night, I decided that I had had enough. I couldn't keep living with the constant fear and anxiety that the nightmare brought. I knew that I had to confront it head-on, to face whatever demons were haunting me and put an end to the recurring nightmare once and for all.

I lay in bed, my eyes closed, and focused on the darkness. I visualized the twisted trees, the screams, and the woman's pleading face. I felt myself being pulled back into the nightmare, but this time, I was determined to face it. I took a deep breath and opened my eyes, ready to face whatever lay ahead.

As I stood in the desolate landscape, I saw the woman approaching me once more. But this time, I didn't freeze. I took a step forward, and then another, until I was standing right in front of her. I looked into her eyes, and for the first time, I saw something there that gave me hope.

It was a glimmer of recognition, a hint that she knew me, that she was a part of me. I reached out and took her hand, and as I did, the darkness around us began to dissipate. The screams grew fainter, and the twisted trees began to straighten, their branches no longer reaching out like skeletal fingers.

The woman's face relaxed, and she looked at me with a sense of peace. I knew that I had finally confronted the nightmare, and that it would never haunt me again. I opened my eyes, feeling a sense of relief wash over me, and knew that I was finally free from the darkness that had haunted me for so long.

supernaturalfiction

About the Creator

JaymaeV

The stories set behind the lines

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JaymaeVWritten by JaymaeV

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.