Horror logo

The curse – Part 2.

Weakening

By Anna Published 2 months ago 3 min read
8
Image generated by Gencraft

I'll link here the first part in case you missed it:

~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

"Let me help you get up" – I grab Paul's only hand and we stand up.

"Thanks..."

"I'm gonna call Tom" – I pull out my phone from my pocket. "Shit! It's dead... What do we do now?"

"Here, just use mine..."

"Alright"

I step away a bit and call Tom. One... two... three... Nothing. We're already at four beeps... Come on Tom, please... Five... Six... Every second seems like an eternity.

And then... someone finally picks up the phone!

I break the silence in fear.

"Hello?"

No response. I try again.

"Tom?"

Still no answer. After a moment suddenly I hear something. Some background noise! It's not too loud but I listen carefully. Someone's coughing... and... breathing heavily? A dull knock as if something would've fallen to the ground.

>> Beep, beep <<

"NO!" – I look at the screen. >>Disconnected<< it says with bold red letters.

"Did you talk to him?" – Paul asks, while walking towards me. Wait, he stops... and gets frightened... I panick... What happened? Did he get a heart attack? Is he losing too much blood??

"Everything's good?" I ask him a little scared.

"Johnny... your... your chest..."

I look at him with a doubting smile. Did he just go insane? I understand it... He definitely lost too much blood.

"What's the deal with my..." – I slowly raise my hand and touch my chest. OUCH! It hurts!! I close my eyes. This is NOT what it feels like! No! It can't be... I don't even dare to look down.

"Is it that bad?" I turn my head to Paul. He keeps staring at me.

"Okay" – I take a deep breath and...

HOLY SHIT! – I shout as soon as I notice: half of my chest was cut across and the wound was covered with blood and dirt which made it look even worse.

Suddenly I start to feel weird. Little black spots are appearing in front of my eyes. They're growing into big until the only thing I can see is... nothing. Have I just gone blind? No, I don't think so... I feel normal again. I see a man's shape. Is it...

"Tom?" – I sit up so fast that I get dizzy again.

"Ohhoh, slowly!" – Tom warns me.

"What happened?"

"I'm pretty sure it was because of the air pressure. But now you're good..."

"Where's Paul? I can't see him anywhere..."

"Paul? He was never here..."

"Yes he was! Wasn't he?"

I look around. I can't believe this! The place seems to be the same... huge, ugly trees with mound on some of them. The darkness remained as well. I must've fallen asleep a bit...

"I think you might hurt your head seriously. You're imagining things..." – Tom's voice disenchanted me from my thoughts.

"I don't get it..."

I wanted to get answers for my questions... there were so many of them.

"Of course you don't! Were I you I wouldn't get it either. You hit your head pretty badly..." – Tom explains.

Maybe he's right... I might've just dreamed that Paul was here...

"Let's go home, Johnathan!" – Tom offers.

I get up and immediately regret the sudden movement. I snap to my chest and I touch soft textil. Tom probably dressed my wound. I smile at him thankfully, but I'm not sure if everything's okay... I feel uncomfortable... No, even worse, threatened. Did he lied about Paul?

Image generated by Gencraft


Part 3. coming soon!

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my work, please let me know by giving me a tip or a pledge! If you like my writing style, hit the subscribe button (for free!😊), so you won't miss anything from me!

CONTENT WARNINGfiction
8

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake20 days ago

    Finally I found it. Amazing!

  • This is mind-bending, almost like a fearful dream. I am looking forward to Part 3! Well done, Anna! Keep going!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Oh boy,need to know what’s going on!! What air pressure? Mountains or what?

  • Omggg so Paul actually wasn't there or is Tom lying? Waiting for part 3!

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    NO! Paul! Not at all what I expected from this, Anna! But I'm enchanted! Can't wait to see what happens next

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Great part 2, Anna! Can’t wait for part 3!

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    you've got me hooked.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.