Horror logo

The Candle In The Window

Cabin Story Rendition #1

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
2

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window."

"As legend goes, whosoever glimpses it first must venture within, alone, and find the second before darkness falls the following night; find it, light it, and set it in the opposite window."

"If they failed to balance the flames before then, something terrible would befall them."

"It has been said by those that have found that second candle that it never hides in the same place twice, as even the cabin itself is said to move, so that it gets the audience, and prey, it so desires."

(I prod the embers with my stick.)

"I'm here to tell you that the stories are accurate. The legend is real. For I have seen the candle burning in the twilight, and have ventured within for the second."

"I had been only a child then. My older brother and I were searching for kindling and got separated. In my panic, I became careless. When I reached the previous clearing, I didn't keep my eyes down. I looked up. And saw the cabin."

"To my horror, the candle was there, in the leftmost window, burning brightly. I would swear on my life that it had not been there before."

"All of a sudden, my brother entered the clearing. I pointed out the candle and was filled with dread when he appeared not to notice it. He told me to quit being a baby, and that it was just a story. He had found enough kindling, it seemed, and said Mom and Dad wanted us back. When I told my parents what I saw, they told me the same thing. But they said they would check it out the following morning."

"Needless to say, I didn't sleep well that night. The dark was all too quiet."

(I gaze up at the sky, studying the stars.)

"My parents woke me the next morning to tell me that they had walked to the clearing and had seen nothing there. With half-hearted relief I thanked them. We ate breakfast, then got changed. I couldn't help myself; I had to check the clearing again. With a sense of relief, I saw, too, that the candle was gone."

"But as I started to walk away, I felt an overwhelming urge to look back at the cabin.

"I did."

"The candle was back, burning even brighter than before, as if in defiance of the sunlight. It flickered once, as if winking at me. It was all I could do to keep from screaming."

"In a panic, I pleaded with my brother again to check it out. Despite his protests, he agreed to go with me as I fulfilled the supposed requirements of the legend. We told our parents we were going to explore the woods, and left."

"As we reached the cabin, it was once more obvious that I could see the candle, while he could not. However, he played along, and we walked up."

"I was too scared to go in alone, and despite what we had heard, he followed me inside."

"The floor creaked loudly as we entered the first room. The sounds seemed to echo all around, as if others were walking across the walls and ceiling. There was dust everywhere. I turned and walked over to the candle, inspecting it."

"I called my brother over and got no response."

"I turned around."

"But he was gone."

"As I called for him, no answer came back. In terror, I ran for the door. It slammed shut as I reached for the knob."

"A raucous, sinister laughter filled the air, and I screamed."

(I wait for some time for the tension to build.)

"Sorry. Sometimes, my imagination gets ahead of me. No, in those moments after the door slammed there was nothing but absolute silence. For all I knew, my brother had slammed the door, trying to teach me a lesson in a way that only a Big Brother could."

"Well, whatever the case, it seemed I was left with no alternative but to heed the overwhelming fear of my predicament. So, for that reason, I didn't bother trying any of the windows. I was sure nothing good would come of it."

"I explored the rooms on the first floor, checking drawers and floorboards alike, hoping to at least find some interesting things here. The light was ample, while my findings were not so. As the daylight burned away, my fears remained unchecked."

"Eventually, I returned to the entrance room. There was one door I hadn't gone through yet. It was the one that must lead to the basement. I hadn't seen signs of an attic or crawlspace entrance anywhere. So, I surmised, the candle must be down there."

"I went to the first candle, believing it would not budge. However, to my surprise, it lifted with ease. I moved toward the door and stood taut, immobilized with fear. The minutes passed as I dreaded that final turn. But it had to be done. So I turned the knob, and swung the door open."

"A ghastly dryness met my nostrils as the air rushed forth. The flame flickered precariously. My thoughts were suddenly plunged into the bowels of tension as I questioned the supernatural flame's resistance to the elements. If it went out, I would have nothing to light the second. Heart beating erratically, I shielded the flame, and descended the steps."

(Another long pause.)

"The basement appeared to pulse with breath as I approached the bottom. Several windows shone dusty light through here and there. Shapes stood out in the unmarked gloom, and I shuddered to think that any one of them could be watching me as I plodded and froze, numbed by the fluctuating tension."

"But I was helpless to comply. I began to search, and search, and search, finding nothing as the minutes passed. I looked at my watch and checked the time. It was already 3:13 in the afternoon."

"I was stunned. That wasn't possible. I had come in no later than ten this morning. And that had been no more than an hour ago."

"As I stared, the digits ticked up at an insane speed. After something like a minute passed, they read 3:47. Some part of me even suspected that time must be speeding up, too."

"I swept through the basement, pulling things apart like a madman. Every time I felt I was getting close, I came up empty. Sweat and fear were cloying. There had been no imaginary laughter that time; only the very real hooves of Doom fast approaching."

"I felt drawn to glance at my watch, and let my gaze slide reluctantly."

"It read simply: 6:66."

"An impossible figure."

"As the sight stirred my senses to their apex, I finally heard what I dreaded so: a level, resounding chuckle; undeniable in its presence, and paced in the fury of the Devil himself."

"The time had finally come to scream. I ran for the stairs, taking them at breakneck speed. Although I heard no pursuing steps, I felt something close behind. As I broke out into the first room and slammed the door behind me..."

(I wait.)

"Something BANGED into the door and began to jiggle the handle with mad turbulence, all at the same time. The banging was made nightmarish by the methodical and measured twisting of the knob, as if both contested for the rights to send me to my demise."

"I looked at my watch once more in a panic, gasping at what I saw. Suddenly, I tore my gaze to the window and looked out. The sky beyond was rapidly dimming to black. I knew then that it was all over."

"I set the candle upon the windowsill and ran to the cupboards, gutting them, desperately looking for the second candle, knowing it was hopeless."

(I wait.)

"And as the room began to fade into the shadows, the answer came to me. I knew not from whence the voice of its delivery rang, but its words reached me, and I finally understood."

"I snatched up a cup and bolted for the candle. I lifted it once more and, with the last of my care, cleaved it in two. In the final moments of receding twilight, I bit an inch of wax from the end, like a voracious predator, and hoped the wick would not sever. It didn't."

"I caught the wick with the flame of the first and darted, gasping, for the second sill."

"The moment I left the first candle behind, the basement door exploded open, and an unseen figure lurched for me. I knew only madness as I nearly dove for the window and--"

(Someone that has been hiding in the bushes grabs you around the shoulders, and you scream in fright.)

"Slammed down the candle."

"In an instant, the cabin door swung open. In the next I was running, screaming, through it."

urban legend
2

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Z-Man (Author)2 years ago

    Thank you for your kind review(s), fellow readers. \m/, B'] - Zach

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.