Horror logo

The Banshee Raises Her Wail

A Banshee Origin Story!

By Hollye B. GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Fairy Paintbrushes

Bean Sidhe (Banshee)

Deeply sonorous, most defenseless

Unaware, unawake, poor man.

Red curtains shiver o’er shuttered window

Painting all the air with blood cast shapes

I sigh, next to him

Dressed in spasm of shadow from candlelight

Breath so quiet, sweet taste of camphor and kiss

Lingering like a faraway lover

For I am already gone and done

Already in the trees outside raising my wail

Already calling pale armies to raid

House and Soul

“Come down and be a good girl,” he said.

“Come down and make a home and try love

And wake before each sunrise next to me.”

And I did.

And oh the invisible cage of his embrace even when

He was not with me.

We built seasons, tore down dreams,

We built routine, tore down ideas.

I could not make a home with all the wild in my body

I could not constrain the savage driving my heart

So I wake before each midnight next to him

So the feral cry climbs in my body and twitches my limbs

He is all beauty – base and innocent of the thing I am

He believes darkness only lives out in the trees

Poor man.

For when I next open my mouth, it will be the last sound he hears.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Hollye B. Green

I'm a storyteller through poetry, song, and short stories. Our stories make us who we are. I live at Avalon Loft & Lodge with my crazy dogs, and my son, artist/illustrator Connor McManis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.