Horror logo

Ten disturbing stories

Microfiction

By LPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023

Far from Home

I can't see their faces, but behind the masks, I imagine them smiling. They take pleasure in hurting me in their laboratory. They cut, tear, and open me at their whim. I shudder every time they violate me with their probes; they are the cruelest beings I've ever known. Every night, I dream of escaping their clutches. I miss Mars...

Insatiable

With a mixture of desire and remorse, I bring the first morsel to my mouth. I chew and swallow; it tastes better than I imagined. I have a voracious appetite, I can't help it. It's been five weeks since I last had a bite. Bite by bite, the feast vanishes before my eyes. I'm a fool; I should have saved something for later. And my stomach keeps growling. What do I do? I need the other leg to escape from here. Well, one more finger won't hurt...

Don't Wake Grandpa

The siblings listened to their grandfather on the other side of the door. The old man was shouting insults and smashing things against the walls. He was getting closer to the room where they were hiding. Both of them were regretful; they never thought he would get so angry. They shouldn't have summoned him with the Ouija board.

End of the Game

It could last a week, a month, or a year, but sooner or later, we were moving again. I changed schools and friends as often as my underwear. There were times when I couldn't even remember my new name. Mom said we were playing cops and robbers. At twelve, I found that exciting and fun. Until one day, the real police found us and took her away...

Don't Break the Magic

The bed was empty, the sheets scattered, and the pillow torn to shreds. Dozens of coins shone on the floor. The child had curled up in a corner, leaving a trail of blood in his wake. One of his fingers was missing, but he seemed to pay it no mind. He couldn't tear his gaze away from that creature with black eyes, brown fur, and sharp squeals. And to think he found it fun to try to catch the Tooth Mouse...

The Expert

The elephant is the largest land mammal in the world; an adult male can weigh around six thousand kilograms and stand over three meters tall. There are times of the year when they are extremely aggressive due to testosterone. Many underestimate them, but they are swift animals and can easily catch up to a human. The guide had no doubt; the lady who had strayed from the group was about to meet her end.

The Power of Imagination

Matías loved his blanket. When he used it to sleep, he had no nightmares, and by draping it over his shoulders, he always lost his fear. He was convinced it granted him magical powers. That's why when his turtle fell from the tenth floor, Matías leaped after it.

Chase Your Dreams

Lautaro had always dreamt of being a firefighter. At fifteen, he was too young for the job, but he found joy in watching them in action. That's why he sat on a bench, waiting for them to put out the blazing house. His house, the one he had set on fire himself.

Souvenir

The clown arrived early, already in makeup, and entertained the children. Amid applause and laughter, he cracked jokes, inflated balloons, and performed a few acrobatics. After finishing the job, he packed up his things and disappeared. Along with one of the children.

Final Read

Be careful! It is said that the very devil himself wrote this text. Every person who reads it discovers different words. It has the power to predict the future and bless with knowledge of what awaits us after death. In your case, reader, that knowledge is unnecessary, as you have little time left. It's better to start paying attention when crossing the street.

urban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalmonster

About the Creator

L

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    Congratulations on ts

  • Chloe9 months ago

    WOAH. W… WOAH. These. Were. Aaawesomee!!!!! Congratulations!!

  • Test9 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!❤️❤️❤️

  • AngelBee9 months ago

    Love these!!

  • Amanda Starks9 months ago

    Also, welcome to Vocal! (:

  • Amanda Starks9 months ago

    Oh my gosh these are all awesome!! Very clever twists in every one. If I had to pick a favorite...I can't narrow it down to one, but maybe the Power of Imagination and Chase Your Dreams. The set up and payoffs to both were really well done!

LWritten by L

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.