Horror logo

Tarot 2024 Review: Not Surprising! Ordinary Horror

I found the characters in this film so stupid. It means you are in a house and you are told not to go to room no. 3 because there is a danger to your life, so would you like to go there? Obviously not, but the characters shown here made me feel that either he is fond of dying, he is not happy with his life, or I don't know what he is thinking as he is going towards death.

By Ayush VermaPublished 11 days ago 5 min read
1
Tarot 2024 Review

Hey, how are you all? I welcome you all here. Yesterday was the 8th of May, and I came out of the theater after watching a supernatural horror film named Tarot. Well, let me tell you that this movie premiered worldwide on Friday, the 3rd of May. It has a runtime of 1 hour and 32 minutes.

There was no such well-known name in the writer or director. Among the actors, there was only one well-known face, Jacob Batalon, whom we have seen playing the role of Peter Parker's best friend in the reboot series Spider-Man.

I must admit, I didn't have any specific expectations for the film Tarot. When I watched Abigail last time, we hadn't even seen the trailer, yet it surprised us with its content.

I was curious about Abigail because its poster itself looked interesting, and I may not have seen the trailer, but if we talk about Tarot, then its name itself is so typical or generic, or I don't know what word to use.

The name itself was so typical that I had no feeling that I would get to see something different, and I went to watch this film with absolutely zero expectations—let's have another horror ride like Abigail.

Actually, I was not going to watch Abigail at all, but my friend forcefully dragged me inside, and to be honest, I overall enjoyed it a lot. Even my friend and I came out of the theater laughing and happy.

Just because of this, I thought, Why not go on a horror ride once again?

Plot

Let me tell you, before the movie started, my friend and I were roaming around in the mall, making our own theories about this movie.

These are some of the theories my friend and I were making.

Now see, the name of the film is Tarot, so I thought that the same Tarot cards would be used here, which are read to tell the future, etc. So, some friends will get some such cards, they will go to some such old mansion, etc., where they will get Tarot card boxes, they will read each other's future, etc., and then that future will start coming true, characters will start dying one by one, some devils will wake up because of reading those cards, and at the end, who survives and who does not?

Then, as soon as we sat down to watch this film, exactly the theories we were making turned out to be true. We both started looking at each other's faces, meaning nothing was different; it came out exactly as we had thought.

There are five to six friends, and to celebrate the birthday of one of them, they rent an entire big palace-like house and the room into which they are strictly forbidden to go. They first explore that room, where they get a box of Tarot cards, and furthermore, they create trouble for themselves.

Tarot 2024 Review

I will not say that there is anything new in this film. You must have experienced such stories in many Hollywood horror movies, for sure.

The way the devil awakens or, after awakening, goes on killing the characters one by one, there is nothing new there either.

I found the characters in this film so stupid. It means you are in a house and you are told not to go to room no. 3 because there is a danger to your life, so would you like to go there? Obviously not, but the characters shown here made me feel that either he is fond of dying, he is not happy with his life, or I don't know what he is thinking as he is going towards death.

So all the murders appeared typical; there was nothing new in them, and the performances were very bad.

Films are often made on the same concept, but there was nothing new in the presentation.

There were no twists and turns in the story, and the film is so predictable that even if you read the name of this film, whatever typical things you imagine will come to mind, they are there in the film.

Yes, I would like to praise the visuals; they were good. The monster that was made was no doubt good, but nothing in it was of any special interest to us, nor could we be interested in the group of friends.

It does not mean that some very good friendships have been shown, some very good emotions have been created, or some stories or subplots have been added separately between each friend. There is nothing like that, too.

We are not able to care about any character; the makers have not established any character so that we can develop some sympathy towards any character in the initial phase; we can connect with them; there is nothing.

There are just some random friends; they are going somewhere, and they read Tarot cards, and then they start dying, one after the other. All these things keep happening on the screen, and we are just sitting on the seat watching all this.

There are some jump scares that work to shock a little bit, just that much, and to be honest, I did not get scared after seeing this type of jump scare, but I noticed that some small children in the theater got scared after seeing the scary faces. But apart from that, there was not much of a scare factor in the film.

Conclusion

I don't know why this film was made altogether; there are fifty or maybe hundreds of such horror films made to date.

I only recommend that if you have already watched a lot of horror films, then I do not think that you will miss something big by not watching this film.

In terms of parental guidance, this film has been released in theaters with a US certificate. I found it a bit surprising because almost all the horror movies that are released are released by the censor board with an A certificate. I don't know why a US certificate was given.

There is no sex or nudity in the film, but there are scary faces in the film.

If any of you have seen this film, please tell me what your experience was.

See you soon.

supernaturalpop culturemovie review
1

About the Creator

Ayush Verma

Nothing is impossible; the world itself says, "I' am possible!" - Audrey Hepburn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.