Horror logo

Talking With: Melanie Haynes from horror film “Blood Born”

Interview with actress Melanie Haynes, who portrays a wicked doula with some unorthodox, dark magic practices.

By FierceScribePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

This edition of Talking With focuses on actress Melanie Haynes, star of Terror Film new release Blood Born. In this interview, she sheds some light on the dark magic of her character, Ola.

The storyline follows a young couple struggling with infertility issues. When Ola (Haynes) first meets the desperate wanna-be parents, she intends to end their conception struggles. While audiences may be familiar with the sterile fertility doctor’s office, the diets, routines, hormones, and procedures, they won’t be familiar with Ola’s horrifying solutions to the couple's fertility problems.

Haynes continues to show her acting chops and versatility as she glides effortlessly from gritty crime dramas like True Detective, to family sitcoms like Young Sheldon, into her horror debut as Ola in Blood Born.

While Haynes hopes the audience of Blood Born is entertained, she also thinks it could prompt them to consider the struggles of those facing infertility.

To learn more, we are Talking With: Melanie Haynes about Blood Born.

What can you reveal about the doula Ola and her wicked motives?

MELANIE HAYNES: Ola, herself, was helped by the organization she now works for. So she knows that the babies they help to produce are a little “different.” In her mind, it is all worth it to become a mother, no matter the consequences.

Melanie Haynes in "Blood Born"

As an actor, what helped you the most in bringing Ola to life?

MH: What helped me bring Ola to life, was that the character was written with a great deal of warmth and motherliness. She also knows how to take charge. These things are a part of my own personality, and I always try to find the things in my characters that resonate most with me.

Do you have a favorite moment from the movie? And, was it also your favorite to shoot?

MH: My favorite moment? Oh, that’s a tough one! I was fortunate to have so many wonderful scenes. I especially enjoyed the scene where she was going around the house telling them what they needed to do, not do, and what to get rid of. There was humor, which I love, and a chance to really boss them around, which is always fun.

Maybe my favorite to shoot was singing to Makayla when she has morning sickness. It felt like such a sweet moment with such a sweet sounding song, and I’ve never had to sing in a film. And in Icelandic! The other incantations Ola uses are a combination of other languages and words made up by our writer-director Reed Shusterman. Oh, and I enjoyed the scenes where I really got frustrated and fed up with Erik.

Is working on a scary movie, actually scary on set?

MH: Is it scary on a scary movie set? Ha! Not really. Not this one anyway. Maybe a little gross sometimes, though.

What do you think moviegoers will take away from the film?

MH: What I think, and hope, they take away is compassion for those who are so desperate for a child that they are willing to ultimately do anything. Maybe they will question what they would do.

You’ve portrayed a wide variety of characters in your career. Where do you start when preparing for a role? And, does that change depending on the genre?

MH: No matter the genre, I always start with the script. What does this character say? What do others say to and about her? Are there any stage directions that tell me anything about her? How can I relate personally to what she says and does? I try to find aspects of my personality that could coincide with the character.

Do you have a favorite genre to work in?

MH: My favorite genre most often is the opposite of the last role I did! Really, I enjoy working in all genres. Comedy is great fun! It’s also very satisfying to really sink my teeth into a serious dramatic role. Blood Born is my first foray into horror, and I am thankful it has a more paranormal aspect to it, along with the drama and even a touch of comedy.

What inspires you the most creatively?

MH: As an actress, I’m inspired the most by good writing. When the words flow so naturally, it’s not really work to memorize them. I love clever comedy and heartfelt drama.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

MH: Working on Blood Born was a joy for me. We shot it in 3 weeks, with a pickup day after, and I was on set all but one of those days. There was great respect shown by and for everyone on set, from the wonderful producers, to the talented writer/director, cast and crew. You become a family, and I am truly grateful for that.

Keep up with Melanie Haynes at: www.MelanieHaynes-Actress.com

interview
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.