Horror logo

Talking With: Brian Norris of “Into the Dark: Blood Moon”

Interview with actor Brian Norris, who stars as a determined Deputy seeking answers before the next lunar event turns dark and twisted.

By FierceScribePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Brian Norris in "Into the Dark: Blood Moon" (photo courtesy: Hulu/Blumhouse)

This edition of Talking With focuses on actor Brian Norris, since the Hulu release of Into the Dark: Blood Moon.

The feature-length episode marks the second season finale of the horror anthology series from Blumhouse TV. The storyline follows a single mother out to protect her uniquely troubled child after they move to a new desert town looking for a fresh start. With the Spring Full Moon looming, a terrifying secret threatens their existence.

Brian portrays the local law enforcement official, Deputy Hammond, who is looking for answers but turns suspicious of the newcomers as he discovers something he never thought possible.

Television fans will recall Brian as the techie Elliot in the last season of AMC’s Halt and Catch Fire, and the waiter with attitude Hunter in playwright-filmmaker Neil LaBute's, Full Circle, on DirecTV. He has also had roles on Masters of Sex, Longmire, iZombie, Castle, Mad Men, Awake, Community, Lie to Me, and A Thousand Words with Eddie Murphy. Brian also directs his own projects and hosts a podcast for actors called Industry Town.

To learn more, we are Talking With Brian Norris about Into the Dark: Blood Moon.

What excited you about stepping into the role of Deputy Hammond?

BRIAN NORRIS: He jumped off the page as a complete person. Cop characters can end up being one-dimensional, either the 'good' or 'bad' guy with a badge. But Hammond felt instantly more complex. He has a crush on Esme the moment he meets her, but he also doesn't trust her when she's acting so aloof. That inner conflict armed with the power of a badge was exciting to explore.

Brian Norris "Into the Dark: Blood Moon"

As an actor, what helped you the most in bringing him to life?

BN: The haircut and the mustache didn't hurt! I'd been growing out my hair like everyone else in quarantine so I showed up with a beard and a mess of hair. When I saw the final product, I fell in love. Hammond was so clearly trying to look mature and tough, and that ends up showing his vulnerability.

When working on a scary project, what is it like in-between takes?

BN: I usually like to keep it light. Otherwise, it can get heavy and too intense. I like staying playful and remembering that all this scary stuff is fun.

Do you have a favorite scene or moment? And, was it also your favorite to shoot?

BN: My favorite scene is my scene with Luna in the police station. I got to explore Hammond's empathy, and then the script really elegantly gets at some of the backstory that motivates me. Plus, I loved working with Yonas! He is really good. So honest and impulsive, it's really fun to do a scene with him.

Behind the scenes of "Into the Dark: Blood Moon"

What do you hope audiences take away from Blood Moon?

BN: I hope they take away that it's inclusive. It's a story about family and the scary elements aren't gratuitous or done for shock. It's a scary story the whole family can enjoy.

Where do you start when preparing for a role; and does that change depending on the genre?

BN: All of my preparation starts with the script. Reading it again and again until I know it in my bones. Not just my role and my scenes, but the larger story. That's when I'm able to really honor the character and where he fits in the bigger picture. And with Blood Moon, Simon and Adam wrote a beautiful script that had everything there.

You host a podcast to help other actors; what can you tell us about Industry Town?

BN: Thanks for asking! Industry Town is a project I really enjoy working on. I get to have fantastic, free-ranging conversations with people who are wildly talented and interesting from every corner of the industry. My goal was to create a podcast that would be the same conversation I'd have with someone if we hung out at a coffee shop or bar and talked shop. Honest, fun, informal, and a real focus on the true stories and mechanics behind artists and their work. I'm just starting to record episodes for season two now, starting with Lukas Gage from Euphoria. The first season is available on Apple Podcasts and Spotify.

Anything else in the works coming up that we can look for?

BN: I recently wrapped a fun little movie called Much Goes Up In Flames that's in post now. A really great thriller, black and white, an homage to Hitchcockian type films. And I got to shoot it with a bunch of great friends like David Sullivan and the writer-director-star Franklin Killian.

Lastly, what inspires you the most creatively?

BN: My inspiration comes from living life as fully as possible. If I stay present and curious, I tend to have too many ideas to count. So right now, that's focusing on my wife who's pregnant with our first kid (!!) and trying to keep her comfortable while assembling baby furniture. Wish me luck!

Keep up with Brian Norris on Twitter: @BrNorris / Instagram: @BrianRNorris / Facebook: brnorris

actor Brian Norris

interview

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    FierceScribeWritten by FierceScribe

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.