Horror logo

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street - A Movie Review

I’m not sure why it’s taken me this long to watch 'Sweeney Todd'

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I wouldn’t go see Sweeney Todd if I were you. He’s not the barber you think he is.

Released to theaters in 2007, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is about a menacing barber who returns to London after wrongful accusations. Bent for revenge following the death of his wife, Sweeney resumes his trade as a barber forming a sinister partnership with his tenant, Mrs. Lovett.

I’m not sure why it’s taken me this long to watch Sweeney Todd. After being cast in the show, I thought I’d do my research and take a watch. I loved this movie! Sitting forward in my seat, the dark presentation of Sweeney Todd was so impressive.

Johnny Depp’s performance as Sweeney Todd is so mesmerizing. I was taken aback by his rich singing voice. I didn’t even know he could sing. Depp knew how to portray this demonic and broken man. Sweeney Todd is not the barber whom you want to get a shave. Consumed with hate, Sweeney wants to make the world suffer.

Sweeney Todd has a recognizable cast of actors, all of who have had contrasting acting careers. Helena Bonham Carter never disappoints. I have always been a fan of Carter and the eccentric characters she plays. Depp and Carter share the best scenes and chemistry.

The film also stars a couple of other Harry Potter alumni. The late Alan Rickman and Timothy spall are terrific in their performances. Sacha Baron Cohen auditioned with the entire score of Fiddler on the Roof, landing him the role of Pirelli. Cohen is always tremendous at chewing the scenery in any film that he is in.

Just recently, I watched Jamie Campbell Bowers in Stranger Things. This film would also not be the same without the talents of Sacha Baron Cohen, Laura Michelle Kelly, Jayne Wisener, and a wonderful performance by Ed Sanders. I was surprised to learn that this was Sanders's first film. I wish he made more films following his involvement in Sweeney Todd.

Tim Burton went all out with the dark undertones of this tale. The whole production of filming was quite astounding.

Doing something different from the musical, gallons of blood were used for the film. Burton wanted this film to be as bloody as possible. Sickening and bloody kills are performed throughout the film, mainly by Sweeney Todd.

Burton highly accomplished the musical scores. Most of the cast were not musically trained so they went through extensive rehearsals. To make sure that she had the blocking well-timed, Carter rehearsed all her scenes while practicing baking. Everyone was committed to the film and it shows.

Sweeney Todd is scored beautifully by Jonathan Tunick. My favorite scene in the film was ‘Epiphany’. I’m sure you’ll find yourself humming some of the tunes long after the movie finishes. I also enjoyed the song number, ‘My Friends.’

In contrast to the stage version, I wish that the ensemble was used more. The focus is on the primary characters but I think the film should have given ensemble members more to do, other than stand around and reaction to situations happening.

This whole film was presented in an unnatural ambiance. Props in the film, particularly the razors, were given their own unique design. One cast member actually did 16 hours' worth of training just to learn how to properly use a razor.

I warn you, Sweeney Todd is not a film for all audiences based on its dark themes and very grim undertones. If you have not seen it, watch Sweeney Todd during the month of October.

celebritiesmonstermovie reviewpop cultureslasher
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.