Horror logo

Sunflowers

A walk through a sunflower patch

By Fletcher WoodsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The sunflowers were almost as tall as me, which meant they still had much time to grow. I walked through the field with my hand out, running it along the stalks and leaves as I slowly moved by them, watching their heads weave as I walked by.

I was only a kilometer from the farm house and began my journey back. It was nice out in the field but the wind was beginning to chill me, although unusual for it to be this cold at this time of year I thought nothing of it as I continued down the path.

A gust of wind moved the heads in a wave a distance away from me. it traveled in a way that it felt like it was going to engulf me whole. I stopped and watched as it rushed towards me and felt the cool air rush over and past my body. The wave continued behind me as I watched the Sunflowers shake nervously from their time in the wave. As I looked out into the brush I noticed some of the stalks shake more and more. It wasn't wind pushing these, I knew that well enough.

Curiosity took over me and I began to gently push the stalks aside and delicately take steps through the field, sure not to damage any of the sunflowers my parents sew. As I approached closer and closer to the rustling the sunflowers seemed to jerk my way then suddenly stop. I was only meters from the area now, but there was something in me telling me to leave.

I didn't want to leave though, my curiosity was always stronger than any of my other senses. Although I decided the best course would be to check underneath, since all I could see on top was the light rustle of yellow and green.

I slowly lowered myself underneath the heads of the stalks, although it was easier to see, I still no clear line of sight due to the leaves. Lower and lower I got until I was practically on my stomach when I could see what was making the sunflowers quake.

Bright green eyes stared into mine mere feet away from me, it appeared to be a dog but it had no fur and exposed teeth. I screamed but the sight from the animal took my breath away so I only let out a slight squeak. I was frozen, what is this thing? I thought to myself in horror. Before I knew it the animal bolted, leaving a green streak of light plastered in the standing air. After it's gaze left me I was able to move and jolted up, I was the sunflowers violently moving towards my house until they stopped half way there.

I ran back to the trail, no longer caring for the sunflowers lives as I pushed them aside and flattened some stalks. Once back on the trail I ran to the house, my eyes still fixated on the spot where the creature stopped. Once I approached the house I was gasping, no longer cold from the cool air, but hot and wanting nothing more than to gulp up as much cold air as I can. I don't think the animal is here, I probably just imagined it anyways. I chuckled to myself knowing now that I was being foolish in thinking I could actually see something like that. As I made my way towards the house I heard a soft whimper from Rosco, our German Shepard. I looked towards him to see him seemingly hiding under a bunch of scrap wood from our old shed. Uncertainty came over me again as my eyes panned back towards my house.

My pa opened the door and was looking at me from the screen door. "Come on inside hun, ma finished dinner." He called out to me, only falling on deaf ears, all I could focus on was Rosco behind him, his eyes burning green.

monster
1

About the Creator

Fletcher Woods

Armature writer, mostly short stories with a few books in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.