Horror logo

Something Eerie

Lurking in the Dark...

By Kristina LucasPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was past 8, and I had just finished babysitting for the night. I didn’t drive due to the house only being a few blocks from where I lived. I lived in a quiet, peaceful town where nothing ever happens. The only thing we have here is a little general store and there are not many houses around either. I started to walk home. I heard a song earlier on the radio that was stuck in my head, so I decided to hum it while I walked. It was a peaceful night in the low 70s. A perfect little breeze hit my face as I started to head home. As I was walking down the sidewalk, I noticed a man standing at the corner of the road. I was on the left side of the road as he was on the right side. I didn’t think anything of it at the time and kept on walking and humming. As I got closer, I saw that he was wearing nothing but black. He also had a black hat on that looked to be something from the 40s. He was staring at me. As I looked right into his mysterious eyes, he gave me a distinct smile that sent shivers down my spine. At this moment, a cold chill went right through me. I tried not to act frightened and kept on walking. I was relieved when I passed him. The thought of knowing that I didn’t have to look at him anymore while I was walking made me at ease. I started to walk a little faster, anxiously waiting to arrive home. It was at that moment, I heard quiet footsteps behind me. I started to panic. What if it’s him? He’s following me now? I was so scared. I turned my head to look to see if he was still standing on the corner or if it was his footsteps I was hearing. Thankfully, he was nowhere in sight. I took a deep breath, letting it out in a sigh of relief and as I turned back around, I stopped. The fear of dread came over me. At the end of the road in the darkness was the man. He smiled at me, but it wasn’t like before. This smile was more evil and sinister. I immediately started to panic. I felt as though I couldn’t move. My body was frozen. I stood there looking at him. I turned the corner and ran as fast as I could. As I was running, I looked back at the man. He was still smiling that evil smile. “What do you want?” I screamed. He didn’t answer. I turned back around and started running again. As I was running, I glanced back to see if he was still following me. To my horror he was now running. I was so scared. It was at that moment, I saw my house. I ran to the door and tried to unlock it. My key was stuck. I turned to see if the man was still running after me. He had stopped and was now standing at the end of my driveway. As I looked at him, I noticed that he no longer looked like a man, but something evil. His mysterious eyes had now turned red. His smile was even bigger with razor sharp teeth. His face looked like something out of a nightmare. I screamed and I turned back around and gave my key one last twist. It unlocked and I ran inside and locked the door as fast as I could. I was so scared to look out my window, fearing that he would be looking in. I called the cops and told them what had happened. They said they would look into it and that they sent a patrol car out. I hung up and waited for the cops. They did not find any trace of the man. To this day, I still do not know who that man was or why he was standing out on the corner of the street. I now drive anywhere I need to go.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.